Freeplane Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
138
2
1
1
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • es58
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I started with freemind, and have been using freeplane for years. I use it every day at work. I use it to write code, and especially debug. It's fantastic. Only problem is: I have 3 boxes that run windows 7, and it works on 2 of them, but, my last install of the 3rd box hasn't worked for well over a year and I can't figure out how to get it to work. I found some options to set and scripts to run that got it to launch, but, I can't save anything. The other boxes are great. I wish I had some way to figure this out.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • pezmarino
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is a very good tool to do mind maps, especially maths mind maps, because of you can use latex. I think it could be improve in some aspects, like having a latex dictionary, and export option, but it is the best program of its class.

    Posted 06/25/2014
  • xb2o
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice tool I use to investigate new domains or use as a document/link organisation tool. However I tried to install the latest Mac OS X release (1.3.11) and failed with a corrupted package error with both .dmg and .zip files & multiple tries.

    Posted 06/16/2014
  • jertux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very powerfull

    Posted 06/02/2014
  • chrisdsf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolutely essential tool for wrangling complex and amorphous projects.

    Posted 05/30/2014
  • mikeo888
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using Freeplane (and also Freemind) for a few years now. I love the basic functionality, and especially the way that basic tasks like adding and moving nodes can be accomplished with the keyboard (without needing the mouse). I have to say though that the menus need some serious reorganising. I find I'm often having to hunt through every menu option to try and find some features. There are a whole ton of features that have been added over the years that I don't use, and will never use, and yet there they are taking up menu space. I think the app would benefit from a simplified user interface, perhaps where the menu options where configurable so that unused options could be hidden away.

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • hanegiech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, easy to use

    Posted 05/08/2014
  • leonardo0202
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i would like to be a part of your project..and sure i will need time im just new ...thanks so much !!

    Posted 03/28/2014
  • bomadeno
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Every time I try to make a mind map, I try using this or FreeMind (both kindred spirits). Every time, I end up utterly frustrated at the user interface, and going to find some other tool instead. There seems to be a rich supply of features, but even simple operations are a challenge. Cutting everything back to basics would be a huge improvement.

    Posted 02/17/2014
  • climb4fun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great application - has all features, which are needed for the average user. Recommended by me.

    Posted 01/26/2014
  • iainkewley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderfully powerful program but the appearance and useability could do with updating a little.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • edo_f
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using Freeplane years now. It has helped me in a lot of different ways (for work and outside work). I use it every day. I've got my computer set to run automatically Freeplane every time it starts and then it helps me the whole day. The flexibility and easy of use of Freeplane allowes me to solve easy and complex tasks rapidly. The principal reasons I recomend Freeplane are: 1. Allthough it has a lot of functionalities, format options, etc. you can start using it (and having bennefits from it) with just a few basic functions (insert, delete and move node) 2. You can edit your files (mindmaps) barely using the mouse which gives you a lot of speed and fluity in your work (hot keys are easy to use and to assign) 3. It helps organize your tasks/projects/plans/information/calendars/expendetures/etc.. easily and naturally and best of all: you don't have to define the structure of this organization prior to do it like in other softwares. you can define it parallel to the organization process itself 4. It's a great tool for meetings where you not only want to show a presentation but to transform the meeting in a workmeeting with sustantial results and registered decisions and responsabilities. 5. It's great for doing the follow and control of pending tasks and register decisions and issues releted to them

    Posted 11/21/2013
  • sammysea
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been looking at this program for several months. I am just an average 'joe", yet I find this a most useful program for me. I use it mapping Bible subjects and it more than suffices. My problem is remembering all the commands and using them. Thanks for a great program!

    Posted 10/24/2013
  • ar1e
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software. I was affraid that it won't be intuitive since I'd read some reviews that said it isn't, but it's great. Maybe because I'm a programmer myself, my first thought was: hmm... customize keyoard shortcuts... oh, attributes... conditional styles... and you udon't have to worry about draging and dropping, organizing and all that UI stuff that takes all your time at all. Exactly what I was looking for.

    Posted 09/12/2013
  • gaetane
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a developer and lover of software, I am constantly scouring the web for the next big "thing". I am particularly obsessed with mind-mapping and productivity. I discovered Freeplane ages ago and have been an ardent fan ever since. But I must admit, every now and then I get lured away by flashy promises of software awesomeness and I gleefully download it (my entirely legal copy, of course!), pour over the "features", faithfully recreate my life in the new app and... after a few days realise that FreePlane had way more features and allowed me much more flexibility and I don't know what I was thinking anyway. I return to the fold slightly shamefaced... ^_^ Thank you for a really great app, especially for developers who can take advantage of the scripting and external libraries. Awesome project!

    Posted 09/03/2013
  • carsubwoofer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Thanks for amazing work!

    Posted 07/08/2013
  • wakesurfer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think this version is great! One really cool new feature would be a small browser plugin for chrome and firefox that lets you easily add URLs to the currently open mindmap.

    Posted 07/01/2013
  • aryaputrasrj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yeah Very Helpfull a Great tool to simplify things into points

    Posted 06/23/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freeplane works perfectly.

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • rusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for great project! Simply the best.Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/19/2013
  • sever78
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • urina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!Good,good,good.+1

    Posted 05/17/2013
  • darkmath24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good mindmapping software. I also like to use Xmind though, to see new features implemented in both software. The free version of Xmind permit the user to export as a .mm format. I think it would be nice if Freeplane allow the same conversion back to .xmind, if such a thing is possible. Thanks again for your excellent work!

    Posted 05/14/2013
Show next 25 reviews