FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform (GPL- GNU) FTP client

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
856
15
9
5
146
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • nuncio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What's with the installer hijack? I thought I was downloading FileZilla, but the installer tried installing a bunch of other programs before asking me if I wanted to download FileZilla. Will it just download another installer full of adware and spyware? No thanks Do yourself a favor - download the ZIP file, not the EXE file.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • gox74
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How dare Sourceforge and Filezilla provide this malware infected installer ? This trap is realy dangerous ! Using open source reputation to betray users, what a shame...

    Posted 07/11/2014
  • christianbro1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Y yo que pensaba que Sourceforge era una de las pocas páginas que ofrecía programas sin mierda de instaladores, y desde luego que nunca caigo, pero como confiaba en esta página hice una común instalación rápida, y ponéis el spam en la peor parte, en los términos y condiciones, y al final son términos de mierda de scam. Desde luego más bajo no podéis haber caído, nivel Softonic, esa mierda que alguien con un mínimo de conocimiento no utiliza. Y para el colmo, NO SE PUEDE QUITAR. El antivirus(Avast) y su sistema de eliminar complementos no funciona. He mirado todas las opciones de los navegadores, he eliminado los programas que me se han instalado. He intentado restaurar el sistema 2 veces, ambas no funcionaba o pantallazo azul, y tengo una instalación nueva de Windows de un par de días y ya me la habéis jodido. Voy a tener que reinstalar Windows solo por vuestra gran mierda de instalador.

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • wilber27
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe SourceForge is allowing this type of infested app to be housed. Stick with the old versions; the new ones are full of crap and will mess you up; READ THE REVIEWS if you don't believe me.

    Posted 07/09/2014
  • gemmamac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There was a warning about other offerings with the download but I didn't see any choices and didn't click any other download. Now I see .trellix in my htdocs only in the Filezilla window. I don't see it when I login to my site directly. What the heck is it and how did it get there? Such a sad thing for a once respected and much recommended utility.

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • muroko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware! Adware inside.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • wbjb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant software, but now they've started packing it with rubbish like Speedial I can no longer recommend it - use an old version instead.

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • gvbsource
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, If and only if they decide to remove Adware from installer!! Really dangerous!!

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • juzaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Shipped with shit. And as long it is so, I hope this software dies. What a shame. Bad reputation to Filezilla and SF.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • qbe007
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Zero stars. Stay away from this garbage: the horrible installer will infect you with undesired and undesirable malware, whether you choose it or not. I carefully followed the instructions for NOT allowing the installer to install its crapware. Even before the installer finished downloading FileZilla, the crapware (Speedial) was requesting permission to hijack my browser's search. I immediately canceled the download/installation and deleted the FileZilla installer...and found that the installer had hijacked all my browsers with Speedial anyway. Absolutely unacceptable. Ironically, while the software was downloading I was thinking that it'd be nice to be able to contribute to developers and avoid their "need" to infect users with adware. Now I fully intend to warn as many as possible away from FileZilla. I'll happily stick with WinSCP.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • wm009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware infested crap. It's true the software is good. But the owner doesn't care about the people that download it. It's true that you can technically opt out of it, but they have the installation set up in such a deceptive way. And the sad part is that the owner has the audacity to say that you can decline it (assuming you can get past the trickery) that suddenly this changes the fact that you think it's okay to bundle your software with adware. The site does have a link adwareless download. But it doesn't say that. It has the "recommended" version that is bundled with other "software". For some reason it doesn't say "Adware" that you can't uninstall without some sort of malware tools or wiping your computer (which is what I have to do because I can't trust the computer anymore). I'd be more willing to pay for a pro version than see you infest your software with Adware. Not that I expect this review to change anything. The owner botg seems to be pretty content with doing moral gymnastics to justify infecting your computer with adware. Boycott it.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • toss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    we download an MALWARE !!!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • bss172017
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My web host sent me an email and told me to download this file because I need to make changes to my Wordpress site and make my wordpress files writeable. I have tried more than several times to down load the file and my virus protector keeps picking up a bug and asking me to allow, remove or cancel. I've just cancelled each time and deleted the file as I can't even "run" it. What do I do now? God this is so unbelievably frustrating!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • fanqi1234
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project has been compromised by ad ware.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • dont-download
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!! DONT DOWNLOAD THIS EXE FILE IT IS FULL OF MALWARE, INSTEAD USE THE ZIP FILE INSTEAD

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • mrscleannw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    YOU HAVE DESTROYED 2 MONTHS of MY LIFE. I HAVE 12 hacked sites, even in cpanel above public_html. SOME Jack-Hacker had full access and full cpanel passwords. WHY Didn't you EMAIL EVERYONE to tell them. Thanks for dropping the ball. Mistakes happen, but not getting the word out is gross negligence. #*&%^%^^$&#*

    Posted 06/13/2014
  • wontbeback
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Avoid! I'm a total newbie building my first website and downloaded FZ this morning only to find my PC's now got adware and other kinds of garbage installed. I've wasted the whole day trying to clean sparkly "you have won..." ads from my PC without success. Yes, it's 'discussed' in the forums that there's a "clean" download link, albeit overshadowed by a big green download button. And, frankly, the guy(s) defending this are sickening. Very very sneaky work and not what I thought open source was about. Totally pissed off at FZ & Sourceforge.

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • wondermess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I haven't downloaded this, and can't imagine that I ever would ... malware should not exist here, but it does. The creators of this software should be ashamed.

    Posted 06/03/2014
  • psycatic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Filezilla for years but it is now so full of Malware that I will never use it again. DO NOT INSTALL, unless you want rubbish like SpeedDial integrated into all of your browsers without any opportunity to say NO!

    Posted 06/03/2014
  • sleepy-stu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    **MALWARE** Beware this now comes bundled with malware. Do not install even if you click no it still installs silently behind the scenes. Avoid plenty of none malware FTP clients out there!

    Posted 06/02/2014
  • mafutrct
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware installer. I'll use WinSCP instead. Also, developers did not change default settings to not corrupt binary files despite MANY users complaining about it for years.

    Posted 05/31/2014
  • freddiesfather
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware! Malaware bundled with this installation and installs silently. I have had a very stable machine until I installed this, had to to remove speed dial, optimizer pro etc. My machine now crashes frequently and various services refuse to run. This has caused me a lot of wasted time and money. You would probably be safer installing a torrent download.

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • awijasa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There are malwares bundled with the installer. Use WinSCP instead

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • cybergange
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program itself would be good, but the installation process is a trap that will install you tons of crap. I will delete it immediately and will no more use.

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • tromzinck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: This software will install unwanted software on your computer

    Posted 05/14/2014
Show next 25 reviews