FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • mateos81
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For those mindlessly complaining about "malware(s)": Just avoid SourceForge downloads, it's a known fact now.

    Posted 11/18/2015
  • manuauto
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good!

    Posted 11/10/2015
  • heightstech
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works fine. You can Decline the install of 3rd party programs during install, so no reason to not use this.

    Posted 11/08/2015
  • elenarews
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great tool

    Posted 10/29/2015
  • empowerbpo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great Product. I love it. also my product compatible with Fire fox. Jason.

    Posted 10/19/2015
  • warrensyndicate
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is the only FTP client software I use. I have used it to upload custom sites and stock wordpress themes. It never causes me any problems at work or at home and i can't imagine using anything else. It works fast, is always updated and has great file explorer system.

    Posted 10/16/2015
  • geometridae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fillezilla contains no viruses or malware. These are only some of the downloaders from sourceforge mirror servers that contain viruses and malware. To bypass these downloader: ==> Direct Download Link: On If the download file is FileZilla_3.14.0_win32-setup.exe ou FileZilla_3.14.0_win64-setup.exe with red FZ icon of FileZilla, this is a good file obtained with the direct link and is clean. By against, if you download a file named FileZilla_3.exe with SF icon, it is a downloader and it may be infected

    Posted 10/03/2015
  • sf-malware
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The green 'Download' links on Sourceforge are generally 'installer' or 'download manager' programs that contain malware. FileZilla is a good program that uses an installer that is free of malware. I am not associated with the developer of FileZilla (Tim Kosse) but I am compelled to lay the credit for malware payloads squarely on sourceforge. They are making money from these slugs that provide the 'download managers'. This is a bad business model that others have tried to incorporate and failed, as they should. Sourceforge, please mark these 'download managers' clearly with a description of what they are. Please do not allow them to hide behind your name. It is a bad choice to continue this practice.

    Posted 10/02/2015
  • toddharmon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is one of the best designed FTP clients I've ever used (and I've used them all). I also know many people who use it on a daily basis that say the same thing. Keep up the good work!

    Posted 09/14/2015
  • hobbyboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is certainly one of the best FTP/SFTP clients around, and the best thing about it - it's free and open source. I have had no problems downloading/uploading files over plain FTP, or over SFTP, both to local and remote locations, and it certainly beats traditional command line FTP clients for downloading directories (except lftp with its mirror command). To those who complain about malware being bundled with FileZilla, I can ensure you that the real FileZilla installer and FileZilla itself do NOT contain any malware or crapware. When downloading make sure you either press the "Direct Download" button under the Download button on the main project page, or press the "Direct Download Link: Off" button in the Files section so you get the real installer and not the Installer Enabled version (after clicking, it should say "Direct Download Link: On". Certainly recommended for file transfer on Windows, and Linux if you own a VPS or dedicated server!

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • patacongo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favorite FTP client by far.

    Posted 06/19/2015
  • laage65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totalmente contaminado de malware. Goggle Chrome ya no permite llegar a la pagina de este proyecto. Por eso sigo usando una version vieja del mismo. No he podido actualizarlo. Aunque la version vieja sigue siendo de utilidad para mi. Fully contaminated malware. Goggle Chrome no longer leads to the page of this project. So I'm using an old version of it. I could not update it. Although the old version is still useful to me.

    Posted 06/12/2015
  • littlebigbug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is f**king sexy. Okay lets really get into this. Filezilla is very simple, free and easy to use. I haven't had a single annoyance with this You sexy program, you. <3 As a Garry'sMod server Owner, Website Designer and a former Minecraft Server owner This has been nothing but great.

