gImageReader Icon

beta

A graphical GTK frontend to tesseract-ocr

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
21
1
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mikejkelley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My download included trojan adh.x 5:47 Sept.3rd '14

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • andresimi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, simple, great. But one important missing thing is the lack of option to save OCR on pdfs...

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • shadyeglenn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a wonderful piece of software that gets OCR right!

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • ryanmatthews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • lukaswhite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks gimagereader

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • yermandup
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great tool that work very fine, the most characters are recognized, facility the job!

    Posted 12/17/2012
  • alladin-123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you very good image editor.

    Posted 12/04/2012
  • gavinpowell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program gimagereader.

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • masonbarnes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gimagereader works perfectly.

    Posted 09/14/2012
  • arunasr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A very good framework, does what I was looking for. Was going to invent it myself, but stumbled across this and looked no further. Could be polished a little further to minimize the number of drags and clicks required; I've logged corresponding feature requests. I am willing to make the relevant changes myself.

    Posted 08/28/2012
  • markthomas55
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good tool for everyone!

    Posted 03/25/2012
  • jacksonperry
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • nikolaysavinov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like this project

    Posted 03/21/2012
  • denisbradford
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Terrific software: I just upgraded to Tesseract 3.0, and was having trouble with it: it was dividing my image into columns for some reason, making a mess of the text output. I couldn't find any command-line switches to control columns. With gimageReader, the OCR just comes out right -- a single column in this case. Still don't know what switches to use, but just now I don't care -- saved my project! Thank you, Sandro. Installation on Ubuntu was a snap: downloaded gimagereader_0.9-1_all.deb and chose Open with Ubuntu Software Center. In the Software Center clicked Install, and I was done. The GUI is straightforward and efficient.

    Posted 02/20/2012
  • kjonn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    congrats-g for good? where is command line option for batch processing?

    Posted 12/13/2011
  • dathomp1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! Worked 'out of the box' with debian with a large pdf document. The ability to process page ranges is very convenient.

    Posted 11/02/2011
  • oid-3473196
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A GUI for ocr in Linux .. How Nice!

    Posted 08/08/2011
  • oid-3493218
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, simple & functioning application, well done. Of course more features would be cool (format recognition & export in .odf) but congrats for your achievement! Keep it up Ps a PPA on ubuntu might speed up adoption..

    Posted 08/01/2011
  • oid-3346692
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the only function I still have had to use windows for ... Yippee!

    Posted 04/18/2011
  • efaefa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    add the thing that tesseract OCR miss: versatility

    Posted 06/01/2010
  • cor3huis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works well. I case you do not know where your dictionary data resides, try /usr/share/tesseract-ocr/tessdata/

    Posted 03/16/2010