FlacSquisher Icon

A utility to convert a Flac library to MP3, Opus or Ogg Vorbis format.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
24
1
1
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • intellimoo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great. Just had to set the command line options to -q 0 -b 320, then was all set.

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • yuryph
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is awesome piece of software what do exactly what i want - convert flac to mp3. It fast, multi-threaded, open source, no ads. It definitely worth high score.

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • elocrian
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple, easy to use - easy to change bitrate. Exactly what I needed!

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • rdamus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    insanely simple to use. been waiting a long time for a utility like this. good job

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • uruksf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great application, good job, thanks!

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • drmalmstein
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Had to convert my flac files to mp3 for my car stereo, this is exactly what I was looking for. Smooth and easy to use, 5 stars! Good job, thanks.

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • foxpro2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great little tool. Thanks mate! App crashed first time when I tried to create files in a readonly folder... Some meaningful error message would be nicer but one can't always assume the dumbest user ;)

    Posted 11/06/2014
  • sandokanfirst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed and worked without a glitch. can't judge support as I didn't need it.

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • spudnik-01
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and Simple. Does exactly what it states and does it well. Thank you! <3

    Posted 08/25/2014
  • lancexna
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, simple, and fast. Thank you, and Seattle Rocks! How about adding bitrate and VBR adjustments into the UI? If you want help, I know C++ and I ave free time.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • iswisel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program chugged away at my Flac files for a day and a half without any trouble. The files were converted flawlessly. This program does what it says it can.

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • rizlaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    @alancarre What the hell are you talking about? You obviously have no idea how code works. So before insulting this coders hard work with some crazy FUD, please find out how things work before accusing people of vandalism. -------------------------------------------------------------------------- End--------------------------------------------- FlacSquisher is a very simple but fast and effective media coder. It works flawlessly and fast. It also hasn't blown up my PC, killed my cat or started a nuclear meltdown. So alancarre can sleep safe at night. If your looking for swoosh graphics, voice prompts or aero effects, this is not for you. If you want solid, reliable, then this is for you. Nice work.

    Posted 06/02/2014
  • faheyd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just used this great software to convert 120GB of flac files into mp3's at 320kps. Flawless, easy, a few clicks and off we went. I've an 8 core cpu, so I was able to rip through the files fairly fast. A few hours and I was done. Thank you for making this software make my life a bit easier. And that's all us normal users can ask for.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • echoman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent, easy, and simple! Makes me want to go and download lots of Flacs so I can Convert them; All of them.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • msadam03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Absurdly simple, extremely convenient. Reduced a job that would've easily taken 8+ hours to one that took less than a minute.

    Posted 05/09/2014
  • sycobob
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fantastic, minimal tool for converting a FLAC collection to MP3. Contacted the author about a limitation and it was removed in a matter of days.

    Posted 02/08/2014
  • gitman89
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is excellent tool. I was looking for smthing to convert flac to mp3 and before I went to sourceforge I installed 3 programs and non of them did what I want.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • rjhunter
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I decided it was time to rip my CDs to disk and had copied over 300 to .flac and then realized that there weren't any large capacity 'mp3' players that play .flac files so I need to batch convert them to mp3. After trying another app which wasn't any use I tried FlacSquisher. Download and installation were quick and easy and it didn't try to install any junkware. I clicked on the source and destination directories, picked conversion type, and let it go. It kept the directory format and worked its way through the approx 5000 files with no problems. My only uncertainty was whether to convert at 320 kbps or to use the Lame algorithm at highest quality. I used the latter and am very happy with the results. (Using VLC media player and Sony MDR-1R headphones I don't honestly think I can tell the difference between the sound quality). It did exactly what I wanted it for so I haven't explored any other features.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • thelmadavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for updates ;)

    Posted 06/05/2013
  • shikora
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Extremely handy tool, works great!

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • smiler03
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This worked perfectly to convert 12 FLAC files to MP3s. I was able to select the maximum bitrate of 320Kbps and it did the job very quickly and perfectly. I had a tiny job to do in Windows Media Player of editting the name of each track. Excellent software.

    Posted 04/01/2013
  • dvenardos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Didn't realize until I looked at the code that it ignores files that already exist in the destination directory, this is perfect for my usage. You can just setup a source root folder and destination root folder and then re-run whenever you rip new CDs to flac. In regards to maiko's review, you can specify file extensions to ignore in case you have junk in you flac folders that shouldn't be there.

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • rob1979
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project! Excellent!

    Posted 06/26/2012
  • killer-orca
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great little program that does as advertised.

    Posted 03/02/2010