User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
29
0
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • zapyon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This was already one of the best image viewers when it was still gqview. Now, as geeqie, it is progressing very well. I love the feature that my camera's corresponding RAW and JPEG files are treated "as one" (in a group, but can be touched seperately). - And there is this other extremely useful feature: you can search whole directory trees for duplicate images and similar images and even compare two directory trees for doublettes. I miss only two features: 1. adding a keyword to all files currently selected in the images list (would improve the speed of categorizing new photos immensely!) 2. rating images (plus being able to filter by rating). Currently I "simulate" that feature by having keywords for bad, good, very good, excellent, but it's a clumsy workaround. Thank you for all your good work! Keep it up!

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • alcinf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Add a 'filter filenames' (just helpful, there is in all applications), and do what you want with the 'Marks options' (clumsy).

    Posted 03/10/2014
  • roggan87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Finally a good photo management software that is fast and intuitive! I'm only missing a few features like importing from camera and rating images, but the speed compensates for that!

    Posted 01/07/2014
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice work ! Great project.

    Posted 05/26/2013
  • shapeshifter910
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Another half baked, abandoned Linux application. Stupid thing is starting in root folder every time and no way to set a startup folder.

    Posted 03/05/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to run geeqie

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • blakenelson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • williamwalton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • masonmorgan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable and stable, thanks geeqie

    Posted 11/15/2012
  • weisbul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really easy to use.

    Posted 10/24/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • mashtret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpful, fast and easy product!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • panoviktori
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful project! Thanks for amazing work!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • oid-3993907
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not only fast but very nice working printing feature.

    Posted 09/25/2012
  • coleoconnor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • soat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best!

    Posted 09/07/2012
  • andyun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you!

    Posted 08/19/2012
  • camwells
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you geeqie

    Posted 03/26/2012
  • oid-3559465
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Geeqie is pretty much my favorite image viewer. Even though it's maybe a bit more "heavy-weight" than some others, it's very fast, very flexible (it allows a lot of configuration to make its behavior in various non-default circumstances exactly how one likes), and has great image quality even when scaling (and allows you to choose the scaling filter for those times when you intentionally want only "nearest" filtering, for instance). I like the fact that it is oriented more around viewing directories of images, and does a great job of it, but also allows you to hide all the directory-related UI grot and just focus on the current image I love the fact that it handles partially-written image files without complaint (some image viewers just fall over and die), and will automatically re-read an image that has changed, without messing up the current view even if one has zoomed and panned in the partial image! In general, Geeqie just seems to do "the right thing" more often than other image viewers. [E.g., if you zoom and pan to see a small detail of an image, then hitting the SPC or BS keys to move to the next or previous image in the directory will keep your position and zoom level if possible, which makes it wonderful for doing inter-image comparison of fine details...]

    Posted 01/07/2012
  • zuf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Superior speed for raw view/preview. Very useful when search in large raw-photo archive.

    Posted 01/05/2012
  • sabrewolfy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The great feature of Geeqie is the read-ahead decompression, so that the next image appears immediately. This is most useful when viewing large, high-resolution images on slower or older computers.

    Posted 12/30/2011
  • tmp-stephenh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found this because I was searching for an easy way to do a photo contact-sheet style printout of a batch of pictures. It was easy to figure out how to do this. The only problem I encountered is that it would not print to my HP OfficeJet Pro 8500A Plus printer. However, I was able to print to file and then print the file from another program. In the end, I got what I needed. Although I gave it a thumbs-up, I would give it a more hearty recommendation if the printing worked properly. In spite of the problem, it performs its task well.

    Posted 12/23/2011
  • danv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the better GTK image viewers. Fast and flexible.

    Posted 11/29/2011
  • oid-3421274
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very stable. Great app! Keep up the great work. Been using 1.0-0 since March 3....

    Posted 06/08/2011
  • oid-3416527
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very impressed with this and with great potential. I'm using it with gnome and lxde.

    Posted 06/04/2011
Show next 7 reviews