FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2013-12-15, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
137
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • word6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, have all i need.

    Posted 05/13/2012
  • boragud
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This remarkable idea is necessary just by the way

    Posted 04/03/2012
  • unix001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice.

    Posted 03/30/2012
  • mariusegologan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I made a fast test: Once you join it in Active Directory, you can manipulate all existing Users and Groups permissions from an Windows client. Thus you don't have to visit its GUI for every task. For instance: you can grant full permissions for existing Admins Group and read+write for Users Group. It is a great product for IT infrastructures. Suggestion: GlusterFS (or similar) service will be nice to have it on features list. This will allow mirroring and striping very large files, that are modified continuously, on multiple FreeNAS systems , e.g.: virtual disk images. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • nolangomez395
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gracias

    Posted 03/14/2012
  • markthomas55
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent pour se faiire un serveur NAS à moindre cout et assez facilement somme toute...

    Posted 03/13/2012
  • lucutomen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beneficial project, thanks a lot for sharing

    Posted 03/09/2012
  • henrieu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The 0.7.5 series is still nicer than a iX FN8 rewrite of FreeNAS. I don't like the webgui, i don't like the way iX does handle the community. i now suggest to move to NAS4Free

    Posted 03/06/2012
  • comguitechcen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome job, thanks for telling

    Posted 03/05/2012
  • trescalan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent pour se faiire un serveur NAS à moindre cout et assez facilement somme toute...

    Posted 02/23/2012
  • hastings0
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is without a doubt an excellent storage platform available for free

    Posted 02/18/2012
  • sideeffectsx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a great tool!Great software, makes comparing and merging al lot easier!

    Posted 02/17/2012
  • davidmeil90
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hi, I’m Davide Mei, an italian student. I found out a strange behaviour regarding FreeNAS votes in "March SourceForge Project Of The Month"!!! Every time some votes are added to wPP project, also freeNAS has same behaviour. and, once per day, freeNAS votes are increasing very quickly. During a checkout made Yesterday evening I saw more than 400 votes in less of 3 minutes… I think this is not the right behaviour to win a poll!!!!!

    Posted 02/16/2012
  • bumpher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    7.x (legacy freenas) reigns supreme at the moment, though is being forced to rename or cease development. 8 has quite a few bugs and is not mature enough to be considered a stable "release" version, though it is labeled as such. The UI leaves a lot to be desired as well. The folks at IX seem like great people, but they're off the mark thus far with freenas 8.

    Posted 02/08/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    When main properties are clear, this program works very friendly.

    Posted 02/07/2012
  • bubbleg5
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNas installed on HP ProLiant ML110 (g1) , 3,5GB ram, 4x1TB sata disk, ZFS raidz1, raid card sil3114, work fine, i LOVE freenas 8.0.3!

    Posted 02/05/2012
  • puchung
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is definitive a robust and reliable storage solution. THanks for all developers in this project.

    Posted 10/03/2011
  • davidvt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I vote yes as an investment in the future. I am using Oliver's last version on several systems as it is robust and reliable. I will wait for a need to upgrade and an increase in positive comments. I am sure you will get there before too long. Keep up the good work!!

    Posted 06/05/2011
  • rfksolutions
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS until 0.7.1 good job and excellent service for NAS, after this version (like 0.8), lost services, inestable, more hardware requirements...

    Posted 05/05/2011
  • thairaconteur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed FreeNAS RC4 32 as a test on a 4 gig CF card and it runs like wildfire. Going to make the jump to final release and put in my new 2 TB.

    Posted 05/04/2011
  • pheadjack
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I played with an older version of FreeNAS last year on an old box I wasn't using. I got an OS up and running in 30 minutes and was sharing folders. it was so easy and seemed really solid. I'm now looking at a big white brick that used to be My Worldbook Second Edition run the sync for about the 12th time in several week as I try to rebuild it. If (or when) this fails, I have a drive setup with FreeNAS 7.2 embedded to try in the box. It might work, it might not. Worth a try. Wish me luck. I'll let you guys know what happens.

    Posted 03/27/2011
  • oid-3310367
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm completly new to FreeNAS, yesterday I installed FreeNAS 8 RC3, mostly because I wanted to check out the ZFS implementation. By the way, ZFS is also new 2 me :-). It was easy, fast and straight forward to install, just a few problems writing the image file to the USB-stick. And, make sure to check hardware compatiblity before install. Creating storage was a little bit confusing to me. I wanna use ZFS, but could not find any virtual devs and pools. I have only found ZFS volumes and ZFS datasets. I guess the developers are trying to make it easier reducing the steps and the input needed (take it easy dudes, don't try pushing to far). I'm also worried about not knowing how the system will manage new drives - when I need to add GB:s in the future - to the existing virtual dev and pool (or whatever they are called in FreeNAS). I miss some services services that I know was implemented in earlier versions. I need to experiment and read some more about this beta, and maybe also with the stable FreeNAS 7 version, even though it's not uppgradeable to version 8. You are doing a wonderfull job developing this small but powerfull piece of software. Congratulations and keep up the good work guys.

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • vishnumrao
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS rocks. I have used it to manage a home server that I built with parts lying around from older computers. Keep up the great work guys. Considering donating to you cash to you guys in my next round of philanthropic madness ( Controlled madness, i.e. small sums of money, :-) )

    Posted 03/26/2011
  • sdproto
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    REALLY LOVE IT, *BUT* very frustrating dealing with kernel panics and vm_alloc errors. Have 4GB Ram, Supermicro X7SPA-H-O Atom D510, 4x 2TB disks (ZFS-z1).

    Posted 03/23/2011
  • rstumbaum
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    We choose FreeNAS because of: AFP Shares Apple Time Machine MS AD Single Sign On NFS Shares Rsync SMB Shares SMB Recycle bin TFTP Shares ZFS Filesystem We would love to see: Tape changer backup

    Posted 03/18/2011
Show next 25 reviews