FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
869
17
11
7
205
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • marschmc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Watch out, do your research, google this: filezilla malware site:forum.filezilla-project.org The installer will infect you. Find the alternate zip download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • pstati
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed MacKeeper (barf) as malware and changed my search engines and home pages in my browsers to Yahoo.com from my defaults (barf). Absolutely unacceptable. Do NOT download or install this software until someone forks into a proper open source format free of adware. God only knows what other malware it likely installed I haven't discovered yet.

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • pclass323
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!! Your computer will be infected by malware/spyware/trojan/other unlawful piggy-backed program that can't be uninstalled. EVEN if you select "I DO NOT ACCEPT" crappy program. It installs it anyway. If you download make sure you have a system restore backup or image backup. Filezilla is knowingly pushing people to this install because they obviously get a financial kick back from these malicious programs.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • wille_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer is crap

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • nsidhaye
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Today I downloaded FileZilla. It shows me agrrement for some 3rd party software. Obviously I decilined that and agree only for FileZilla. Still I surprized to see Optimizer PC Utilities installed on my laptop. This is purely bad play. If some one don't want install these free trials then there should be way. I will say this is CUT PRACTICE. Please stop this. I know you are participating in DEV SHARE Program. But End User Should have rights to decline and install only FileZilla. Setup program is not good not transparant.

    Posted 10/14/2014
  • ffzell69
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the software its great!!!! BUT what you get when you download it.. the extra spyware/hijacker..ect aint worth the trouble.. I hope I have remove it all out my system! even if u uncheck to install IT WILL install that an more!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • brusser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be careful this project is part of the DevShare program and bundled with crapware/malware/bloatware/spyware. Bad stuff. Use the direct link to download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • sietemonos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy mal que venga con software que se instale sin autorización. Siempre lo he usado, pero llegó la hora de buscarse otro.

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • alexlimbeck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FULL OF MALWARE !!!!!

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • beatngu13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great and easy-to-use FTP client. Unfortunately I have to rate this project with only one star due to its annoying and inappropriate installer, which is full of adware.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • bjblackmore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really disappointed that the developers have now decided to bundle a whole bunch of crapware in with the installer. McAfee Site Scanner? No thanks! Astromenda browser? No thanks! I'll be looking for another FTP application. I'm dropping FileZilla from now on! Such a shame!

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • antondelatour
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING ! ! ! FileZilla used to be a good, clean utility, not anymore! Is full of ADWARE / MALWARE which install itself along with the main program; regardless you want it or not. Only the worse can be expected from its developers / maintainers. What guarantee do we have they do not mess/steal/hack our precious FTP information ?? Not recommended. Avoid all costs

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • calabash
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, but it's really stupid to have a sourseforge intaller. I would recommend everyone to download zip file instead of exe file.

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • gisgeek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too much SPAMWARE/bloatware in the installer. I even used the advanced option and elected not to install the toolbar, but the installer installed a computer cleanup app behind the scenes without permission. Filezilla has lost a longtime user. I have switched to WinSCP.

    Posted 10/01/2014
  • vince989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, but has had malware bundled since around 2013-07 , use either the real installer (around 4-5mb, not ~800kb) or ZIP file if you really want want to use it!

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • cacodaemon666
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What used to be a great product is now ruined by installing malware and crap on your PC after installing FileZilla. All of my browsers were hijacked and multiple applications were installed in addition to FileZilla. I won't be using you again.

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • z-not
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is scam! Do not download installer version because if you be not too attentive this piece of garbage installs malware on to your PC. Go to the link "Browse All Files" under green button and take there version which you want.

    Posted 09/25/2014
  • pjdemers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hijacks your PC and fills it with crapware.

    Posted 09/21/2014
  • jlewis345
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do NOT download this software - Filezilla install included Astromenda browser hijacker. I missed unchecking the auto install. Does NOT uninstall completely from Windows uninstall - had to manually uninstall from safe mode windows with regedit for IE and extended manual uninstall steps in FireFox

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • sloane911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The maker of Filezilla refuses to stop his official Filezilla website from linking to file hosts which bundle in pernicious, damaging and virtually impossible to remove browser hijacking malware such as "driver restorer", "reimage repair" and "astromenda" etc. Adware is awful but a software engineer who permits malware infections should be banned. I can never recommend Filezilla, the real cost in lost time and hassle is too great.

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • carol56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla has been very good program until version 3.9.0.5 came about. In installing FileZilla after downloading the program from the SourceForge.net website, the installation hijacked all the web browsers I have installed on my computer: My Home page and Search Engine got change. When I sent an email to the FileZilla author, the response I got was that nothing more than FileZilla is installed without asking permission. That is NOT TRUE! I got a game program installed and the above two items were changed without asking. Given this experience, I will Not be installing any additional updates to FileZilla -- I don't want to go thru having to undo the hijacking that was done! This is too bad because FileZilla had been an excellent program BEFORE this hijacking! It's also too bad that the support folks of SourceForge.net don't warn people about this.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • jptavan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Filezilla installer tries to deceive you install questionable software (adware or malware?). I no longer have confidence in Filezilla or in Sourceforge now.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • asdrury
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The creeps highjacked my computer.

    Posted 09/13/2014
  • illishar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla, now with non-optional adware from Ask.com. (Hopefully it's a HiJack).

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • afarouk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Optimizer Pro creepware now part of SourceForge installations? Is SourceForge desparate or did the folks at 'Optimizer Pro', make big fools of SourceForge. I suspect the latter.

    Posted 09/11/2014
Show next 25 reviews