GIMP on OS X Icon

The world’s most-loved free Photoshop alternative!

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
57
1
3
0
11
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • aqfarn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Opaque, anti-intuitive, complex, user-hostile. Obviously it will do lots of things. The problem is figuring out how to make it do them. Nothing works as you expect. Example: click the airbrush tool, set the color in the dialogue box, try to use the airbrush, and it DOES NOTHING. It goes from frustrating to maddening to infuriating. I wish I could still use the ColorIt program that came with my first iMac in 1999. It didn't have as many features, but at least I could figure out how to work the features it did have.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • timjowers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks developers! I just needed to resize a jpg: The Gimp saves the day. Should be pre-installed with every installation of Windows, Mac, and Linux - I know it is on mine. Thanks very, very much. Nice to have a great tool available everywhere.

    Posted 05/16/2014
  • bassfz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp on OSX is pretty good. Not as current as the Windows version, but it still gets the job done. The UI needs work, Single Window mode should be default on all systems, but other than that everything is there. To those Photoshop who can't figure out how to export as a jpg, pdf, it's in File -> Export. Next time look a little closer. If you're used to Photoshop, GIMP's tool placement might throw you off, but it's easy to get used to.

    Posted 02/06/2014
  • drlex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As far as free bitmap-based graphics editors go, GIMP is probably the best. It has some very powerful tools that are not even available in other programs. The main problem however is the user interface, which has always been somewhat backwards compared to every other graphics editor. It has not improved in the 2.8 release, maybe even to the contrary. Working with GIMP often gives me a feeling of having to take everything out of my toolbox just to reach that single wrench I need. For operations that take a single click in Photoshop, I have to click three times and press a key. The right window must be in focus and the editor must be in the right mode, otherwise operations either have no effect or do something unexpected. To make things worse, the current version of OS X Gimp has a few bugs in the toolbox interface that cause the tools to randomly switch to other modes. This happens quite often, and is only noticed when the tools do not behave as expected, because the only visual indication is a highlight change on a small icon. My verdict: if you don't mind wrestling a pig from time to time, GIMP is a great free alternative to expensive editors.

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • ornot-bitwise
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I understand the GIMP is created by volunteers with the best of all possible motives. Still, even taking this into account, GIMP has the worst user interface ever conceived by Man. For all its undoubted technical prowess, GIMP is rendered almost totally useless by a user interface so completely counter-intuitive as to be ... stupid. Nothing works as you expect it to. Nothing works the way you NEED it to. Would I recommend GIMP as an alternative to Photoshop? No, I wouldn't. If the choices are scraping up the money for Photoshop some way or relying on GIMP, steal a copy of Photoshop. GIMP is, as nearly as I can tell, completely useless, not because it doesn't work, but because its interface and controls are so opaque and impenetrable as to be ... utterly broken.

    Posted 01/05/2014
  • gneders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp 2.8.2 is great But I have tried four times to launch the 2.8.6p1 here and nothing but Gimp crash before launch, does any one have the answer?

    Posted 10/22/2013
  • phaze12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This version, 2.8.6p1, seems a bit faster than the previous OS X-native version of Gimp I've tried, 2.8.4 I'm fairly excited about the OS X-native Gimp project and will keep trying the updates..this is is an application I feel *everyone* who does any level of image manipulation on Mac should use and be interested in.

    Posted 07/13/2013
  • nadinelucky
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello, can't download gimp on mac os x version 10.6.8

    Posted 07/04/2013
  • mariaramey2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • xmachspeedx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    GIMP for OS X works perfectly for me. Excellent work!

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • jamesperalta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimponosx works excellent.

    Posted 06/19/2013
  • thelmadavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for so usefull software.

    Posted 06/08/2013
  • indergopal
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi I am using a MacBook Pro ver 10.8 and the version of is GIMP 2.8.4. I am in the process of downloading the latest version GIMP 2.8.4p2-MountainLion I am having problems saving my files to formats like TIFF & JPG. It is only saving the file in its native format. Can RAW files be opened/edited with this program. I am using Canon 5D Mark 2 (.CR2) Appreciate advise feedback. Regards

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • irishgoon27
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would not download this. Tho people are saying you can't complain because it's free, is not not. Free isn't always good. As an avid Photoshop user and photographer, this is worthless in my eyes. The people saying this is a must for any photographer out there is a stay at home mom with a hobby and no training. The reason not to use it, its super slow. you can't even save a photo as a jpg, let alone tif, eps. . resizing an image doesn't work how it should doing the whole photo, it just does either length or width....do not see any interface easier than photoshop. and this is all with in trying to use it in 5 minutes....thanks, but no thanks.

    Posted 05/25/2013
  • ezsource
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wouldn't go anywhere without GIMP installed and accessible. Brilliant. The transition to native OS/X was a little bumpy, but it works very very well now.

    Posted 05/21/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimponosx works perfectly.

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • cashabanga
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Gimp is an incredibly GOOD program for anyone who is serious about photography and graphic design. I must say that those giving a negative review are missing the point. The point is that it is Free Software. I am defining "Free Software" as how the Free Software Foundation defines it which is the group that created Free Software. You are able to freely, study, modify, and distribute anything about the program. If you find a feature you want, you can write that feature. Since this is a program that is widely used and Free Software, if they added every feature people wrote for it, they would be making several updates daily and the file size would be HUGE. They only release a the stock version which is small. That makes it easier to distribute. I admit that The Gimp isn't the most user-friendly program and the documentation is written by programmers. Those not familiar with the GNU style documentation would find it hard to understand. However, there are TONS of YouTube videos showing you how to do anything you want to do in the program. Just do a YouTube search for "The gimp" and add to the search bar what you want to do with it.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • teczealots
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works. It supports pretty much everything you can think of. It doesn't crash in the hands of a casual user. It supports almost any application you need! Really useful!

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • yanpshigoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Amazing project, thanks for giving out

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • aceaceace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am happy to learn that Gimp will now run natively on OS X !! I tried it and it works fine and fast too on my MAC OSX version 10.7.5. I downloaded the dmg specific to this version of OS X. Thanks again for make an awesome product even better.

    Posted 05/03/2013
  • vallasdam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for support all Mac OS X system, such as - Tiger, Leopard and SnowLeoard, Lion and Mountain Lion systems (i tested in all system - works perfectly!)

    Posted 04/28/2013
  • markbboyer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Starting in OS X Lion, only applications from the App Store open easily by clicking. In terminal, type "open -a /Applications/Gimp.app". Thanks for a great product!

    Posted 04/21/2013
  • karo11
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Congratulations to the new build with all the improvements, thank you Simone However, at least plugin (gmic_gimp) could be actual.

    Posted 03/23/2013
  • maurizio-loreti
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent distribution. But GIMP does not support Retina displays at all; text and graphics appears jagged and ugly, and pictures are not displayed well on these displays. This is not fault of the OS X maintainer, I guess; but GIMP should be ported to Mac better than what is currently.

    Posted 03/04/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 02/12/2013
Show next 25 reviews