GIMP on OS X Icon

GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) is a free image editor

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
59
2
3
0
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • drdr1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This SUCKS. Plus it is very hard to use. I have a mac and I looked on the screen shots of a PC and it is WAY different. I can't even change my font.

    Posted 08/10/2014
  • aqfarn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Opaque, anti-intuitive, complex, user-hostile. Obviously it will do lots of things. The problem is figuring out how to make it do them. Nothing works as you expect. Example: click the airbrush tool, set the color in the dialogue box, try to use the airbrush, and it DOES NOTHING. It goes from frustrating to maddening to infuriating. I wish I could still use the ColorIt program that came with my first iMac in 1999. It didn't have as many features, but at least I could figure out how to work the features it did have.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • ornot-bitwise
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I understand the GIMP is created by volunteers with the best of all possible motives. Still, even taking this into account, GIMP has the worst user interface ever conceived by Man. For all its undoubted technical prowess, GIMP is rendered almost totally useless by a user interface so completely counter-intuitive as to be ... stupid. Nothing works as you expect it to. Nothing works the way you NEED it to. Would I recommend GIMP as an alternative to Photoshop? No, I wouldn't. If the choices are scraping up the money for Photoshop some way or relying on GIMP, steal a copy of Photoshop. GIMP is, as nearly as I can tell, completely useless, not because it doesn't work, but because its interface and controls are so opaque and impenetrable as to be ... utterly broken.

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • nadinelucky
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello, can't download gimp on mac os x version 10.6.8

    Posted 07/04/2013
  • irishgoon27
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would not download this. Tho people are saying you can't complain because it's free, is not not. Free isn't always good. As an avid Photoshop user and photographer, this is worthless in my eyes. The people saying this is a must for any photographer out there is a stay at home mom with a hobby and no training. The reason not to use it, its super slow. you can't even save a photo as a jpg, let alone tif, eps. . resizing an image doesn't work how it should doing the whole photo, it just does either length or width....do not see any interface easier than photoshop. and this is all with in trying to use it in 5 minutes....thanks, but no thanks.

    Posted 05/25/2013
  • maurizio-loreti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent distribution. But GIMP does not support Retina displays at all; text and graphics appears jagged and ugly, and pictures are not displayed well on these displays. This is not fault of the OS X maintainer, I guess; but GIMP should be ported to Mac better than what is currently.

    Posted 03/04/2013
  • jdbiggelaar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sorry, but it is just not launching, tried everything. I am running OS X 10.8.1 with enough internal and external memory on an iMac 27".

    Posted 09/03/2012
  • oid-3901617
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I should have read the reviews before downloading (MAC OS 10.5.8). I had the same problem with GIMP 2.8 not launching. I donated for the cause and got nothing in return. Something is wrong and the problem needs to be resolved SOON.

    Posted 07/03/2012
  • eckelon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It doesn't work on snow leopard (10.6.8), maybe the dmg filename should be GIMP-2.8.0p1-Lion-only.dmg. moving back temporarily to 2.6 :(

    Posted 06/30/2012
  • hgibbons1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GIMP 2.8 won't run on my computer. It's completely nonfunctional. (Mac OS 10.6.8). Installed quartz, apparently successfully, but GIMP still won't run. The icon shows up in the dock, but it never does anything. If I click on the GIMP icon, X11 starts, but still GIMP never does anything. Trashed and re-installed GIMP, but it still doesn't work. Something is wrong with this release. If you have a working release of GIMP on Mac OS 10.6.8 I strongly recommend that you do not install this version until the problem is identified and resolved.

    Posted 06/01/2012
  • wylekyote1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I specifically searched for PHOTOSHOP CS5. Granted, I am very short on sleep and am sorry for the following remarks (sincerely sorry, I just need to vent so disregard anything rude I say). Fair warning, most of what I will say is going to be rude. I NEVER SEARCHED FOR GIMP, in fact I didn't even search for the letters G or M, yet my time was wasted by being redirected to your website. Again, I'm quite sorry. My girlfriend of nearly 3 years and I broke up earlier and the day has continue heading downhill. I sincerely hope your day is significantly better than mine. I already purchased an engagement ring for nearly $5000 and the timing of the breakup ruined a small road trip that I was taking my girlfriend on in order to propose (which I also spent nearly a $1000 on for baseball tickets, a suite at the hotel, and a private tour of Busch Stadium where I would have proposed on home plant. like I said, your life could always be much, much worse.

    Posted 09/03/2011
  • nepaldog
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't get the program to launch.

    Posted 07/30/2011