FlacSquisher Icon

A utility that converts a Flac library to MP3 or Ogg Vorbis format.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
14
0
1
0
1
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • iswisel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program chugged away at my Flac files for a day and a half without any trouble. The files were converted flawlessly. This program does what it says it can.

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • rizlaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @alancarre What the hell are you talking about? You obviously have no idea how code works. So before insulting this coders hard work with some crazy FUD, please find out how things work before accusing people of vandalism. -------------------------------------------------------------------------- End--------------------------------------------- FlacSquisher is a very simple but fast and effective media coder. It works flawlessly and fast. It also hasn't blown up my PC, killed my cat or started a nuclear meltdown. So alancarre can sleep safe at night. If your looking for swoosh graphics, voice prompts or aero effects, this is not for you. If you want solid, reliable, then this is for you. Nice work.

    Posted 06/02/2014
  • alancarre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It will be some time before I get to actually run this program. But before I do, I have to ask: Why do you need full system level access to my computer in order to install a file format conversion utility? That is, for a program whose job it is is to perform a purely mathematical calculation, why do you need to be able to access all of my system files and settings, have the right to install services, have the right to create new accounts, to block access from other accounts arbitrarily, to destroy system restore points, install viruses, install low level API hooks, schedule system level tasks and services to run a privilege level 0 and so on? If you're going to compute π then compute π. And that's all I'm prepared to allow permission for. Right now I'm doing a backup, I've created a system restore point, I'm creating snapshots of all system data, dumping registry hives and I'm doing all that to find out what exactly is going to be installed along with this calculator program. I suspect the answer is "nothing" in which case (for a minimal fee of course) I shall create for you a non-admin installer that people can use and not have to worry about handing over the keys to their system every time they want to install a program. - Alan

    Posted 05/24/2014
  • faheyd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just used this great software to convert 120GB of flac files into mp3's at 320kps. Flawless, easy, a few clicks and off we went. I've an 8 core cpu, so I was able to rip through the files fairly fast. A few hours and I was done. Thank you for making this software make my life a bit easier. And that's all us normal users can ask for.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • echoman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, easy, and simple! Makes me want to go and download lots of Flacs so I can Convert them; All of them.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • msadam03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absurdly simple, extremely convenient. Reduced a job that would've easily taken 8+ hours to one that took less than a minute.

    Posted 05/09/2014
  • sycobob
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic, minimal tool for converting a FLAC collection to MP3. Contacted the author about a limitation and it was removed in a matter of days.

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • gitman89
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is excellent tool. I was looking for smthing to convert flac to mp3 and before I went to sourceforge I installed 3 programs and non of them did what I want.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • rjhunter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I decided it was time to rip my CDs to disk and had copied over 300 to .flac and then realized that there weren't any large capacity 'mp3' players that play .flac files so I need to batch convert them to mp3. After trying another app which wasn't any use I tried FlacSquisher. Download and installation were quick and easy and it didn't try to install any junkware. I clicked on the source and destination directories, picked conversion type, and let it go. It kept the directory format and worked its way through the approx 5000 files with no problems. My only uncertainty was whether to convert at 320 kbps or to use the Lame algorithm at highest quality. I used the latter and am very happy with the results. (Using VLC media player and Sony MDR-1R headphones I don't honestly think I can tell the difference between the sound quality). It did exactly what I wanted it for so I haven't explored any other features.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • thelmadavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 06/05/2013
  • shikora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely handy tool, works great!

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • smiler03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This worked perfectly to convert 12 FLAC files to MP3s. I was able to select the maximum bitrate of 320Kbps and it did the job very quickly and perfectly. I had a tiny job to do in Windows Media Player of editting the name of each track. Excellent software.

    Posted 04/01/2013
  • dvenardos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Didn't realize until I looked at the code that it ignores files that already exist in the destination directory, this is perfect for my usage. You can just setup a source root folder and destination root folder and then re-run whenever you rip new CDs to flac. In regards to maiko's review, you can specify file extensions to ignore in case you have junk in you flac folders that shouldn't be there.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • nakamichi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ok I just tested it out with a not expected outcome, so here's my criticism: The UI for opening file.. well, it doesn't exist, one only tells the SW in which folder the file/-s resides, in my case I had a FLAC file and set up the SW to convert it to MP3, what happened is it started to convert other files such as MP4 and FLV (those file formats are not even in the description on this page of those formats this SW can convert), it went on and wanted to convert another MP3 to MP3, really...? Come on! * Please make it possible for the user to chose both files AND folder * Please don't let this program just mull on and convert EVERYTHING it finds in the source folder, let the user chose which format to convert from, and to what format. I appreciate the effort, but as it stands now it lacks a lot of basic control and I am not going to use it any more as of now, but will be happy consider it again when above things are fixed. Thanks anyway!

    Posted 08/08/2012
  • rob1979
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Excellent!

    Posted 06/26/2012
  • killer-orca
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great little program that does as advertised.

    Posted 03/02/2010