GnuCash Icon

GnuCash

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 (94) Read Reviews | Last Updated
Windows BSD Mac Solaris Linux
Back to Project

Reviews (94)

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
82
4
3
2
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5

Highest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

Keep your finance history! I've used excel. But at the moment I use this app, Gnucash

johhkidd
vs

Lowest Rated

1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

I have been using Quicken for 20 years, but I have always been dissatisfied. Quicken is limited, and they never seem to make progress quickly enough. It seems like they are always working against the user. So I have been following Gnucash for many years, waiting for a time when it might be an acceptable alternative. Unfortunately, Gnucash is not even close to being mature software yet. The documentation is excellent. Very rare to see excellent documentation in a free-software project. However, the software itself (under Windows 8) does not work at all. The stable version 2.4.13 will not even open. I am sitting and looking at the start-up screen now on my computer, which has frozen at the splash screen. Version 2.5.5 (unstable) lives up to its name. Although it gets past the splash screen, it crashes when attempting to save a transaction into PostgreSQL. So, I will continue to monitor this project. Maybe in another 10 years...

hnaparst
  • jonian
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I moved to GnuCash from Quicken to manage my personal economy at the end of 2012 and this software has been growing on me ever since. I love following up my spending with reports and graphs and the latest release (2.6) features major usability improvements in this area with configurable custom reports and more visually appealing graphs which definitely struck a chord with me. Big thumbs up to all the developers! Keep up the great work!

    Posted 04/20/2014
  • dartme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Quickbooks for a couple years now and have been *very* dissatisfied. GnuCash's clear interface, discoverability, and transparency have added a new dimension to accounting productivity. I have read the (excellent) guide and now understand double-entry accounting better than I ever have, and am now using it to track personal finances. If, Lord willing, I start a business, this will be an easy go-to solution even for AR and AP!

    Posted 01/08/2014
  • equinus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exec summary: I upgraded both a GnuCash major version and operating system (Windows to Linux) at the same time, and GnuCash worked flawlessly. Respect, GnuCash! Don't try this at home, but if it happens to you, like it did to me, GnuCash will show its quality. Longer version: I have used GnuCash (2.3) on Windows XP for a couple of accounting years now, for a family business. Its support for GST (Australia/NZ's version of VAT) is modest. But I persevered... Recently, part way through closing a year end, I decided to upgrade my computer from Windows XP to Linux Mint. That's a great upgrade- I wish I did it ages ago. Linux Mint is far more usable than any Windows since XP. Hardware just works, performance is great. Anyway, I decided to slim down Windows but leave a bootable Windows as insurance, so I could complete the year-end safely and keep a couple of other apps I wanted to take my time in converting across. Yes of course I backed up. Something I did, Windows didn't like. I still don't know what. Anyway, my carefully-preserved Windows doesn't boot any more. it gets partway through then croaks. So I restored my GnuCash data- backed up on 32-bit Windows, restored to 64-bit Linux. Installed the latest (2.4) GnuCash, Linux version; fired it up and opened my part-done year end data. Instant success. No ifs, buts or gotchas (so far). This is among the easiest migrations I have performed- and that includes migrations where I kept the same application version and just upgraded Windows versions. I work in IT, and it's the best accidental upgrade I have had- ever! The other couple of apps I kept Windows around for- don't care now. Windows is gone. I can still get to the data files on the old Windows partition and in every case, I know what Linux app I will use and how it will use the data files. The worst case was Dragon Naturally Speaking, which now works well in Linux under VirtualBox. GnuCash team, thank you very much! Keep up the outstanding work.

    Posted 10/18/2012
  • johhkidd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Keep your finance history! I've used excel. But at the moment I use this app, Gnucash

    Posted 10/01/2012
  • grecosurf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program is easy to use, everything is clear and easy to set out the language. I suggest

    Posted 06/16/2012
  • kronzebrmonro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    All around wonderful. Thanks guys, this tool is a "must have"

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • abhinav007
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gnucash is the best open source alternative to most of the commercial accounting apps out there. I have been using it for 2 years & except for some getting used to the new way of doing things, I feel that it can beat most of the accounting apps hands down...

    Posted 12/02/2011
  • blacknred0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using GnuCash since 2007 and I love every bit of it :) . Specially now that is on Linux, Mac, and Win.

    Posted 10/19/2011
  • srinilive
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love it. I have been using it for 3 years. I don't need to look for any alternate. I appreciate the team for their continuous effort and contribution.

    Posted 06/06/2011
  • clements
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Better than all of the other options.

    Posted 01/06/2011
  • nasire786
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Files work in Windows and Linux. Using it for 2 years now. Excellent. I carry it with me on Portable Apps too.

    Posted 05/08/2010
  • karagog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic! I finally got my finances organized after years of ignoring them! Excellent documentation also; I've never taken accounting, but the docs taught me everything I need to know to maintain my own records. Great tool!

    Posted 03/11/2010
  • bluemintman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I realy think this is the best, what more can I say.

    Posted 01/01/2010
  • lafleurh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used this software for years (on Linux) and it works great. It is easy to get data both in to and out of it. The double entry accounting system ensures that you track your expenses and liabilities properly. It can import from several different bank output formats and learns what transactions go to which accounts (somehow, perhaps using pattern matching). It can also download directly from your bank, although I have not tried that. It can get stock quotes from the internet, but that requires some low level configuration. Overall, it is a good, solid program that is easy to use and powerful.

    Posted 09/16/2009
  • arrow365
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GnuCash is the best software for personal accounting. Also good as educational software.

    Posted 07/31/2009
  • khub
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    complete, simple, accurate, multi-platform, may lack a bit of documentation when it comes to customize it deeply but it is really well maintained with new features on a regular basis.

    Posted 03/06/2010
  • dikutva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a awesome project that still has potential. Keep it up!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • trackandroid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Looks good. Will test it with my wallet!

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • robertcorreia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Gnucash, it's wonderful!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • vitalikklichko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program.Very easy and simple to use.

    Posted 05/13/2013
Show next 25 reviews