FreeMind Icon

A premier mind-mapping software written in Java

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
210
5
1
0
9
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • blumenkamp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So Complete and Easy! I've looked at a lot of mind mapping tools, open source and paid aplications. FreeMind is by far the best. It is easy, intuitive and feature rich. My favorite thinking tool by far.

    Posted 06/24/2015
  • chusiang
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I very lile it, but the last edition (v1.0.1) can`t keyin the Chinese, but the FreeMind1.0.0_for_10.6.8.dmg can work!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • xkhh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very usefull

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • maxcode360
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beautiful Software ! Thinking and planning has been made so much easier with the help of this software. Great Work !

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • timcharper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love this piece of software ! Use it frequently.

    Posted 01/12/2015
  • tex-martin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use FreeMind on a daily basis, and must say that I'm impressed with it's value. Basic use is very pleasant and intuitive, more advanced features are at your disposal when you look for them. The stability of this software is impressive - next to rock solid. I warmly recommend FreeMind to any and all who likes to unload thoughts, organize related information on varying abstraction levels, write freely; constantly changing subject, gather and organize knowledge and more.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • larryjaycee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've known about mind-mapping for a long time, but it is only recently that I decided to start using it seriously to organise my ideas. So far, I have only been playing with it; using it for projects that are not important, but I am starting to discover its power. One feature that I particularly like is the ability to incorporate executable links in the labels; I tend to collect a large number of links to web sites when doing my research, and this looks like it could provide a good way of organising them logically. Features gets a just OK rating because it only recognises Microsoft programmes. Only a minority of people use internet explorer any more; it would be nice to allow one to import from other browsers directly. But it's free, so this is just a minor complaint.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • larryjaycee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've known about mind-mapping for a long time, but it is only recently that I decided to start using it seriously to organise my ideas. So far, I have only been playing with it; using it for projects that are not important, but I am starting to discover its power. One feature that I particularly like is the ability to incorporate executable links in the labels; I tend to collect a large number of links to web sites when doing my research, and this looks like it could provide a good way of organising them logically. Features gets a just OK rating because it only recognises Microsoft programmes. Only a minority of people use internet explorer any more; it would be nice to allow one to import from other browsers directly. But it's free, so this is just a minor complaint.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • waltergruhn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeMind is wonderful! I have been using it for years and I find it very useful. Thank you!

    Posted 12/18/2014
  • dimonstyle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    очень полезная программа

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • andy-g77
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy install and nicely intuitive for building large disparate sets of actions for addition, changes, deletions and updates. Very nicely orchestrated for attribute management too.

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • enjoylearningcs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I started using Freemind long back in 2009. I had amazing experience everytime I want to speak out the idea on my mind.

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • sttodu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very useful software! I've been using freemind almost every day since a couple of years.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • zxpc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    By me, one of the best free mindmap application. It has all things I need and is very intuitive use.

    Posted 08/22/2014
  • alimat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using FreeMind for several years on Windows and Mac. It continues to add enhancements and is indispensable to me when planning any major undertaking

    Posted 04/22/2014
  • phillacy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent program. Easy to understand and use.

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • whisk3y
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for FreeMind, it's perfect!

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • leonarduk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is now an indispensable part of how I organise myself. Its fairly intuitive and powerful.

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • crwcordes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the software that I measure any other mind mapping software by. So far everything else comes up short. I would like to see flexible icons selection and free bubble arrangement. Those are very minor issues that no one else has anyway.

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • ry81
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A perfectly ergonomic tool for quick notes taking and organisation. My most use is during meetings or presentations i'm spectating to. As classic mindmap use, you could also write down within a few minutes all aspects of a theme you (and your team if any) have in mind. For new users, I recommand to learn keyboard commands as it will saves you a huge amount of time. I gladly thank developpers of Freemind for a such simple an yet powerful tool and prefer freemind rather than freeplane for the ergonomic part (even if freeplane renders prettier presentations).

    Posted 01/25/2014
  • asola
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great software, I have been using it intensively for at least a couple of years now. The quality of the application is way beyond the average OSS/free apps, FreeMind works really stable and well. I have been selected this over commercial apps because this works the same on all major platforms (Linux, Mac, Windows) so if you learn it and than later switch to an other platform, you don't need to look for an alternative, you just move your mindmaps and thats it. You can do time estimation with it as well (google the sum scripts for freemind) after you have installed the appropriate groovy macro.

    Posted 01/22/2014
  • capiauru
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best mind mapping software on the market!

    Posted 01/04/2014
  • egre55
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this program, would donate but can't find donate option anywhere.

    Posted 12/23/2013
  • lex5wei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    perfect job!Make my life easier .Thank you !

    Posted 10/07/2013
  • tselrahc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent tool and a mainstay on my computers for a long time! May not have all the bells and whistles of commercial offerings, but it does what I need in a fast, efficient, and portable manner.

    Posted 09/13/2013
Show next 25 reviews