FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
866
17
10
6
188
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • pjdemers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hijacks your PC and fills it with crapware.

    Posted 09/21/2014
  • bighits4u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is really very good Application and it's very easy to use and they even provide excellent support. bighits4u.com

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • davidpierson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be sure to use the "Direct Download" link which provides the full Filezilla installation files, and no adware. Avoid the "Download, installer enabled" link - which uses a download manager which gives two Adware options you need to "Decline" and are easy to miss if not paying a lot of attention.

    Posted 09/17/2014
  • jlewis345
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do NOT download this software - Filezilla install included Astromenda browser hijacker. I missed unchecking the auto install. Does NOT uninstall completely from Windows uninstall - had to manually uninstall from safe mode windows with regedit for IE and extended manual uninstall steps in FireFox

    Posted 09/16/2014
  • sloane911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The maker of Filezilla refuses to stop his official Filezilla website from linking to file hosts which bundle in pernicious, damaging and virtually impossible to remove browser hijacking malware such as "driver restorer", "reimage repair" and "astromenda" etc. Adware is awful but a software engineer who permits malware infections should be banned. I can never recommend Filezilla, the real cost in lost time and hassle is too great.

    Posted 09/15/2014
  • carol56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla has been very good program until version 3.9.0.5 came about. In installing FileZilla after downloading the program from the SourceForge.net website, the installation hijacked all the web browsers I have installed on my computer: My Home page and Search Engine got change. When I sent an email to the FileZilla author, the response I got was that nothing more than FileZilla is installed without asking permission. That is NOT TRUE! I got a game program installed and the above two items were changed without asking. Given this experience, I will Not be installing any additional updates to FileZilla -- I don't want to go thru having to undo the hijacking that was done! This is too bad because FileZilla had been an excellent program BEFORE this hijacking! It's also too bad that the support folks of SourceForge.net don't warn people about this.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • jptavan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Filezilla installer tries to deceive you install questionable software (adware or malware?). I no longer have confidence in Filezilla or in Sourceforge now.

    Posted 09/14/2014
  • asdrury
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The creeps highjacked my computer.

    Posted 09/13/2014
  • illishar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla, now with non-optional adware from Ask.com. (Hopefully it's a HiJack).

    Posted 09/12/2014
  • uttampaudel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    my FTP server as well as client

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • afarouk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Optimizer Pro creepware now part of SourceForge installations? Is SourceForge desparate or did the folks at 'Optimizer Pro', make big fools of SourceForge. I suspect the latter.

    Posted 09/11/2014
  • dheda
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent alternative for ftp I have been using this for years now

    Posted 09/10/2014
  • gacheng
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using FileZilla for a while. It used to be safe and trustful. I have a new computer and download it today. I was force to use Sourceforge Download Manager to download and install FileZilla. and Now my computer was automatically installed with so many garbage: Astromenda was forced on as an extension in my Chrome browser. A window named something like Speedy PCPro Utility popped up. Unbelievable! I am not sure it is Sourceforge Download Manager or FileZilla

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • fleckingerre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used FileZilla since years and although the UI shows its age it is still a good software on itself. The included AdWare is a real problem though and until this is removed I can't recommend downloading it anymore.

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • groovylocks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Disgusted! I have been using this software for years. In fact, several lower-security companies i have worked for use this and historically considered it a reliable FTP client for their purposes. On my recommendation, my client installed FileZilla the other day and long story short, I just spent a lovely sojourn in safe mode cleaning out his registry and trying to explain MYSELF because a product I trusted suddenly became untrustworthy. He was riddled with that stalker Astromenda and it would seem filezilla was the wingman. It's time to find another reliable FTP client that I enjoy working with as much as I did this one. It's a real shame.

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • sunnithan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For those who have had issues with downloading the Filezilla Fileserver without the download manager (adware). I just noticed that if you traverse to the files, you can find a link "Direct Download Link : Off" just click the link and it will change to "Direct Download Link: On" and on subsequently selecting the .exe you wish to download you should be able to get the file without the download manager. Unfortunately, even though the product is good due to such issues people may not be able to get to the download directly and quit.

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • markxengels
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nasty peace of work both filezilla and source forge , under GNU licence and it has packaged adware u cant easily remove . Be very carefull download the zip file instead if you really must , i've un installed it straight away and im using an alternative ,Unforgivable nasty i can see R.Stallman having a fit ,the very thing he detests is being masked as GNU : ( i m off now this source is spiked

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • xylographe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent program! Just avoid downloading the SourceForge installer.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • gaizkag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVOID. It installs crapware. Although you can avoid Astromenda installing, it installs RegistryPro anyway. There are many more free FTP clients out there, Winscp, for example.

    Posted 09/06/2014
  • wilsonrx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVOID! There is loads of crap that gets installed with this which you have no option over. Unacceptable! Find another FTP client.

    Posted 09/05/2014
  • jimmyw288
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download. Software is bundled with Astromenda malware which will infect your machine and hijack your browser. Very disappointed with Filezilla.

    Posted 09/04/2014
  • dlitem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla and Sourceforge are trying to infect your machine with malware / adware. I recommend searching for alternative software.

    Posted 09/04/2014
  • qualkhek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    installer doesn't work for me "Product configuration is missing !"

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • venediktov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will still give FileZilla 5 starts because I love this project. Now the problem started with 3.9.* version where OSX version would not allow you to chose a file and second click on it to edit etc. it would just start downloading the file. Using 3.8.1 and waiting for a more stable 3.9.* version.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • razorwings18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using FileZilla for years, and it has always been an AWESOME FTP client. Unfortunately, now I see what used to be one of my most trusted sites, SourceForge, has decided to start feeding us a bloatware-ridden installer, and the application developers have to suffer for it. Shame on you, SourceForge!

    Posted 09/02/2014
Show next 25 reviews