FreeCAD Icon

beta

a parametric 3D CAD modeler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
114
2
0
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • rockn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeCAD is the CAD software of the future from mechanical to architecture work. But you know the future is now. FreeCAD est le logiciel de CAO du futur pour travailler depuis la mecanique jusqu'à l'architecture. Mais vous savez que le futur c'est maintenant.

    Posted 07/25/2014
  • bejant
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeCAD is a powerful open source (LGPL license) parametric 3D CAD program. It is still under development, and version 0.14 was recently released. FreeCAD has an active web forum too. See the Users Showcase area to see some of what has been done with FreeCAD. There are also forum areas for those people who may have trouble installing FreeCAD, and another area for people who need help using FreeCAD. I have some YouTube video tutorials under the user name bejant000 that are intended to help new users learn FreeCAD to make 3D models. I've been using FreeCAD for just over a year (so yeah, I'm biased) and thought I'd post this info to help new FreeCAD users.

    Posted 07/22/2014
  • vicoliang
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeCad is very good. There is another free CAD project: sourceforge.net/projects/cadplatform/

    Posted 05/12/2014
  • davidwishengrad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeCAD rocks!!!! The people complaining should realize that if they don't know what they are looking at they really shouldn't comment. I've yet to have it even work properly on my 64 bit windows system to get moving with it, a graphics issue, but I can see the API started, showing an entry point, Python being used, examples, and the transformation matrices are right there to be had!!! You might not understand what this is very important for, but I do!!! I'm going to give it a go. If I can help I will. I can't thank the people who have put this together enough. All those 'features' that people are asking for can be added by them for the most part. The important work is not only decent, but available where other CAD softwares will hide that functionality to control usage and sales. It's finally time to write some Python for me. I like the idea that I may be able to write something that works for someone else and then them not getting taken advantage of by the OS and CAD companies afterwards. I can't think clearly when I code if I can clearly see that what I develop will be used as a tool to take advantage of the people that I am trying to help in the first place. Kudo's to the crew regardless. You have done a great job already.

    Posted 01/03/2014
  • redsalamander
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been trying to lean CAD for a long time. Apart from not being able to afford AutoCAD I have tried the Demo version and by the end of it I'd be lucky if I could draw a cube. I have been using FreeCAD for a little over a year now to draw mainly things that I need to visualise, till this my only option was a sheet of paper and a No2 Pencil if I was lucky I'd have a ruler handy. FreeCAD falls in with my mindset 100% its not over complicated there are very nice tutorials to get you drawing and the only things I could think of to improve would be screw threads I have drawn some but they are hollow and 3D printers don't like that. Gears would be nice and maybe a way to curve an object EG curve a cone into a something like a horn shape for an air duct. Now If you are a CAD designer with "real" CAD experience you will be falling of your chair laughing at the fact that I don't know some technical term for what I asked, but that's who this is aimed at. At the end of the day I have used FreeCAD to design many really cool things if you would like an example I have shared a few on thingyverse search for my username redsalamander all of it's done in FreeCAD. It simply works for me and my feeling is until they find something that can draw what I'm thinking this will do very nicely thank you.

    Posted 09/07/2013
  • calc4fem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Freecad is nice program and it is getting better with every new version. I use it with CalculiX (calculixforwin.com) for FEA analysis with commercial programs

    Posted 06/22/2013
  • hanpari
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really promising piece of software. But be sure to check version ... Right now it is about 0.something. This means there is a long way to go before it is finished. The software might seem unmature because it is not finished, not bacause it is bad or unusable. Just bear this in mind and you wont be disappointed.

    Posted 05/31/2013
  • the_tornado
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice! Extremely user friendly CAD with advanced features - love it!

    Posted 05/23/2013
  • bettinaf1986
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, 10x!

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • gilb33
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bonjour, Logiciel bien pratique même si je suis loin de connaitre toutes les possibilités. Merci Cordialement

    Posted 04/11/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • brnrd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unbelievable. Easy to use, latest technology. Real 3D solids, not just drawn as meshes. But supports meshes, too and 2D drafting. Right hand coordinate system. 3D viewer without constraints works as expected. Try that with over-hyped sketchup! Would recommend to anyone.

