The official stand-alone installer for Git on OS X

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
3
1
0
1
7
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • suniljiloka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ddddddddddddddddddd

    Posted 06/12/2015
  • eric_se
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks! Installed perfect in Lion (10.7.5). Had issues with prev versions (errors), which held me back @ 1.8.4.2.

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • rgbboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Had an issue with osx 10.8.5 but the developer was quick to fix the problem and release a working version.

    Posted 12/22/2014
  • timcharper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Leopard Support has been fixed.

    Posted 12/20/2014
  • chesharicat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would have been lovely to know this doesn't work with OSX 10.7.5 before installing (it installed but doesn't work) Maybe move this information somewhere where it can be seen before installing instead of finding it out as an error message after it installs.

    Posted 10/04/2014
  • chickenbit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    as others reported, I received a seg fault with 2.0.1. Installed 1.8.4.2 from the legacy site: code.google.com/p/git-osx-installer/

    Posted 08/13/2014
  • sebdominguez
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    segmentation fault with Snow Leopard

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • jchoosakul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Download and installed both git-1.8.5.2-intel-universal-snow-leopard.dmg and git-1.9.0-intel-universal-snow-leopard.dmg. Both times I got the "Illegal instruction: 4 " error. WORK AROUND: I needed git asap to do my project so I got it from here: 1) Go to Apple's Developer Website: "Download for Apple Developer" httpx://developer.apple.com/downloads/index.action?name=for%20Xcode%20-# 2) Install the "Command Line Tools (OS X Lion) for Xcode - April 2013" 3) After the install, I can run "git --version" and git works after that: j-choosakuls-computer:local root# git --version git version 1.7.12.4 (Apple Git-37) 4) enjoy!

    Posted 03/31/2014
  • aka-nice
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer does not work in OSX 10.6.8 (snow leopard), all git commands result in Illegal Instruction, and that seems related to installing a git version compiled with a recent gcc without required compatibility flags as explained at stackoverflow.com questions 14268887 what-is-the-illegal-instruction-4-error-and-why-does-mmacosx-version-min-10?lq=1

    Posted 03/29/2014
  • orcsab
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs but fails to run on OSX 10.7.5. Error produced: Illegal instruction: 4

    Posted 03/17/2014
  • antoniem1956
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had the same problem as lussman; After instlling on MAC OS Lion and trying to run git --version or any other git command, got the error : Segmentation fault: 11... I subsequently uninstalled xcode - to avoid conflicts - and git and then reinstalled git. Allas, to no prevail, after 2 hours of useless effort; tried all kinds of solutions from several sources; nothing helped... So to all mac-users out there :: carefull before deciding to use this software, you might be in for a lot of trouble....

    Posted 03/16/2014
  • lussman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried to install it on my OSX 10.7 Mac and it doesn't run. After installing the DMG/PKG with no problems all I get when I run 'git' from the command line is: Segmentation fault: 11

    Posted 03/15/2014