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server is an extremely flexible, stable file server for use on a LAN, over the Internet, or both, with the same or different user accounts. It can be installed as an invisible daemon, and managed with a separate Windows-native GUI from any computer. Management can be easily restricted with an access list, it happenns via a separate port 14147, which can be changed and secured with a firewall. Server works over NAT without a helper in the router, if you configure a port range for it. You should assign about 500-1000 ports because of how TCP sockets are recycled, and make sure they don't overlap with other services. This is the only serious shortcoming of FTP. /./ FileZilla runs on all versions of Microsoft Windows, and allows to easily connect any machines such as Win98 to WinSeven together without doing time consuming research on Windows security permissions. All it needs is a working TCP/IP. I use it on my LAN all the time. The program can max out Fast Ethernet and Gigabit connections with default settings, delivering 11 and 110 MB/s troughput respectively, which Windows Network Neighborhood /SMB/CIFS can't do. Because of that, FileZilla is a convenient, practical speed test. Most FTP clients output verbose error messages or show a log, which makes troubleshooting connectivity problems easy. /./ I use version 0.9.23 on most computers, and 0.9.12c on retro win9x systems. The author, is rather dismissive of old technology and has removed support for old systems. Nevertheless, these versions continue to work and are very stable. /./ The negative reviews here are not about the program itself, but about the sourceforge web-installer. Those should be avoided by default.

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • mikotoiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge, this is ridiculous! You wrap legitimate software in your malware laced installer! This software can be downloaded without the installer though. Either hit the tiny direct download box below the big green button, or go to Browse All Files -> FileZilla_Client -> x.xx.x -> then click the Direct Download Link, and turn it to On. Then select your file, and away you go. Filezilla gets the 5 Star review, Sourceforge get a 0 star for wrapping legitimate software with its malware installer!

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • rudyrockstar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable consistent performance across platforms (Linux, Windows, MacOS). SFTP and site management integrated nicely. Be careful with Window installs! Read before you click.

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • slowpace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be very extremely careful when you download from Sourceforge. The 'Download Filezilla' seems to have a man in the middle attack. It looks exactly as a legitimately download, but when I check the MD5 of the file is not the same. I had to go to the Filezilla download page and select 'others' to properly download the file. I had to do it at least three times until I figured out how to download the correct file. Always check the MD5 against the site. Do not trust the download icon. If it does not download immediately don't trust it. You may be getting a trojan horse instead. In Windows you can find out the MD5 with fciv utility.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • mrkaban
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupid morons who yell about malware, what place you think? You fucking do not distinguish advertising from Google button download programs? Yes, via Google advertising spread malware. I swear, like children, like adults, have been able to create here, but that's where the stick and do not know. The program is excellent, the best FTP client in the world! the most reliable! Updated regularly!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • nikkiblare
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful project

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • whatdafick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla was, and will continue to be an excellent ftp client. WITH A WARNING.. DON'T DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL THE "INSTALLER ENABLED" Version. Download from the Direct Download link only. The Installer Enabled version is packed with malware that required several scans to get rid of. MalwareBytes identified them as Binkiland and FactFire, but tomorrow it could be different malware......... It is easy to identify the Installer Enabled Version. It is the big Green button (should be Red with a CAUTION attached) and it's a small file, under 1kb......... The "Direct Download" link is immediately below the green button and when it starts, you will see it is about 6mb. INSTALL THIS "DIRECT DOWNLOAD" only. It is 100% safe, however if you still have concerns, have VirusTotal scan it for you......... I'm giving it 5 stars because the core program continues to be excellent. Just heed these warnings and exercise caution when selecting your download and install.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • wilderland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent piece of software

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • flittermouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WTF, sf? FileZilla is excellent software. Like nearly everyone that wasn't born yesterday, I skip/decline crapware offered during installation and go about my business. I don't fault developers. After all, folks like Tim Kosse invest countless and too often thankless (and likely un[der]paid) hours on the software they produce. If they get a return from the crapware makers, I'm delighted. But when installer wrappers foist crapware on users at the expense of actually doing their job (installing software), I get pissed. I had an infrequently-used older version of FileZilla on a Mac and wanted to update it to the latest available. I didn't trash the installed, dormant FileZilla application before running the sf installer. After skipping through the crapware screens, the installer downloaded FileZilla proper and supposedly installed it (it said installation succeeded). But it was nowhere to be found in Applications (the old FileZilla was gone, however). I thought maybe it failed because I hadn't first removed the old one, so ran the installer again and let it do its thing. Again it falsely claimed success. I gave up and headed over to MajorGeeks. Downloaded the FileZilla application (as a bz2 archive), expanded the application and copied to the Applications directory. The rating I'm leaving here indicates my degrees of pleasure with FileZilla and displeasure with the sf installer. So where you see 5 stars, that indicates perfection for FileZilla and perfection of stupidity for the sf installer.

    Posted 02/19/2015
Show next 25 reviews