FreeFileSync Icon

Backup software that compares and synchronizes folders

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
327
11
4
3
83
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • wlyhid
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software.

    Posted 07/03/2014
  • dcamarena
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Operation is intuitively and simple whilst powerful features like mirroring, backup, synchronization, etc. can be done manually and can be automated. I was searching for such a tool a lot of time and I've tried several and up to now nothing is comparable to FFS.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • japentik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have searched many day about some years ago sync programm without cloud. No way! Freesync have near all my wishes. GOOD work.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • ramjet73
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great with two external USB 3.0 drives. Thank you!

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • infinum
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absolute best. I wish I could point to some issues but can not think of any major flaws. 1 minor is that there is no ability to choose the installation language and so it forces auto-detected language but that is all. Great app.

    Posted 06/10/2014
  • patricknbowman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent product! Backing up my digital photo collection is trivial, even as I move folders around, change photo ratings, etc.

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • allijeanbean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have found the sorcerer's stone and it is FreeFileSync.

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • duago
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Win 7 install, Not at all like what was shown in the screenshots when you click the icon that installs to the start menu (RealtimeSync). It Only gives command line option. You will have to go to the program folder and click the green (FreeFileSync) exe file to get the full initial program setup. Then it should be all good

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • jonafc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use to use MS synctoy but it's so out of date you can see there is no future in it. looks like sync center is the way to go for MS native but I have Windows 7 Home so I don't have that choice. anyway, came across this, judged it on downloads per week and gave it a go. really impressed, easy to setup and with just a little reading you can get it to do realtimesync with realtimesync that comes with it! looks like it's maintained well and kept up to date (big plus) and I like the way it can use Windows Shadow Copy for locked files. great stuff and thanks!

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • awaes786
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far the best Backup Software.

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • carltom46
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, useful, and does it's job very well. I use it almost every day.

    Posted 04/26/2014
  • oouzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and understand. Complex enough for the task I need....

    Posted 04/26/2014
  • mythofechelon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -Pros- • Option for portable install • Support for multiple source and destination paths • VERY fast comparison • Good view of changes that are going to be / are being made (tree views with percentage bars, graphs of copying process, taskbar progress meter, etc) • Support for environmental variables in paths • Support for drive labels over letters in paths • Support for more than one concurrent instance -Cons- • Bit of a learning curve due to the unintuitive UI (exclusions have to be relative to the source path, "Item exists on left / right side only" column is always on the left, the difference between global and local filters is not obvious, etc) • No option to keep versioning in the same folder - it has to be a single, user-defined folder • Custom synchronisation is not customisable enough (actions are catagory-sepecifc, for example) • Not smart enough to know only the filename changed • No tree view for comparison results tables • Doesn't take files that will be deleted into consideration when warning about free space • No current log of sync process, only the current action. Although, there is one post-sync

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • karnonlm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The most powerful file synchorization tools I have ever seen. Use it everyday!!

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • jknollar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the best

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • eahm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best, if not THE best synchronization, backup and mirroring software. Very powerful and fully customizable through scripts. Thanks for creating it and making it free and open source.

    Posted 04/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews