FreeCAD Icon

beta

a parametric 3D CAD modeler

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
112
2
0
1
12
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • danielutzkie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've downloaded and installed FreeCad on a Windows 8 Platform but I am unable to open the program to start using it. Can you please help

    Posted 04/23/2014
  • mattbatten
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using it for a few weeks now. It started out promising and I was able to make some good models for 3D printing. Then I hit a wall trying to do boolean operations. Apparently the OpenCasCade library that FreeCAD uses for booleans is not too robust. The end result is that I can't get the results I want which ultimately makes this a dead end for me. I'll keep using it for basic work, but I would never promote this to my peers/colleagues as a tool that gets real work done. I'll change my review when I can get consistent/quality results from boolean ops.

    Posted 01/02/2014
  • notaduck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    600 5 star ratings <-- haven't used a professional parametric 3D cad program. 150 1 star ratings <-- have used a professional parametric 3D cad program. A shovel is a godsend if you were digging with your bare hands. It kind of sucks if you had an excavator. FreeCAD is nowhere near professional 3D cad software such as Solidworks or Autodesk Inventor, which cost thousands of dollars/euros. Features are sparse, ui is clumsy. But it's free. I tried to give this 2/5, but I honestly cannot. For I have used professional 3D cad software.

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • hans1960
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I discontinued Autocad and tried Freecad do continue drawing my house in 3D. I tried to move objects and extrude planes, and create walls... nothing was possible?? When I click a plane I can not extrude it.. the extrude button stays grayed out??? I have tried all kind of options for 20 minutes. Nothing works. Maybe this program actually is capable of doing anything, but the user interface makes it impossible to use. I am happy to teach the programmers how to make it user friendly. Terrible software. I can not use it.

    Posted 07/09/2013
  • ltking
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Promising. But at this point on my Mac only promising. As the old adage said: "If it sounds too good to be true, that in fact is probably the case!" Best of Luck.

    Posted 06/20/2013
  • damianccs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Es un buen software 3D CAD pero no incluye una función de manejo de derechos de autor para todo el proyecto ni para la exportación hacia otros formatos. It's a good 3D CAD software but have not a rights management extension for the project or unless for the STEP file export. Please include a function for rights management.

    Posted 04/11/2013
  • cavehobbit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incredibly frustrating bit of software. Extremely unstable. 100% reproducible crash with the loft tool. Unintuitive interface. Trying to simply rotate a sketched part 90deg along an axis almost never gives expected results. I did it once by accident. Simple functionality is hidden or poorly labelled. Mouse control for zooming and panning is horribly unintuitive and doesn't work anything like any other 3D modelling or CAD package.

    Posted 03/18/2013
  • oid-4070733
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was really excited about this program. It looks to be a great start on full featured CAD. All of my work must be done in Imperial units, however. I have no choice. I can not use metric. Please add imperial units to your program. All the functionality in the world is useless to me because you only work in metric.

    Posted 12/04/2012
  • jenhol
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Crashed constantly when going into quick preview mode. Online workaround to disable quick preview did not work.

    Posted 10/19/2012
  • oid-3849622
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you work in standard units (not metric) DO NOT bother downloading this program. The idiots that built this software didnt take into account that the number one country in the world works in standard units

    Posted 05/17/2012
  • krahazikdragon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found the program to be useless for creating anything new. Well I did manage to create a box but all I could do was pan around the lovely gray box. I could not find any tools which which to do anything else. Was this intended as just a viewer or what? Can some one teach me? Otherwise I'll stick to Amapi3D v6.

    Posted 09/26/2011
  • dkmerriman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    many configuration issues on Redhat 11 with KDE4. ONLY available for build from sources; no rpm or deb

    Posted 12/21/2009