GIMP on OS X Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
56
1
3
0
10
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jessfetis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice program, very practical. But can't get the program to launch.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • alchymylab
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great work! Have been using the OS X version of Gimp for some time and they have always been reliable, and now there are native OS X versions - am now using 2.8.2 @alchymylab and no issues so far. Many thanks.

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • johhkidd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    vey funny logo of the project. Good!

    Posted 10/08/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome product, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/06/2012
  • attilaatalar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Perfect open source project! 10x!

    Posted 10/05/2012
  • roxiestaudt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have only two words: reliable & good!

    Posted 09/17/2012
  • blakewells
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • oid-3963919
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This native build works perfect on OSX 10.8.1! Gimp is now part of my photography workflow, I´m loving it! Thanks! Keep the good work!

    Posted 09/03/2012
  • surehybreter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This was exactly what I was looking for. Hopefully its support will be doing good job!

    Posted 08/11/2012
  • petertao87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This one works and I like it.

    Posted 08/02/2012
  • crataegus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp is the only program that makes me considering changing back from OSX into the Linux world again. Just because the quite complicated compiling process or the outdated versions of macports. Thanks to Simone and all developers at lisanet for the brilliant job, porting the loved Gimp to OSX! It works perfectly! I'm working with Gimp on OSX since 2.6x and also this installation of 2.8 worked like a charm. Just XQuarts is needed instead of Apple's X11 - and that's it ... I'm a little bit puzzled why many people posted problems here ...

    Posted 07/19/2012
  • lang1980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GIMP is the best free alternative to Photoshop and opportunity to run it on the Mac OS X is awesome! Thanks!

    Posted 07/17/2012
  • strykalovalenti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice graphic and good work of developers.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • dyadyavoid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful program. Thanks

    Posted 05/18/2012
  • impress11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great works thanks

    Posted 05/16/2012
  • a-j-love
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp on OS X 2.8 with the XQuartz fix looks and works fantastic. Thank you for an outstanding piece of work.

    Posted 05/15/2012
  • oid-3842256
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    And how about LEOPARD support ? I begin to think that more and more developpers have choosen to abandon OS 10.5. This is very sad because there is numerous people that simply didn't want to upgrade, because Leopard is NOT so OLD. I have Gimp 2.6.11, and I'm remembering that the last build provided was 2.6.12 and it didn't support Leopard. I just HOPE that it was just a mistake because there was not a big step between 2.6.11 and 6.12, and that you will provide 2.8 available also for Mac OS 10.5 (and 10.4 because there's no reason). Thumb up because you deserve it.

    Posted 05/11/2012
  • babyreviewer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this program. It's wonderful.

    Posted 04/19/2012
  • oid-3175585
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for making this easily available to Mac users. Keep up the good work !

    Posted 04/14/2012
  • alexilace90
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gimponosx works nicely

    Posted 03/15/2012
  • oid-3733660
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, will there be also a PPC Tiger/Leopard Version of Gimp 2.6.12 ? Thanks a lot for your Time and Work !

    Posted 02/13/2012
  • baragoz12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    incredibly good project

    Posted 12/15/2011
  • hostpoet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am taking a bold stance and state for the record, it sounds too good to be true. Mac users have plenty of advantages, and even ten years back I had heard about how great Macs are about handling images. <b><em>Yet the Mac I have (without any expensive software) does not do half of what I need it to do, and I have to go to my PC, edit the images there, and then transfer them. I cant event take some large raw image that lets say is a few megabytes is size, and simple make it smaller for use on the internet.</b></em> <a href="http://socialadvertising.org/about/">SocialAdvertising.org</a> <a href="http://www.mydomainresearch.com/Domain_Evaluation">It's About Changing The Things We Can Change!</a> <a href="http://thewriterscafe.org/lamed-vav-tzadikim">Stephen C. Sanders</a> Note: Please publish my comment in its entirety, the links to my websites help explain who I am, and how it relates to ends users who arrive here. I apologize for the length and for not "only" speaking on the one specific topic. Including this admittedly lengthy post all but guarantees that I will come back quickly to report on my findings regarding using this apparently essential tool, gimp for Mac OS X. PS: I know this post includes links yet that are not at all like the kind of spam junk I get in the thousand before I figured out to implement Askimet, which I believe is Open Source as well. PSS: I have an overriding belief that tells me, when one writes or shares, or utilizes so much of the Free Tools available to us all on the web, that eventually we all need to work together cooperatively as opposed to constantly being in competition with everyone.

    Posted 12/02/2011
  • janveronica
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks you so much for this excellent resource. I love the way that you have included UF Raw. This means I can open my Nikon Raw images start working.

    Posted 11/07/2011
  • yodaj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
Show next 6 reviews