FreeMind Icon

A premier mind-mapping software written in Java

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
201
4
1
0
8
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • leolf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's tricky to install this Freemind 0.9 into the Linux. After install the SRC package download from the path, It can't run the FreeMind with "freemind.sh". It always show error message "Couldn't find freemind under .". After checking the "freemind.sh", we find there is a file "freemind.jar" missing in the "./lib" directory. So, I copy a "freemind.jar" file from my PC Window which already install the FreeMind 0.9 into the linux "./lib" directory. Finally, it can work now! So, could you please add this "freemind.jar" file into your release SRC package?

    Posted 04/17/2013
  • hikarulea
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very difficult to use it.

    Posted 03/16/2013
  • michcran
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am productive with Freemind on my job-computer because it is preinstalled. I prefer Freeplane which I use on my home computer because it has added functionality and is being developed faster. Why can't the two projects be merged ?

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • oid-3960515
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Advertising this as a mind-mapping software is misleading. It is a good outlining tool, with a single central topic and infinite subsidiaries, but if you want to map actual thought processes, with multiple independent or interrelated key concepts, where subsidiaries fall under multiple categories in a way that looks more like a spider-web and less like an essay outline, then this software is incomplete.

    Posted 08/30/2012
  • ypchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i wont name names, but theres def other free options out there.

    Posted 08/15/2012
  • oid-3490865
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    STOP voting for FreeMind -- FreeMind is now dragging the .mm community down :( Vote for the Freeplane Project instead! Was nice a while ago, however there are many better competing tools. FreeMind has fallen seriously behind Freeplane, poor usability means its hard to share with new users: please seriously work toward merging with the Freeplane fork.

    Posted 07/30/2011
  • armhoge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very peculiar site at http://freemind-download.com. Any thoughts ?

    Posted 06/04/2011
  • jokro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am productive with Freemind on my job-computer because it is preinstalled. I prefer Freeplane which I use on my home computer because it has added functionality and is being developed faster. Why can't the two projects be merged ? It seems a waste of time to invest in two similar programs.

    Posted 12/03/2010