The FreeDOS Project Icon

FreeDOS is a free DOS-compatible operating system.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
37
0
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • lesyalyakina
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello! I would like to know what are cryptographic algorithms implemented in FreeDOS 1.1? Can you help me in this question?

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • gs2012
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best Free DOS out there. Makes me want to start my own. Even if people say DOS is outdated. FreeDOS is NOT outdated. Im running Windows 3.1 on FreeDOS (no Enhanced mode though :( )

    Posted 09/25/2013
  • anohitono
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great, Thanks. I use this project in a multi retro-setup to run DOS-games on real hardware.

    Posted 08/25/2013
  • yanpshigoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, thanks a ton for posting

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • dillonbutler
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks freedos

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • ianhayes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recomendo

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • ryanfong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love freedos

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • jacobchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freedos works great

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • mashtret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpful, fast and easy product!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • panoviktori
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful project! Thanks for amazing work!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • annhouge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    On the screenshots I saw my favorite game Doom! Thanks for sharing this app. It's great nostalgia!

    Posted 10/04/2012
  • sparky4q
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This os is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 I love it! It runs on my 486 pc. as the main OS! I use this over MS-DOS anyday!

    Posted 09/28/2012
  • ryanoconnor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    freedos works nicely

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • salipepact
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good!

    Posted 06/13/2012
  • calamenvi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fantastic.

    Posted 06/07/2012
  • mautomoda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not so good-looking, but does what it should nicely...

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • malessrites
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best for Windows! It still needs to have a Mac and Linux version that is actually decent.

    Posted 06/05/2012
  • grananerox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best tool.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • avnigmede
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The best program that I've ever used.

    Posted 06/02/2012
  • inikolaevich
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool and getting better!

    Posted 05/18/2012
  • cigouave
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Having been quite happy to move away from MS-DOS when I got Windows way back when, I was sort of puzzled when I ran across FreeDOS a couple of months ago. I wondered why anyone would want to use it. But then nostalgia hit me. I gave it a shot. And everything about it--even the complications--made me smile. And now here I am happily awaiting the arrival of a FreeDOS T-shirt while doing some old school tinkering. Thank you to everyone involved with keeping my formative years alive in the form of a cute little fish. Nostalgia is a crazy thing, and FreeDOS is just plain fun.

    Posted 05/10/2012
  • zilogschild
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awsome job guys. Ive been using FreeDos and a Dos Extender to do 32bit Dos programming for sometime. Thanks for getting me away from Microshaft DOS. I really hope FreeDos 32 will be completed someday. Many thanks.

    Posted 05/04/2012
  • miceexpert
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How cute, now I can remember my youth and the first operating system. Thank you!

    Posted 04/19/2012
Show next 12 reviews