FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
874
20
13
7
226
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • radmail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Contains isearch.omiga-plus.com Browser Hijacker

    Posted 12/19/2014
  • hagworm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't download! It includes a malware which sets all your browser homepages to isearch.omiga-plus.com I warned you...

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • sf-lars
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BEWARE. This download installs junk you cannot remove.

    Posted 12/04/2014
  • cdqe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT USE THE WINDOWS INSTALLER "3.9.0.6"—It will do its malware best to install unwanted 3rd party crapware. BE AWARE THAT You can no longer assume that SourceForge will act in your best interest. See "Tedds blog" on "Sourceforge malware" for one [horror] story. Also, Filezilla no longer finds/follows symbolic links to websites on Linux. Rather than going to the directory of the site given in the "Quickconnect" field, it dumps you into the directory of the login account. It can no longer find or reference virtual websites by name.

    Posted 12/03/2014
  • rmtron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT INSTALL FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32-setup.exe The installer FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32-setup.exe installs unwanted software "PC Optimizer Pro", recommend to build from source. Not sure if the installer leaves even more garbage on the PC during the installation. The FileZilla application on the other hand is great, the Windows setup.exe needs to be replaced by a clean installer.

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • eantz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I create sourceforge account just to write review here..lol.. Sorry, but I have to blame filezilla for causing trouble on my windows. I didn't notice bad reviews here because a couple months ago I downloaded it for another PC and the installation just ran very smooth. As many wrote, the last installer I downloaded contains malware. I noticed it when I'm asked if I want to install Hao123 app or not. I'm very surprised about that option because I experienced that the app caused trouble on my friend's windows. So I cancelled installation that time. After restarting my Windows, everytime I got connected to the internet, my Windows is freezing and no way to get it back to normal. It took me hours to resolve the problem. Finally I remove Firefox profile and force it to create the new one and re-install Chrome. So, I recommend to not download it for now. Because the installer contains malware that may take you to serious trouble. I'm not sure filezilla is forced by sourceforge to use that bad installer because I download another program installer from sourceforge and everything went well. So, I think I need to stay away from filezilla for a while until I read good review here.

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • sunfish116688
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla may be virus free but the installer is not. It hijacks the browser homepage and search provider. Also installs other crap software to enrich the scumbags who plant this shit in this otherwise great piece of utility. To clean up this shit, boot into Windows installation disk, go to repair and then command prompt. Delete the shit folder (mind was \program files\system settings).

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • wertzscott
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yes, this installer does carry malware EVEN IF YOU UNCHECK THE CHECKBOXES FOR ADDITIONAL SOFTWARE. That's exactly what I did, and I now have to figure out how to clean up "PC Optimizer Pro v3.2" that keeps popping up to tell me that I have thousands of problems with my computer. I have lost all respect for the maintainers of FIlezilla.

    Posted 11/26/2014
  • biztastic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I installed the server, but it has no password. I tried to connect to it but it says my credentials are incorrect. There is no interface for editing anything. "Filezilla server" icon at the bottom of the screen, when I open it up it only has "Connect to server" Settings and everything else are disabled. How do I connect with no password? This makes no sense.

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • virsus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T INSTALL REALLY BAD MALWARE!!!!!!!!!! SOURCE FORGE SHOULD BE ASHAMED!

    Posted 11/21/2014
  • doug8429
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is great, but this installer includes the trojan Mackeeper, DON'T INSTALL.

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • orforon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T USE! INSTALLER IS LOADED WITH MALWARE! DON'T USE!

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • mkalisz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skip the adware installer! A perfect example on how to turn functioning software to a piece of $$hit... It's time to look for alternatives folks...

    Posted 11/09/2014
  • bartificer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE WINDOWS VERSION FROM HERE - IT BUNDLES ADWARE. Get this lovely piece of software from the developers site, not from here!

    Posted 11/05/2014
  • xc8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bonus malware/adware into the installer!

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • jenkster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just downloaded an old version for Windows, 3.6.0.2, but still got a 773 kb malware installer. Good thing Symantec warned me as I didn't notice the endless warnings in the reviews. Adding ?nowrap to the end of the download link gave a proper 4.48 mb installer that is identical to one downloaded in Feb 2013.

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • ulvy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded this and it installed 3 other programs besides filezilla. It is misleading because I was purposely not trying to install any other software besides filezilla.

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • bjornarg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Installer will try to infect your computer with troublesome malware that can be a pain to get rid of!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • zainak75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The sw may be good, but the filezilla team sucks. When an app puts rubbish on your computer, the only rating the sw deserves are negative. Pop ups with fake critical messages are annoying and only tells me that the developers of this sw has no respect to others. If they wants money for this shit, ask for it rather than stealing my time. I was given the option to not install some browser-addon, cudos for that, such addons are nothing but waste of time and money, but there where no warnings that there would be other trojans installed regardless of your choice.

    Posted 10/27/2014
  • andyux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wasted hours removing PUP.optional with Filezilla install 10/20/14. Done with Sourceforge and filezilla.

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • beegee72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is all good. But this site now pushes crapware onto your computer, through an installer that conceals this in a very clever way. I used to have a clean computer and I used to trust Sourceforge.net as a download site. Not anymore. Shame on you guys!

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • marschmc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Watch out, do your research, google this: filezilla malware site:forum.filezilla-project.org The installer will infect you. Find the alternate zip download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • pstati
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed MacKeeper (barf) as malware and changed my search engines and home pages in my browsers to Yahoo.com from my defaults (barf). Absolutely unacceptable. Do NOT download or install this software until someone forks into a proper open source format free of adware. God only knows what other malware it likely installed I haven't discovered yet.

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • pclass323
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!! Your computer will be infected by malware/spyware/trojan/other unlawful piggy-backed program that can't be uninstalled. EVEN if you select "I DO NOT ACCEPT" crappy program. It installs it anyway. If you download make sure you have a system restore backup or image backup. Filezilla is knowingly pushing people to this install because they obviously get a financial kick back from these malicious programs.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • wille_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer is crap

    Posted 10/16/2014
Show next 25 reviews