FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
866
17
10
6
188
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sunnithan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For those who have had issues with downloading the Filezilla Fileserver without the download manager (adware). I just noticed that if you traverse to the files, you can find a link "Direct Download Link : Off" just click the link and it will change to "Direct Download Link: On" and on subsequently selecting the .exe you wish to download you should be able to get the file without the download manager. Unfortunately, even though the product is good due to such issues people may not be able to get to the download directly and quit.

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • mherzog100
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware Warning! I love the program but the Malware is unacceptable. 5 Stars for program. 1 star for Malware = 3 Stars.

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • mihondo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The server installer comes with crapware - Symantec detects Trojan.Gen.SMH in a file called rocketsilent.exe

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • podxyz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this software for a few years with no issues. But trying to download it today my anti virus checker stopped it. 3 stars because I am not sure of the cause.

    Posted 06/26/2014
  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Careful sourceforge is trying to push adware on people by using a downloader.

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • unstable_geek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Calm down everyone. Avoid the malware by downloading the latest zip from the file area. You don't get the installer, and you have to unzip and create shortcuts yourself. Big deal. The internet is full of monitizing schemes like this. Get over it and move on. FileZilla is still awesome software.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • mikozaur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program is ok, but the default installer is full of adware junk. You have to be careful during installation. Application - 5 stars, installer - 1 star which gives us the average of 3 stars.

    Posted 01/14/2014
  • moonday
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is a way to install the program without the ads and extra stuff now included in the default downloadable installer. || First, download the normal adware'd program offered, and then open it. BEFORE clicking the green "NEXT" button, run Wireshark and add a view filter of http.request.method == "GET" and start capturing. || Once that's running, go back to the installer and click the green "NEXT" button ONCE. Do **not** press the Accept or Decline buttons; just click on the red "X" at the top right of the window and exit the installer. || Stop the capture in Wireshark, and you'll see the direct link for the Filezilla Server exe file in the details of the relevant packet. || In my case, the installer goes to softlayer-dal.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla%20Server/0.9.42/FileZilla_Server-0_9_42.exe || Happy downloading...

    Posted 12/27/2013
  • iannash85
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This wasn't as helpful as I had hoped

    Posted 12/03/2013
  • gravagno
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'm as disappointed in the poor installer as everyone else. But you guys gotta remember that this is open source. So um... on my way to get the Source to build my own version I noticed that the software executables are already hosted without the installer, and it's 100% functional and only takes a minute to load. Go to the project Files tab, then to the Client, v3.7.3 (or latest). Now notice that there are two primary files for Windows: a zip that has everything you want, which only 10,000 people downloaded this week, and a Setup utility that 400,000 people downloaded this week and then complained about the installer. So ... get the zip, unpack it on your PC, and drill down to the executables. It's all there. Don't want to lose your existing configs? Before you do anything, open your current version and go to File>Export, and save your SiteManager and Settings somewhere. Now when you open the new version, go to File>Import and pull the data in. That's all ya need to do. Uninstall your current release, FileZilla doesn't even need to be installed. It runs from wherever it's located. Drag a shortcut to your desktop and you won't need to open that temp directory anymore. C'mon folks, how tough is that? Now, about the slimeware install. Yeah, complete agreement. It sucks. They should get rid of it. Until that happens. Remember important two words about this entire website: OPEN SOURCE!

    Posted 11/29/2013