FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2013-12-15, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
137
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jazzpilot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great NAS solution

    Posted 03/15/2011
  • fabdecafaret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great job Thanks a lot. I'm waiting for something to use the NAS as a multimedia device, my TV is the NAS display !

    Posted 03/13/2011
  • he1957
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    More awkward to use than previous versions. Where is rsync in Services? There's a bug when viewing all UNIX Shares for non-existant shares in that there is a constant "fuel-gauge" that won't go away. Why can't I easily use my existing disk data structures; I do not have and extra 4+ TB of space or the time to backup, create and restore data to and from new disk structures. Responsiveness is gone from all interface windows. Display System Processes does not return. The default shell has been made as csh - why? - this is deviation from "normal" UNIX standards as was tcsh. Enabling ssh requires a reboot - this is becoming too much like Microsoft rubbish in both appearance and behaviour. Running fdisk from an SSH command line reports the following: "freenas# fdisk fdisk: mounted root fs resource doesn't match expectations (regexec returned 1)" Sorry but I don't like this version at all.

    Posted 03/10/2011
  • fraenki
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS 8 does it's job well. I'm currently migrating all OpenFiler appliances to FreeNAS.

    Posted 03/09/2011
  • yodaj
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good job

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • shot6991
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It spits out files via nfs like lightning. I've never had a problem with it. It is stable as a rock, free (under the BSD license), and everyone from a novice to an expert can utilize the program. Thumbs up!

    Posted 02/25/2011
  • wujekzbyszek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 02/13/2011
  • cjpage
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is a great way to push my boundaries and confidence. Now I know just enough to be dangerous (to my self).

    Posted 02/05/2011
  • zooo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent easy to handle

    Posted 01/19/2011
  • orhank
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very cool

    Posted 01/05/2011
  • hoaxe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sweet as candy :D Im getting all of the functions i need in this dist.

    Posted 12/18/2010
  • oid-3154705
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works very well. iSCSI target setup was easy and worked in minutes!!

    Posted 12/05/2010
  • vady
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best NAS distribution that works out of the box!!

    Posted 11/27/2010
  • oid-3133072
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent

    Posted 11/16/2010
  • oid-3126275
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great nas software!!

    Posted 11/11/2010
  • oid-2818665
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice project

    Posted 10/27/2010
  • adamwine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice!

    Posted 10/22/2010
  • computron1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product and has grown since I first found this little gem.

    Posted 10/15/2010
  • runckle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't know much about computers but was able to get this up and running 3 months ago and it works like a dream...

    Posted 10/15/2010
  • oid-3062186
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent!

    Posted 09/18/2010
  • newmember
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very easy and provides piece of mind knowing your data is stored reliably. Installed on a USB thumb drive. (buy a good quality USB drive). 0.7.1 Shere (revision 4944) Uptime 65 day(s) 3 hour(s) 53 minute(s) 40 second(s) with no issues. SMB for Windows share, FTP for remote access, UPnP DLNA for movie share, iSCSI for ESXi access. All good on one box.

    Posted 09/15/2010
  • martin1802
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What is going on Website freenas.org is offline / server timeout / for weeks?

    Posted 09/07/2010
  • mzuppone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is free, it is fantastic, works better than the expensive LACIE storage we bought. The documentation is not incredible but I'd like to contribute to it if I find some spare time.

    Posted 09/07/2010
  • geejii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent choice for NAS/SAN box, very easy to use.

    Posted 08/28/2010
  • oid-3032987
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great and is fast and stable. I used it in a Test environment for a PACS system. Nobody knew it was not a EMC CX series NAS.

    Posted 08/24/2010
Show next 25 reviews