GIMP on OS X Icon

The world’s most-loved free Photoshop alternative!

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
57
1
3
0
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • timjowers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks developers! I just needed to resize a jpg: The Gimp saves the day. Should be pre-installed with every installation of Windows, Mac, and Linux - I know it is on mine. Thanks very, very much. Nice to have a great tool available everywhere.

    Posted 05/16/2014
  • mariaramey2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • xmachspeedx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GIMP for OS X works perfectly for me. Excellent work!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • jamesperalta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimponosx works excellent.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • thelmadavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • indergopal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi I am using a MacBook Pro ver 10.8 and the version of is GIMP 2.8.4. I am in the process of downloading the latest version GIMP 2.8.4p2-MountainLion I am having problems saving my files to formats like TIFF & JPG. It is only saving the file in its native format. Can RAW files be opened/edited with this program. I am using Canon 5D Mark 2 (.CR2) Appreciate advise feedback. Regards

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • ezsource
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wouldn't go anywhere without GIMP installed and accessible. Brilliant. The transition to native OS/X was a little bumpy, but it works very very well now.

    Posted 05/21/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimponosx works perfectly.

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • cashabanga
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp is an incredibly GOOD program for anyone who is serious about photography and graphic design. I must say that those giving a negative review are missing the point. The point is that it is Free Software. I am defining "Free Software" as how the Free Software Foundation defines it which is the group that created Free Software. You are able to freely, study, modify, and distribute anything about the program. If you find a feature you want, you can write that feature. Since this is a program that is widely used and Free Software, if they added every feature people wrote for it, they would be making several updates daily and the file size would be HUGE. They only release a the stock version which is small. That makes it easier to distribute. I admit that The Gimp isn't the most user-friendly program and the documentation is written by programmers. Those not familiar with the GNU style documentation would find it hard to understand. However, there are TONS of YouTube videos showing you how to do anything you want to do in the program. Just do a YouTube search for "The gimp" and add to the search bar what you want to do with it.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • teczealots
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works. It supports pretty much everything you can think of. It doesn't crash in the hands of a casual user. It supports almost any application you need! Really useful!

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • yanpshigoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project, thanks for giving out

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • aceaceace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am happy to learn that Gimp will now run natively on OS X !! I tried it and it works fine and fast too on my MAC OSX version 10.7.5. I downloaded the dmg specific to this version of OS X. Thanks again for make an awesome product even better.

    Posted 05/03/2013
  • vallasdam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for support all Mac OS X system, such as - Tiger, Leopard and SnowLeoard, Lion and Mountain Lion systems (i tested in all system - works perfectly!)

    Posted 04/28/2013
  • markbboyer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Starting in OS X Lion, only applications from the App Store open easily by clicking. In terminal, type "open -a /Applications/Gimp.app". Thanks for a great product!

    Posted 04/21/2013
  • karo11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Congratulations to the new build with all the improvements, thank you Simone However, at least plugin (gmic_gimp) could be actual.

    Posted 03/23/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • bonnicatz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice nice! But I ***hate*** 'you-can-saveas-png---only-can-export-to-it' new feature. I can 'Save As' to PNG in previous versions.

    Posted 01/29/2013
  • akborkhan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This version is updated . I like it.

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • masonarnold
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy to use gimponosx

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • travisdoorss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome finder's program. The default search features at Windows 7 is very bad. Don't trying search in content of files. This app - is awesome.

    Posted 01/12/2013
  • colefisher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • hilorydats
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to learn and use interface.

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • anenecen1982
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Real good! The best for free!

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • nolanellis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    deseo bajar gimponosx gratis

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • sorivolem1980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool software!

    Posted 10/29/2012
Show next 25 reviews