    Posted 04/02/2013
  • carolbelka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Pro tool for free, what a magic

    Posted 03/27/2013
  • michaelhagar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you guys very much for such a great work! I couldn't believe simply what I downloaded today! My plan is also to add some modules specialised for CFD.

    Posted 03/23/2013
  • folkda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Honestly - The Workbench interface is not the best choice. Having to understand what each workbench is for should be the last thing a user should have to worry about. CATIA <--- interface is horrid. About 13 yrs behind. I hate working with CATIA. An intuitive straightforward interface would be much better.

    Posted 03/14/2013
  • carlvilbrandt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The standard orentaion is wrong ... the use of ambugious terms like width which should be X instead is y ... and length is used for X it should be y. Sorry to say this is not a professional engineering platform or any other. Please lets have a discussion about this.. the standard view 3/4 is also wrong ... 0,0,0 should be at the lower left hand of the frount face... Its arguable everything is ... however the view should be from the objects point of view not a god/creater view when you work on the left hand side of the object its the left hand side of the object the not god's left hand side... Thus in the program you have the left side of the object the left side of god and the right side of the object being the right side of god. I am classically trained and worked in aerospace eng. ... Computer Vision, AutoCAD, Have done a lot of "CAD" programing... Rhino makes the same mistake.. POVRAY uses the left hand rule with Yup.... at least FreeCAD is correct in using the right hand rule Zup ... because of the mix up with X pointing out of the screen the standard reference lighting is comming from over the left hand shoulder and it should be the right hand shoulder... all of this is easy to fix.... IF fixed I have an open source CAD text book that could be used for FreeCAD training ... I also own the GNUCAD name... and would be willing to work with you... I have access to Volumetric Cad modules that could be intergrated... sorry for bad grammer or misspellings.. don't have the time to clean this up... carl at Common Good Public License dot org..

    Posted 03/14/2013
  • siotech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fumbled with it at first and not really a programmer, but after toying with FreeCad a few hours I came up with incredibly complex 3d models in minutes. For architecture, machine shop, cabinetry a very good start. Checked functionality on a few versions from 12 to 13.1823 to 13.1828 I found that 13.1823 seemed the most functional with Win 7 and Win 8 platforms. I've used Autocad R12. FreedCad is nowhere near as tedious to get the same result. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 02/24/2013
  • ralf123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seit Version_0.12 bin ich begeistert über die Stabilität und auch die Möglichken des Programms. Anwendung findet bei mir unter Win-XP und -Vista, Ubuntu und MAC-OS statt. Mit den Anleitungen aus Youtube und durch "try an error-Methode" kann man die Anwendung recht effektiv lernen. Update auf Vers_0.13 war auf allen Plattformen vollkommen problemlos und bis jetzt absolut stabil und kompatibel zur Vers_12. Ich bin gespannt auf die neuen Möglichkeiten in Vers_0.13 und kann nur FreeCAD nur absolut empfehlen!

    Posted 02/21/2013
  • nolansanders
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • tiakerner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good!

    Posted 01/10/2013
  • inbore680
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works nicely

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • josharmstrong
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simple and straight forward to use

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • oid-2770067
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I upgraded to a new laptop but it has 2 gigs of ram instead of 4 on my old laptop and proably wouldnt run freecad with windows 8. The msi installer doen't work with 8 I would like to get into the great program open source is awsome it can grow.

    Posted 12/08/2012
  • burdickjp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FreeCAD is surprisingly powerful out of the box. Being built on Python means that it is infinitely extensible with an easy and powerful language. It is probably not a good program to start learning CAD in; familiarity with parametric modeling is necessary to get anything done.

    Posted 11/26/2012
  • daddio_2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After trying version 0.12 binaries and finding a few hiccups, I compiled version 0.13 on Debian from source cloned from github with a little help from the authors ( the sourceforge version was buggy). It runs very well and meshes complicated shapes very effectively. The python interface is very useful and greatly enhances the flexibity of the package. I have been using it in conjunction with meshlab and found it is already a very practical tool, and already certainly the best free solid model cad software I've found till now for Linux.

    Posted 11/18/2012
Show next 25 reviews