Folder Size for Windows Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
44
2
2
1
5
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Should be in-built in windows! Thanks for providing it as an open-source. The print screen on source forge isn't the correct one for Windows 7 (the one on the website is the correct one) ; the folder sizes appear in a different window.

    Posted 01/08/2016
  • fonebone1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool to provide a function that has always been missing from Windows: to show the size of folders. Does what it's supposed to do. Was working seamlessly in Win 7 - 64 bit and still works in Win 10, but I can't seem to quit out of it from the tray icon anymore like I could in Win 7. I have to stop it from the Task Manager. No big deal, but would be nice if any future update would address it.

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    working with windows 7 64. Thanks for your work!

    Posted 11/21/2015
  • etherknight
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Always one of the first programs I install when working on a Windows XP machine. Completely invaluable.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • tassadar930
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There's basically two versions of the program here: One for pre-Vista (NT, 2000, XP), and one for Vista and after. Pre-Vista it's integrated into Explorer; the necessary APIs to do that were removed in Vista, and were never reintroduced as far as I'm aware, and therefore you get the (kinda) clunky extra box attached to explorer windows to show folder sizes Vista-onwards. The pre-Vista version is flawless and is all you could ever want. Vista+ is fine and does its job, and even though it's less than desirable, the program is still all around done very well, and you have to keep in mind that this was all the developer was able to do with the APIs he was given. You may not keep it around for day to day use, but that's why you can turn it on/off with a click at the icon in the taskbar. It has its uses. When you need it, it's there. Otherwise, turn it off if it gets in the way. Makes no sense to complain about a) a free thing and b) something that you can turn off

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • kja328
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked Great on XP, win7 not so much. put it back as a column please

    Posted 10/21/2014
  • thecommoner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Seperate Window showing the folder size for Vista and later. Need XP for extra column. But still, pretty useful. Sadly I didn't find a way to customise the value the size is shown in. Apparently only in KB. Easy to read, thanks to commas, still a little annoying.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • fredphoesh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does NOT add a column, but has a separate pop out window with a duplicate list of folders with sizes. BUT you cannot delete, move, copy, rename, or do ANYTHING... so it is helpful to a degree, but would be a LOT better if it was just a column added.

    Posted 09/27/2014
  • wharfrat73
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I found this program to be clumsy. I felt that it was in the way of other Windows. It seemed to clutter up the screen. Given the option of using this program and not being able to see the floder size, I chose the latter.

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • faymenda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Interesting tool!! Other than this, One of the interesting tools that I found recently is DuplicateFilesDeleter.It is tool that can be used to find & remove duplicate files.It is a simple to use,but very effective tool to locate duplicate files in one or more selected search paths.It scans the files and compares them based on Byte for Byte Comparison, which ensures 100% accuracy. You can then choose to delete the selected duplicate or original files. The program is multi-threaded which enhances the performance immensely & performs scans very quickly.You should try it.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • tonylove
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic lightweight extension (uses 3 MB memory) that really helps with my file organization and speeds up my flow. Thanks! Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

    Posted 12/15/2013
  • johnspac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Can't believe Windows didn't have this from the beginning. Thank you and congratulations to the developer!

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • aveeshkumar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is a great app - better than the freeware foldersize (same name). It works in ALL versions of windows. Some who couldnt get it to work could try (like I did): 1. After install nothing happens (unless you ar ein Windows Explorer). 2 - Add a shortcut to c:\windows\program files (x 86)\folder size\ exe to "start" it 3. go to windows explorer 4. You might have to restart In Win7, right clicing to add column does not appear - instead I installed the 64 bit version and folowed the above.... Many of us come here looking to find free stuff and not give proper credit where it is due - thanks to the developer (Brio) who made this....

    Posted 03/01/2013
  • pravinbv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not working at all on my Windows 7 Laptop. Even when I enable the option from notification icon. Nothing happens.

    Posted 02/21/2013
  • ianrichardson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • allancass
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice tool, bad that it does not work after windows XP. For Windows 7 and Windows 8 I recommend you this Folder Size by MindGems.

    Posted 02/07/2013
  • kalebhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • lukashamilton
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thank you foldersize

    Posted 12/15/2012
  • jonahhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 11/13/2012
  • btcstore24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    input this URL: ( h t t p : / / w w w . b 2 c s t o r e . u s / ) you can find many cheap and high stuff Believe you will love it. WE ACCEPT CREDIT CARD /WESTERN UNION PAYMENT YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • xadwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. thanks to the developers of this app.

    Posted 10/29/2012
  • bmatthew1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple and useful

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • mcofd8a
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    famalegoods.com !free shipping! j0rdan sh0es........ 28 dollar c0ach p-u-r-s-e...... 25 dollar c00gi cl0thes........ 20 dollar U.G.G B00ts.......... 39 dollar Dear Friend: We can supply all kind jers ey with good quality and low price. contact me, let's talk details. Deliv ery time: 5-6days, Shipping Method: EMS Newest stock list: every 3-5days updated Warm Regards, Carolyn mineokmalls.com

    Posted 10/25/2012
  • jessfetis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Not all good things are free but this one is.

    Posted 10/24/2012
Show next 25 reviews