FreeFileSync Icon

Visual folder comparison and synchronization

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
301
7
1
2
68
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • ecurbnosneb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow. I just wanted to sync a few files to my dropbox folder (but I didn't want to update the files in the dropbox, only put them there once they were updated). Took maybe 2 minutes, tops, to set up the automation. Very intuitive. It probably did help that I also use SyncSE and the concepts were similar.

    Posted 01/23/2014
  • mictex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just finished using FFS to syncing 750K files which is about 3.3 terabytes in size to a new server. I'm very pleased how fast FFS analyzed the files and folders and began the transfer. I created a batch job to keep both servers synced (one way) at night and it only takes about a minute or two to analyze the difference on the two servers and copy the necessary files. The user interface is not as friendly as some would like but the function is great.

    Posted 01/16/2014
  • kdubya13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent! Fast and accurate! Blows SyncToy out of the water!!!!

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • ifmihai
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I tried I guess all of them. Freefilesync is the most flexible. Especially with file & folder filters.

    Posted 01/10/2014
  • iamvii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What an excellent piece of software. Initially deployed as an experiment has turned into a staple in my toolbox. I have it set up for an hourly mirror sync via Task Scheduler and it has proven itself time and time again. Nearly three million files synced, hourly revisions are kept on another drive and then compressed monthly...this is one beautiful piece of software. Thank you so much.

    Posted 01/09/2014
  • toddmaddison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Have been using FFS for years, love it. Updates are always useful and simple improvements. Howsabout an Android version....?

    Posted 01/01/2014
  • fifi93
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    it's a great sofware. thanks

    Posted 12/08/2013
  • ivis07
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's probably the best program for syncronization. I've used v. 5.23. Now I started v. 6.0. Guys, stop, please. 5.23 looks crystally clear to understand. Interface of 6.0 is hard to understand, so, hard to use. I was forced to come back to 5.23.

    Posted 12/04/2013
  • ivis07
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's probably the best program for syncronization. I've used v. 5.23. Now I started v. 6.0. Guys, stop, please. 5.23 looks crystally clear to understand. Interface of 6.0 is hard to understand, so, hard to use. I was forced to come back to 5.23.

    Posted 12/04/2013
  • lawrencedol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FFS is highly capable and very fast. More importantly, it's very reliable - I synchronize about 250K files daily, with typically a few thousand changed and about a 500 MB in size and it has yet to mess up. I used to use MS's SyncToy, but that name actually characterizes it will, a "toy"; SyncToy would frequently get confused and want to move things in the wrong direction or show conflicts which weren't the case (esp. with MS network share drives). One of FFS's strengths is how well it handles conflicts, though I have occasionally wished it had a one-click-for-the-newest button, it's really easy to select a group of files and right-click to send them left or right. Also, FFS is orders of magnitude faster than MSST for high-latency drives, like WAN drives; synchronizations that would take several hours with MSST 2.1 completed in less than 20 minutes using FFS (and that was quite some versions of FSS ago). The UI is adequate, with some very minor shortcomings, like not being able to reorder the list of directories being synchronized. Overall it's pretty easy to use, though I think filters and the two settings dialogs could be merged into a single concept / dialog. The ability to hook in an external compare tool is excellent, and it works very well with WinMerge to check exactly what is different between particular files.

    Posted 11/13/2013
  • chinnboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I got a similar app from PC Magazine a few years ago. I never really figured out how to use it. I tried to start it up and it would not load for reasons unknown. I googled just in case I might stumble across.....THIS! It did precisely what I wanted to do. I figured out how to operate it pretty darned quick, which is a testament as I'm gettin' old and am not as fast on the uptake as I once was.

    Posted 11/07/2013
  • svobodniy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program! Thx!!!

    Posted 11/03/2013
  • aejcth
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I read about the TimeStamp problem and maybe have a tip. I wrote a similar program (in VB) some years ago and solved this issue as follows. If the copy went OK, I checked the FileModifyTimes after copying. If the stamps were still different, I separately copied the TimeStamp from source to target and voilà: the files are identical again, ready for the next sync operation. I made this feature optional because it writes the obsolete format in the copied file. You could also consider copying the timestamp the other way, thus correcting the original format in the source file. Although this approach does have advantages, I never tried it because I didn't want to tamper with the originals.

    Posted 10/12/2013
  • telsonalva
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am currently testing this application, although i do not see what the problem is with the created date. NTFS does not seem to give any problems. And who uses FAT32 / 16 these days ? Well the created dates are absolutely fine in my case ... I rate it 4 because there still could be some improvement. For a free software and the hardwork put on this so far ... Its a great app !

    Posted 09/26/2013
  • liquidplace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent piece of software. Simple & efficient!

    Posted 09/22/2013
Show next 25 reviews