FreeNAS Icon

This project has moved to github - see https://github.com/freenas

As of 2013-12-15, this project may now be found at https://github.com/freenas.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
137
0
0
0
14
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • isaiahavila
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freenas works nicely

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • panoviktori
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! It is free, it is fantastic, works better than the expensive LACIE storage we bought. The documentation is not incredible...

    Posted 01/15/2013
  • henrycollins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Parab�ns

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • joshbooxor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It has not worked for me so good!

    Posted 11/21/2012
  • leocappri
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I spent a good bit of time on performance tuning but was never able to improve the write performance to the ZFS pool (read performance was fine). When I heard about NAS4Free, I installed it in the place of my existing FreeNAS installation and the performance has been outstanding! When I use the windows explorer to open the shared dataset with over 3000 files and lots of directories, the list view in the explorer is filled in: FreeNAS 8: close to 1 minute. NAS4free x64 9.1.0.1.457: less than 1 second. I have thought all the time that FreeNAS was the way to go, it seems no longer the case.

    Posted 11/19/2012
  • justinmarson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is a very helpful tool for my storage needs. Many thanks to the developer.

    Posted 11/17/2012
  • oid-4049915
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great as my home NAS

    Posted 11/14/2012
  • anenecen1982
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool project, thanks for showing!

    Posted 10/30/2012
  • dillancooper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great program freenas, thanks.

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • enwilliams332
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeNAS is good for what i need.. thx alot

    Posted 10/23/2012
  • jessfetis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice but not the perfect one

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • vesefor1977
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project

    Posted 10/16/2012
  • syntegiril1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software.

    Posted 10/15/2012
  • nonyajom
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely NOT ready for prime time unless you are a linux admin. Product is horribly unreliable.

    Posted 09/25/2012
  • oliverrobinson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freenas works great

    Posted 09/08/2012
  • alexsus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best choise for file server in small & middle business's office

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • jusotrain
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very user-friendly and time effective project for everyone!

    Posted 08/14/2012
  • tommiee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good system! work as it should work

    Posted 08/10/2012
  • petertao87
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works as supposed to work.

    Posted 08/02/2012
  • diegoan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent platform for such benefits as the price can also add stability of the work, as well as ease of operation

    Posted 07/23/2012
  • nancybaby
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic, have been using it for years! If it had pre-sets for the encoder settings it would be even more useful.

    Posted 07/07/2012
  • marymoney
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool; it's been very helpful for scripts and such over the years

    Posted 07/06/2012
  • ravenswood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freenas 7 was great and the move to freenas 8 was not a good thing. Just the memory needs for freenas 8 are obsurd. Please discontinue freenas 8 and bring back something that works.

    Posted 07/01/2012
  • insurancetobe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have always loved FreeNAS. It was one of the first servers I ever set up, back in the day in my parent's basement.

    Posted 06/29/2012
  • travismorris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sounds good, but I’m not about to upgrade from Freenas 7 until I know that 8 is really stable… and there’s an easy upgrade path.

    Posted 06/11/2012
Show next 25 reviews