GnuCash Icon

GnuCash

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (84) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (84)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
79
1
0
1
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Keep your finance history! I've used excel. But at the moment I use this app, Gnucash

johhkidd
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I have been using Quicken for 20 years, but I have always been dissatisfied. Quicken is limited, and they never seem to make progress quickly enough. It seems like they are always working against the user. So I have been following Gnucash for many years, waiting for a time when it might be an acceptable alternative. Unfortunately, Gnucash is not even close to being mature software yet. The documentation is excellent. Very rare to see excellent documentation in a free-software project. However, the software itself (under Windows 8) does not work at all. The stable version 2.4.13 will not even open. I am sitting and looking at the start-up screen now on my computer, which has frozen at the splash screen. Version 2.5.5 (unstable) lives up to its name. Although it gets past the splash screen, it crashes when attempting to save a transaction into PostgreSQL. So, I will continue to monitor this project. Maybe in another 10 years...

hnaparst
  • minemax
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    From the version 2.6.4 (including 2.6.5) doesn't show reports at all. Just a blank tab! :(

    Posted 12/23/2014
  • gddeluca
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Like another user, I could not even get gnuCash to import the QIF file from my existing program (MoneyDance). It goes through the various stages, and I can see my import data being processed, but when I hit the final APPLY button, the program just closes with no message - nothing. Pretty disappointing to fail like this before it even gets started.

    Posted 12/17/2014
  • jonian
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I moved to GnuCash from Quicken to manage my personal economy at the end of 2012 and this software has been growing on me ever since. I love following up my spending with reports and graphs and the latest release (2.6) features major usability improvements in this area with configurable custom reports and more visually appealing graphs which definitely struck a chord with me. Big thumbs up to all the developers! Keep up the great work!

    Posted 04/20/2014
  • dartme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Quickbooks for a couple years now and have been *very* dissatisfied. GnuCash's clear interface, discoverability, and transparency have added a new dimension to accounting productivity. I have read the (excellent) guide and now understand double-entry accounting better than I ever have, and am now using it to track personal finances. If, Lord willing, I start a business, this will be an easy go-to solution even for AR and AP!

    Posted 01/08/2014
  • sobrevividor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Para mi sin duda es el mejor programa para llevar un control exhaustivo de nuestros gastos personales. Además de que es gratis y código libre, por lo que no tendremos problemas para utilizarlo en Gnu/Linux. Para quien esté interesado en un manual de como funciona recomiendo que busque en el google: "Sobreviveconpoco Gnucash Herramienta para el control del gasto" (Es un artículo de un blog de sobreviveconpoco.com) Está todo explicado al detalle. Un saludo y espero que os ayude.

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • hnaparst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using Quicken for 20 years, but I have always been dissatisfied. Quicken is limited, and they never seem to make progress quickly enough. It seems like they are always working against the user. So I have been following Gnucash for many years, waiting for a time when it might be an acceptable alternative. Unfortunately, Gnucash is not even close to being mature software yet. The documentation is excellent. Very rare to see excellent documentation in a free-software project. However, the software itself (under Windows 8) does not work at all. The stable version 2.4.13 will not even open. I am sitting and looking at the start-up screen now on my computer, which has frozen at the splash screen. Version 2.5.5 (unstable) lives up to its name. Although it gets past the splash screen, it crashes when attempting to save a transaction into PostgreSQL. So, I will continue to monitor this project. Maybe in another 10 years...

    Posted 09/30/2013
  • dikutva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a awesome project that still has potential. Keep it up!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • trackandroid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks good. Will test it with my wallet!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • robertcorreia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Gnucash, it's wonderful!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • vitalikklichko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program.Very easy and simple to use.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • tgcos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I moved to GnuCash from the no-longer-supported Quicken and am very happy with the software. Robust and full-featured. High quality and reliable. Update, 2013-01-07. Ten months using GnuCash and still very much liking it. Currently on 2.4.14 and staying on that for a while yet, resisting the urge to move to the recent 2.6.0 release... I'll give it a month or so to bed-in and make the jump with 2.6.1 or .2.

    Posted 04/20/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • propertyspeed10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good for financial management

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • ercprocessing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Helpful and good service! Thank you.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • cronowebmaster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a web rpogrammer and i wanted to build an application like this. Why build it when we have GnuCash?

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • mcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull app. I'm using it for over 4 month now. There could be more options of mortgage. Also mobile app should be able to connect to MySQL database. But still great piece of software.

    Posted 02/04/2013
Show next 25 reviews