FileZilla Icon

The free FTP solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
843
11
6
4
113
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • caebrasil
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    F***ing Baidu installed!!!!

    Posted 04/22/2014
  • nastypapercut
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Completely full of deceptive crapware, spyware, and adware.

    Posted 04/22/2014
  • jcesarsh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No se puede instalar sin instalar toda la mierda nueva y spyware que han puesto, una lastima que despues de tantos años se lo hayan cargado

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • widgetpls
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'll still personally use this, but I've never seen an installer so dishonest on what you were installing. Completely spyware- and malware-filled now

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • dice4000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very disappointed in sourceforge for allowing software to contain malware. Searchdial, pc optimizer? Really? Not cool.... gonna start using another site. Bad sourceforge....

    Posted 04/17/2014
  • jamy8050
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just registered to leave a review on this. FileZilla is great, but this installer is a serious fail for it. DO NOT INSTALL THIS SOFTWARE - unless you know what you are doing it will install SPYWARE/VIRUSES. sourceforge has become a SELLOUT, trying to make money from virus installers. AVOID!! I am disgusted, we will now find something else and would never ever use sourceforge or suggest it to anyone.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • primerseq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer installs a bunch of junk on your computer. The unwanted additional software is selected by default and intentionally made so people won't notice the checked boxes. I have recommended filezilla in the past, but honestly now I will actively suggest people to use other FTP options. As for sourceforge in general, this bad experience will likely mean I will never host a project on sourceforge again and move all my projects to github.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • rocjoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer loaded crapware onto my computer, some "system scanner" rubbish, with no option to avoid it. To top it off, drag-and-drop uploading doesn't work. Filezilla, you used to make a really awesome product, but now... eeeech!

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • grannygamer1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I need FileZilla to open files & folders for my MineCraft server that are online. But I encountered a potential virus threat in the process. Here's what I did. youtu.be/PooWgmVgJAM

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • harlekein
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SF is now peddling malware.

    Posted 04/12/2014
  • mott88
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla used to be a good product, but now it's full of malware. You should you use some other FTP software.

    Posted 04/11/2014
  • ptim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Betrayed.You fed me Optimizer Pro on the sly. Filezilla: get yourself a github account. Can't believe I said to my client "Sourceforge is an institution, I'd trust that over your free virus scanner". BTW: Cyberduck is free, and also handles S3, available for Mac and Windows.

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • user43234823402
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SF, you have betrayed my trust. I used to love FileZilla, and I have been using it for many years now, but now it --- or the SF download manager --- is full of MALWARE. I tried to download the latest version directly from SF and it forced me to install the SourceForge "download manager", which I begrudgingly and hesitantly did. After I installed FileZilla, I now have this lovely thing called FAST CLEAN PRO on my PC. An yes, I declined all of the optional installers. Again, I'm not sure where the issue lies, in the download manager, or in the FileZilla installer, but I can no longer trust either.

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • skinale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer try to install adware; antivirus like Bit Defender, AVG, ESET-NOD32, F-Secure ecc reports malware, trojans ecc UNACCEPTABLE

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • bearmatt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed junkware - really !!

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • throwawayaccoun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to use Filezilla. But no more. Not since I went to install it from SourceForge and even after unticking the option to add malware toolbar (searchdial) it still attempted to load some kind of garbage on my PC.(C:\Users\<Removed>\AppData\Local\Temp\IS1751~1\215913511_stp\OptimizerPro.exe a variant of Win32/SpeedingUpMyPC.H application cleaned by deleting - quarantined)

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • superhuman3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I also had a problem with this infected archive. But fortunately AVG informed me immediately after download that it contains spyware. I deleted it. Maybe I can find FileZilla on a more responsible site, which I was surprised that Sourceforge isn't.

    Posted 04/01/2014
  • samshiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am new to website developing. Web host suggested using FileZilla for FTP. Downloaded from Sourceforge and had instant "mysearchdial" malware infection. Didn't believe and realize that it was bundled and dl'ed from SourceForge. 1 week later (today) setting up new computer with windows 8.1. Brand new. Decide to install FileZilla, again from Sourceforge. Infected my new computer. Check FileZilla's .org page. They mention Avast blog noticing this and aren't appreciative. I don't just trust anything from SourceForge now, like I have before. This is some f'ed up sh--! Oh yeah, scanning now with Avast and FileZilla came up as infected with malware, it wasn't just the Mysearchdial. Download FileZilla at your own risk!

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • mshmovie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BEWARE: FileZilla 3.7.3 (which I downloaded on March 10th, 2014) came bundled with MySearchDial malware. This was not detected by Windows Defender on Windows 8 and was a pain to eliminate. It also disabled the standard system backups. It's a shame such a nice FTP tool got a nasty surprise bundled in it. I'm forced to rate this one star where it would have easily earned five. Can someone elaborate on how the installer became compromised and what will be done to prevent that from happening in the future? Has anyone experienced this issue when accepting an upgrade:?

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • hernewyldwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full of Malware, thanks for providing the option to not install the crud that comes with it, but it still tries to install anyway. A shame really, Filezilla used to be brilliant.

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • undervan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just terrible. The FZ (when opened) asked me to install an updated version. I agreed. It downloaded and installed automatically. Reboot the PC. I tried to open the FZ again. The PC, restarted again. I uninstalled everything and started to scan the entire PC with two antivirus at the same time. The program is great, but with this kind of thing, users began to think that is not the best choice. I repeat: FZ automatically downloaded the infected file (it was not by propaganda or something).

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • trancemaniac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unable to install ONLY the FileZilla cause of the PUP/Malware in the installer of SF. Noboby want the pc optimizer and other shit!

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • nicifer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very annoying adware installer. look out!

    Posted 03/08/2014
  • seantobin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes sourceforge hijacked installer. Will install ads/browser hijacks. Even when cancelling installation, will add desktop links to the ad/browser hijack installer.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • giles314
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You no longer download Filezilla but an adware. We need someone elseof trust to rebuild the software elsewhere.

    Posted 03/04/2014
Show next 25 reviews