FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
883
23
14
9
308
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • donomi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The scum running this program have infected the download with a Trojan that takes over your computer and steals your passwords. Beware!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • factsphere
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project was fine until a month ago, now it's infected. Please check filezilla forums for uninfected version. The 730 kB installer is infected. The 5.9 MB installer was ok.

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • hubmar00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer of the actual FileZilla installer (they use the same file name) installed the sweet-page package in all of my browsers. This is malware, thank you FileZilla people for tainting your great program to make an extra buck.

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • sylviawaterston
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    UPDATE: I just went to FileZilla-project.org to download, selected Show Additional Download Options, selected FileZilla_3.10.2_win32-setup.exe Show file details (recommended). I think it downloaded without malware. Seems stable at this point, and Binkiland is not listed in my programs on the Control Panel Software screen. I will Update again if Binkiland rears it's ugly head. I have used FileZilla for years and loved it. Recently downloaded update and WHAT A NIGHTMARE! "Binkiland" came bundled with the package, and virtually messed up my computer. Had to go to a prior date and restore the computer to get rid of it. Tried everything else first including - removing the file, telling Chrome to disable/delete extension, actually reset all Chrome settings, deleted all the other nasty little program files that came with it, Still there. Restoring to a prior date was the only way.. Very Disappointed!!

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • mlrhodes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I came here to download this software, but after reading all the bad reviews and not one word from Sourceforge, no way jose.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • simplegifts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recent download came bundled with malware "Binkiland"; really nasty browser hijacker, difficult to remove. I'm very disappointed that filezilla, once a bedrock of the open source community, would sink this low.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • garushka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be wary of bundled malware. I created an account on SourceForge just to write this review. Absolutely unethical software practice.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • sambaguley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This download contains malware and should be removed from sourceforge. Even if you uncheck the realplayer crapware you still get the malware. Filezilla used to be a decent FTP program but now the makers are happy to screw up their users machines to get some cash.

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • wilderland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent piece of software

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • franbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I reported the malware problem to SourceForge 2 weeks ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • krball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Holy cow. Completely unethical and deceptive installer. I will never use FileZilla again, and I am going to actively support and promote alternatives amongst my user-base. While included bloatware that can be opted out of may be a fuzzy area, this Optimizer Pro BS bait and switch crossed a clear line, because: (1) it is completely unclear that it is being installed, and (2) it is blatantly malware that uses classic malware tactics to prevent a clean uninstall.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • michalhantl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While I like FileZilla, I am really dissatisfied with them putting additional junk software on my mac.

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • johnkgill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loved Filezilla in the past. Never used the 'Custom Installer' however, so I'm not aware of any adware. Their latest update (3.10) caused me grief. Apparently they now default to Ftp over TLS. My web hoster does not support that or not properly, so the connection crashed. Had to revert to 3.9. The admins on the FIlezilla forum (which you cannot register for) say get the server fixed, but that's not in my control!.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • steve793
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't like the malware bundled with Filezilla, but I love the program for the odd file transfer. Does anyone have any recommendation for a clean file transfer application similar to filezilla? I know I can just use ftp/psftp but I prefer to have something with a graphical user interface.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • chris4877
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Because the installer downloads and installs malware, Chrome and Internet Explorer are blocking it. After successfully downloading it through Firefox, I inadvertently "agreed" to install some extra bundled software, and there is no "back" button to enable the user to go back and correct the error. This is the first time I have ever seen this kind of behaviour from a SourceForge-based installer, and I think it must stop. What I object to the most is the installer's devious, deceptive and irreversible way of obtaining the user's "agreement." I'm giving this 1 star, because of the installer's behaviour. If I were to rate the actual FileZilla program itself, I would give it 5 stars, as I have done in the past.

    Posted 02/21/2015
  • drphrozen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filled with spam, used to be good.

    Posted 02/20/2015
  • flittermouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WTF, sf? FileZilla is excellent software. Like nearly everyone that wasn't born yesterday, I skip/decline crapware offered during installation and go about my business. I don't fault developers. After all, folks like Tim Kosse invest countless and too often thankless (and likely un[der]paid) hours on the software they produce. If they get a return from the crapware makers, I'm delighted. But when installer wrappers foist crapware on users at the expense of actually doing their job (installing software), I get pissed. I had an infrequently-used older version of FileZilla on a Mac and wanted to update it to the latest available. I didn't trash the installed, dormant FileZilla application before running the sf installer. After skipping through the crapware screens, the installer downloaded FileZilla proper and supposedly installed it (it said installation succeeded). But it was nowhere to be found in Applications (the old FileZilla was gone, however). I thought maybe it failed because I hadn't first removed the old one, so ran the installer again and let it do its thing. Again it falsely claimed success. I gave up and headed over to MajorGeeks. Downloaded the FileZilla application (as a bz2 archive), expanded the application and copied to the Applications directory. The rating I'm leaving here indicates my degrees of pleasure with FileZilla and displeasure with the sf installer. So where you see 5 stars, that indicates perfection for FileZilla and perfection of stupidity for the sf installer.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • wernercdw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "Custom Installer" adds malware/virus'. Be warned. Steer clear of Sourceforge and Filezilla for supporting SF.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • hopfen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs malware. Should be removed from SourceForge.

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • thx4210
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD You'll get no support on forums as they'll say it's your fault for not unchecking the option to download the malware bundled with the installer.

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • stevenaright
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Downloader contains malicious software. You can report this page at this link: www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_badware/

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • boo-sourceforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The malware that came with this now evil ftp client forced me to reformat my computer. Thank goodness it was fairly new with only a few personal files. HOWEVER...I can't get back the 24 hours it took get my IP accepted by the server that blocked me AS SOON AS I tried to use this new version of Filezilla to upload my new site. I am one that does donate to good software...and I don't mind paying up front (with a guarantee) either. I DO mind the deceptive tactics used in bundling crap like Taplika browser hijackers. Shame on sourceforge and filezilla for breaking trust.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • mranderson1969
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The past few updates have been nothing but trash. The program itself used to be the best FTP application around. Recent issues have been ranging from taking several minutes to actually start up and run the program (they blame our NAS machines for that) to recent "failed to retrieve directory" after letting it sit idle for even a few seconds. They need to go back and find out where they went wrong and correct it.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • cliffordex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge Web Installer contains malware, watch out if you intend to install!

    Posted 02/09/2015
Show next 25 reviews