FreeFileSync Icon

Visual folder comparison and synchronization

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
320
10
3
3
81
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • allijeanbean
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have found the sorcerer's stone and it is FreeFileSync.

    Posted 05/19/2014
  • duago
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Win 7 install, Not at all like what was shown in the screenshots when you click the icon that installs to the start menu (RealtimeSync). It Only gives command line option. You will have to go to the program folder and click the green (FreeFileSync) exe file to get the full initial program setup. Then it should be all good

    Posted 05/10/2014
  • jonafc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    use to use MS synctoy but it's so out of date you can see there is no future in it. looks like sync center is the way to go for MS native but I have Windows 7 Home so I don't have that choice. anyway, came across this, judged it on downloads per week and gave it a go. really impressed, easy to setup and with just a little reading you can get it to do realtimesync with realtimesync that comes with it! looks like it's maintained well and kept up to date (big plus) and I like the way it can use Windows Shadow Copy for locked files. great stuff and thanks!

    Posted 05/01/2014
  • awaes786
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    So far the best Backup Software.

    Posted 04/30/2014
  • carltom46
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use, useful, and does it's job very well. I use it almost every day.

    Posted 04/26/2014
  • oouzo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and understand. Complex enough for the task I need....

    Posted 04/26/2014
  • mythofechelon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -Pros- • Option for portable install • Support for multiple source and destination paths • VERY fast comparison • Good view of changes that are going to be / are being made (tree views with percentage bars, graphs of copying process, taskbar progress meter, etc) • Support for environmental variables in paths • Support for drive labels over letters in paths • Support for more than one concurrent instance -Cons- • Bit of a learning curve due to the unintuitive UI (exclusions have to be relative to the source path, "Item exists on left / right side only" column is always on the left, the difference between global and local filters is not obvious, etc) • No option to keep versioning in the same folder - it has to be a single, user-defined folder • Custom synchronisation is not customisable enough (actions are catagory-sepecifc, for example) • Not smart enough to know only the filename changed • No tree view for comparison results tables • Doesn't take files that will be deleted into consideration when warning about free space • No current log of sync process, only the current action. Although, there is one post-sync

    Posted 04/25/2014
  • karnonlm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The most powerful file synchorization tools I have ever seen. Use it everyday!!

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • jknollar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the best

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • eahm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best, if not THE best synchronization, backup and mirroring software. Very powerful and fully customizable through scripts. Thanks for creating it and making it free and open source.

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • jslopezg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent and portable. Its my favorite solution for sync my devices and make backups. Usefull options and intuitve interface. I just have created this account to say thanks to the author.

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • atesarik
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is a great program You could add a feature (an idea taken from Areca) that I think is important: preprocessing (before comparing) postprocessing (after sync) this point is something referred

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • seannn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I created an account just to post my praise to the author. Class A material. DFS Replication with Windows Server was proving to be a nightmare. Deleting files without reason, failing to replicate in both directions, erroring out, just becoming an overall headache. This solution was not only intuitive to use, easy to integrate, and easy to confirm functionality (The log files are heaven sent - They are concise and to the point yet in depth and serve a purpose), but is extremely powerful with the configurable batch jobs. Kudos to the author, and thank you for providing such an awesome product. :)

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • altex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really replaces rsync for windows.

    Posted 03/11/2014
  • hasplix
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool, like pro app but I miss one feature: background service. However I think it is best free file sync.

    Posted 03/05/2014
  • bunnybat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A wonderful tool! Peerless! Tons of thanks to its maker...

    Posted 03/03/2014
Show next 25 reviews