Free Pascal Compiler Icon

Free 32/64/16-bit multi-platform Pascal and Object Pascal compiler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
54
1
0
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • a6najdorf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fantastic, 20 years of hunting this :) now only have time to look at, to busy guys :) hat's off to effort :)

    Posted 12/24/2014
  • taucoder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome!

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • hreftoolscorp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incredible volunteer effort sustained over many years.

    Posted 05/26/2014
  • christian_u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great project

    Posted 05/18/2014
  • itsolskhalid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm an old-time developer who started writing code back in 1985. Having worked on many platforms, I always loved the power and flexibility of Pascal (even compared to C). In the mid 90s when I first looked at Delphi, I was so glad but it was (and is still) very expensive. Then I discovered Lazarus and the FreePacal IDE. It's an amazing thing and I love the fact that even the short-cut keys on the IDE are nearly identical to the old TP. This has made the transition very easy to FreePascal. Today I build client-server apps for Linux and Windows using Lazarus while using the text-based IDE for teaching programming at academic level. Lazarus also blends well with PostgreSQL on the back-end and I don't think I'll need to switch to another language again. Pros: * Easy to port the apps to a different OS. * Very easy and advanced GUI. * Connects to a range of DBs * Has a port of FR which is the key need for business reporting. * Open source and free to use even for commercial applications. Cons: * Report designer has some bugs - no big deal. * Documentation for reports and some advanced features fall short (but I think we have to contribute) - come on, after all, it's free! * No MDI forms - and whatever is available is not the best. Since Linux doesn't have MDI forms I've created a special class that creates a tabbed interface instead of MDIs. I think I like it but it's got some limitations. * Executable code size is pretty large - no matter what you do. But I'm ok with it.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • tygraphics
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Outstanding. I've been writing programs in pascal for 27 years. I'm deeply grateful that all the pascal code I've written compiles with only minor tweaks required. The generosity of these fine people is world class. Thank you.

    Posted 10/13/2013
  • robertcorreia
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your work.

    Posted 06/25/2013
  • heathersimmons
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for your work.

    Posted 06/11/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Freepascal, it's good!

    Posted 05/28/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • honeel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Oldschool pascal! Good work Thanks

    Posted 03/03/2013
  • panagiotisf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect !!!! thank you !! :)

    Posted 02/13/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freepascal is small and works nicely

    Posted 02/11/2013
  • nicolascook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • kalebwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • josephburke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job freepascal

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • segbanmon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good project, thanks for your time for giving out!

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • itscharmingtime
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Any updates on this one??

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • sega-bu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for FreePascal team for fast, mature compiler and for big libraries set! I have done big computational problem with friendly documentation and familiar programming language. Thank you very much!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • julianas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I enjoyed the days programming with pascal.

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • earleneblosser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks dudes. Looks really helpful for me!

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • jessefetisovnik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very light weight app that works great!

    Posted 10/20/2012
  • willruiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Thank you very much

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • infoforparent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Clean lanaguage that lowers possibility of mistakes by having checks done compile-time instead of runtime. Extensive runtime library and existing Delphi code is easily converted. Love the cross-platform aspect: get your code running on e.g. Windows, Linux and OSX!

    Posted 10/19/2012
Show next 25 reviews