FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
879
23
14
8
279
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • flittermouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WTF, sf? FileZilla is excellent software. Like nearly everyone that wasn't born yesterday, I skip/decline crapware offered during installation and go about my business. I don't fault developers. After all, folks like Tim Kosse invest countless and too often thankless (and likely un[der]paid) hours on the software they produce. If they get a return from the crapware makers, I'm delighted. But when installer wrappers foist crapware on users at the expense of actually doing their job (installing software), I get pissed. I had an infrequently-used older version of FileZilla on a Mac and wanted to update it to the latest available. I didn't trash the installed, dormant FileZilla application before running the sf installer. After skipping through the crapware screens, the installer downloaded FileZilla proper and supposedly installed it (it said installation succeeded). But it was nowhere to be found in Applications (the old FileZilla was gone, however). I thought maybe it failed because I hadn't first removed the old one, so ran the installer again and let it do its thing. Again it falsely claimed success. I gave up and headed over to MajorGeeks. Downloaded the FileZilla application (as a bz2 archive), expanded the application and copied to the Applications directory. The rating I'm leaving here indicates my degrees of pleasure with FileZilla and displeasure with the sf installer. So where you see 5 stars, that indicates perfection for FileZilla and perfection of stupidity for the sf installer.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • gregnk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, easy to use FTP client.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • mrmatherstone67
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the only FTP software I will use! Ignore the comments complaining that is is full of adware and such, it is NOT! The FileZilla installation file and the program are adware, malware and virus free. What the majority of other reviewers don't realise is to download FileZilla (or any other programs off this site) you have to use their "Download Manager" which is bundled with other rubbish to help pay for the service. This is NOT forced on you and you can easily click on the "Decline" buttons to stop it installing stuff. Once you've done this the Download Manager will then download the actual program you requested. Can people only review the program and not the actual installer that SourceForge force you to use in the future. It gives brilliant programs a bad name!

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • kpnqwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    could not live without it!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent for managing FTP transfert!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • sourceforger0x
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this to mass download files from the net! Gmail Cracker > www.PASSWORDCRACKER.me <

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • trisped
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you want to download it from SourceForge, make sure the URL ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the bundled adware. You can get this ad free version by going to filezilla-project.org, clicking on the Download link for the version you want (client or server), clicking "Show additional download options", and selecting the version you want. You can also browse the files in the SourceForge project, but make sure you have "Direct Download Link: On". If it is off then click it to toggle. Then click on the link for the file you want (checking that it ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the adware.

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • fabri56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a very good software for FTP function. It is absolutely reliable and clean. Only it is necessary to download it from a "safe website" and to download directly the software (about 6 Mbybyes) and NOT to download a 'downloader' which install filezilla but installa also many bad adware & C. In my website you will download pure filezilla setup: fabrizioviscardi.it/fabrizio_viscardi_utilita_windows_mac_linux_rete_filezilla.php?vers=3.9.0.5 (last version - virus checked). In this website, remember, in every case, to search the link "Direct download" and not the green button "Download" !!

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • mousetail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the new installer is annoying

    Posted 10/06/2014
  • d4v30h
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Provides everything I've ever needed from an FTP application.

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • bighits4u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is really very good Application and it's very easy to use and they even provide excellent support. bighits4u.com

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • davidpierson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be sure to use the "Direct Download" link which provides the full Filezilla installation files, and no adware. Avoid the "Download, installer enabled" link - which uses a download manager which gives two Adware options you need to "Decline" and are easy to miss if not paying a lot of attention.

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • uttampaudel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    my FTP server as well as client

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • dheda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent alternative for ftp I have been using this for years now

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • xylographe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent program! Just avoid downloading the SourceForge installer.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • venediktov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will still give FileZilla 5 starts because I love this project. Now the problem started with 3.9.* version where OSX version would not allow you to chose a file and second click on it to edit etc. it would just start downloading the file. Using 3.8.1 and waiting for a more stable 3.9.* version.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • gamerxdaniel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good app!

    Posted 08/24/2014
  • hfcs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Become one with your inner Loser. If you dumb enough to use installer, maybe you deserve adware? Maybe you should not be using Filezilla or the Internet? The web site clearly offers a zip package where you can bypass the crumby installer with its viruses and trojans that will destroy your internet browser. So learn to, in the words of the esteemed Dr. Vustahn-B'alpharzt, "utilizar du braine."

    Posted 08/17/2014
  • xuanbinhbk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a great app but occasionally errors when loading file

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • photomarketing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a 71 year old nerd, a user of technology, I've learned over many years TO NEVER AUTOMATICALLY ALLOW ANY SOFTWARE TO AUTOMATICALLY INSTALL ANYTHING. Thus, for those who claim they weren't notified about additional software being loaded/installed, you were and have been for some time. What you did was accept the default which is set to AUTOMATICALLY install everything. Don't do that. Plus, if you had your antivirus software set correctly, none of that software would have been installed. I give FileZilla 5 stars. And, if I fail to take my time doing the installation, then it is MY FAULT not Source Forges. I know better and everyone else should know better. If they don't, well, they deserve to get all that junk on their system. That's how my son makes his living by removing junk from computers because people, in general, could care less. It costs about 200 dollars to have the junk removed. Cash cow computer repairs. I made a nice living that way as well.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • doabarrelroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The below viewers who think it's filled with malware don't know what they're talking about; they're clicking Aceept Offer for the "malware programs". Filezilla is a great program; I use it every day!

    Posted 07/12/2014
Show next 25 reviews