GnuCash Icon

GnuCash

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (95) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (95)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
83
4
3
2
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Gnucash is the best open source alternative to most of the commercial accounting apps out there. I have been using it for 2 years & except for some getting used to the new way of doing things, I feel that it can beat most of the accounting apps hands down...

abhinav007
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Like another user, I could not even get gnuCash to import the QIF file from my existing program (MoneyDance). It goes through the various stages, and I can see my import data being processed, but when I hit the final APPLY button, the program just closes with no message - nothing. Pretty disappointing to fail like this before it even gets started.

gddeluca
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • vitalikklichko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program.Very easy and simple to use.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • tgcos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I moved to GnuCash from the no-longer-supported Quicken and am very happy with the software. Robust and full-featured. High quality and reliable. Update, 2013-01-07. Ten months using GnuCash and still very much liking it. Currently on 2.4.14 and staying on that for a while yet, resisting the urge to move to the recent 2.6.0 release... I'll give it a month or so to bed-in and make the jump with 2.6.1 or .2.

    Posted 04/20/2013
  • alexvinn11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 04/15/2013
  • jimi78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/09/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/05/2013
  • propertyspeed10
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good for financial management

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • ercprocessing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very Helpful and good service! Thank you.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • cronowebmaster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm a web rpogrammer and i wanted to build an application like this. Why build it when we have GnuCash?

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • mcel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very usefull app. I'm using it for over 4 month now. There could be more options of mortgage. Also mobile app should be able to connect to MySQL database. But still great piece of software.

    Posted 02/04/2013
  • kufakhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome this system

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • ryanmatthews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program gnucash, thanks.

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • a11922256
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I loved it. Great works and no problems.

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • lukaswhite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks gnucash

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • maxstewart
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gnucash works great

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • signale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've just installed can't wait to try - so excited, thank you - it's a long time i thought to build in something like that in my system :)

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • orunal1989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is just perfect!

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • equinus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exec summary: I upgraded both a GnuCash major version and operating system (Windows to Linux) at the same time, and GnuCash worked flawlessly. Respect, GnuCash! Don't try this at home, but if it happens to you, like it did to me, GnuCash will show its quality. Longer version: I have used GnuCash (2.3) on Windows XP for a couple of accounting years now, for a family business. Its support for GST (Australia/NZ's version of VAT) is modest. But I persevered... Recently, part way through closing a year end, I decided to upgrade my computer from Windows XP to Linux Mint. That's a great upgrade- I wish I did it ages ago. Linux Mint is far more usable than any Windows since XP. Hardware just works, performance is great. Anyway, I decided to slim down Windows but leave a bootable Windows as insurance, so I could complete the year-end safely and keep a couple of other apps I wanted to take my time in converting across. Yes of course I backed up. Something I did, Windows didn't like. I still don't know what. Anyway, my carefully-preserved Windows doesn't boot any more. it gets partway through then croaks. So I restored my GnuCash data- backed up on 32-bit Windows, restored to 64-bit Linux. Installed the latest (2.4) GnuCash, Linux version; fired it up and opened my part-done year end data. Instant success. No ifs, buts or gotchas (so far). This is among the easiest migrations I have performed- and that includes migrations where I kept the same application version and just upgraded Windows versions. I work in IT, and it's the best accidental upgrade I have had- ever! The other couple of apps I kept Windows around for- don't care now. Windows is gone. I can still get to the data files on the old Windows partition and in every case, I know what Linux app I will use and how it will use the data files. The worst case was Dragon Naturally Speaking, which now works well in Linux under VirtualBox. GnuCash team, thank you very much! Keep up the outstanding work.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • uninkami
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good finance manager, thanks

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • attilaatalar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project! 10x!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • johhkidd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keep your finance history! I've used excel. But at the moment I use this app, Gnucash

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • yana88551
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Use it in personal purposes! Like it!

    Posted 09/15/2012
Show next 25 reviews