User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
11
1
2
0
4
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • awsdert
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Found nothing in the way of contacting the team for feature requests, been trying to find an editor with looped write capabilities and this is not one of them. Just to clarify what I mean here is are 2 examples of what I was looking for: start at address 0x15000 increment address by 0xB for 100 iterations on each iteration replace with 32bit hex on next line from example.txt ~ start at address 0x15004 increment address by 0xB for 100 iterations start with value 0x270F and decrement by 0x1 on each iteration overwriting in litte-endian format ~ Then I would write the number of bytes used to fixed offset, and number of items written at another fixed offset. BTW these actions are mainly for savegame editing (Ihave completed the game before :P)

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • asweigart
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When you open a file, it automatically replaces the current file you are looking at instead of opening a new window. You have to run multiple instances of the program yourself. That's a deal-breaker for me. This is way too inconvenient for me to use. (If this changes, I'll gladly change my rating.)

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • neilhmurphy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It didn't work for me. I tried to "replace" null (the beginning of the line) with some text. Didn't work.

    Posted 04/04/2014
  • donestes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Did its job, no muss no fuss. I marked it down because of the user interface: it does not display rows of data 16 bytes at a time which makes it somewhat confusing to locate the data you want. All hex editors I've used have aligned on a 16 byte (or multiple) boundary, ideally with an extra space between groups of 4 and 8. Other than that, it's fine.

    Posted 10/03/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Frhed works fine.

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • caverge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too much trouble. I downloaded frhed twice in case something screwed up the first time but was unexecuteable. Browsing the "chm" file I found that it would be necessary to download an "installer" to ensure I agreed to the license. Said installer nowhere obvious in view on the frhed home or download pages. I had no such trouble with the 2 other hex editors I downloaded as they came with their installer and licensing agreement included. The above, in combination with the comments about registry entries I decided not to bother.

    Posted 02/19/2013
  • eliperkins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great app

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great app, works nicely

    Posted 01/21/2013
  • vds2212
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is open source and it works well for me. It is the best open source hex editor I found so far.

    Posted 01/12/2013
  • gavinchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    frhed is small and works nicely

    Posted 12/20/2012
  • jacobchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you frhed

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • williamfischer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 09/16/2012
  • komakaze
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The description say's it can open big files partialy. When I tried to open a 19GB file it said "Not enough memory to load file". I found HxD Freeware Hex Editor met my requirements.

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • carynhllina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice!

    Posted 08/07/2012
  • wupix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and Easy to use.

    Posted 04/08/2012
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/22/2011
  • singlebit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you're hacking on your own machine, it's a great, easy-to-use, powerful hex editor, but the registry thing keeps me from using it as a portable app - you can only use it's 'remove frhed from the registry' option if you're allowed to put frhed in the registry in the first place... I'm still using 1.0.153 for this reason - good luck finding it, though.

    Posted 10/13/2010
  • cricri2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The interface is a bit of a mess and the program creates quite few registry keys, but is remains an incredibly powerful hexadecimal editor.

    Posted 05/12/2010