FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform (GPL- GNU) FTP client

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
856
16
9
5
150
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • toss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    we download an MALWARE !!!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • bss172017
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My web host sent me an email and told me to download this file because I need to make changes to my Wordpress site and make my wordpress files writeable. I have tried more than several times to down load the file and my virus protector keeps picking up a bug and asking me to allow, remove or cancel. I've just cancelled each time and deleted the file as I can't even "run" it. What do I do now? God this is so unbelievably frustrating!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • macruzq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After several years of satisfaction of an excellent product, I found the following issue in the last version: It makes Windows explorer crash (Win 7 32 bit) , with the following result (from event log): --- Nombre de la aplicación con errores: Explorer.EXE, versión: 6.1.7601.17567, marca de tiempo: 0x4d6727a7 Nombre del módulo con errores: ntdll.dll, versión: 6.1.7601.18247, marca de tiempo: 0x521ea91c Código de excepción: 0xc0000005 Desplazamiento de errores: 0x0001f9e2 Id. del proceso con errores: 0xbdc Hora de inicio de la aplicación con errores: 0x01cf8cac208c6a5f Ruta de acceso de la aplicación con errores: C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE Ruta de acceso del módulo con errores: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll Id. del informe: 79185d62-f89f-11e3-a81c-eca86b715b7e --- It makes crash with right click is used on any file. And I found that only when uninstalling AND deleting the following files BY HAND, the issue disappears: --- fzshellext.dll libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll libstdc++-6.dll libwinpthread-1.dll --- In fact, I selected "Uninstall " and after process finished, it asked to reboot. On restart, the file where the program is installed is full with all the files, and the issue persisted. I manually deleted all the files, but the previously mentioned were not deleted, indicating that they were used by Windows. I had to reboot to the option "Safe mode with command prompt" in order to be able to delete the files and directory. Then, after a check with CCleaner, one key remained in registry: --- ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files\FileZilla FTP Client\fzshellext.dll HKCR\CLSID\{DB70412E-EEC9-479C-BBA9-BE36BFDDA41B} --- And it was deleted manually too. All the above procedure was made TWICE, because after the first time, I reinstalled the new version, hoping that it has been only a defective installation but it has not. I hope that it is corrected for the next version because it is a very useful tool. Thank you in advance.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • fanqi1234
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project has been compromised by ad ware.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • jthistle
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really useful, and easy to use. No malware, but I'm using a Mac.

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • dont-download
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!! DONT DOWNLOAD THIS EXE FILE IT IS FULL OF MALWARE, INSTEAD USE THE ZIP FILE INSTEAD

    Posted 06/18/2014
  • mrscleannw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    YOU HAVE DESTROYED 2 MONTHS of MY LIFE. I HAVE 12 hacked sites, even in cpanel above public_html. SOME Jack-Hacker had full access and full cpanel passwords. WHY Didn't you EMAIL EVERYONE to tell them. Thanks for dropping the ball. Mistakes happen, but not getting the word out is gross negligence. #*&%^%^^$&#*

    Posted 06/13/2014
  • phildur
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Xcellent product BUT is found as maware by avira that says it includes : 'ADWARE/InstallCore.A.114' Please check it with Avira

    Posted 06/11/2014
  • wontbeback
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Avoid! I'm a total newbie building my first website and downloaded FZ this morning only to find my PC's now got adware and other kinds of garbage installed. I've wasted the whole day trying to clean sparkly "you have won..." ads from my PC without success. Yes, it's 'discussed' in the forums that there's a "clean" download link, albeit overshadowed by a big green download button. And, frankly, the guy(s) defending this are sickening. Very very sneaky work and not what I thought open source was about. Totally pissed off at FZ & Sourceforge.

    Posted 06/05/2014
  • wondermess
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I haven't downloaded this, and can't imagine that I ever would ... malware should not exist here, but it does. The creators of this software should be ashamed.

    Posted 06/03/2014
  • psycatic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used Filezilla for years but it is now so full of Malware that I will never use it again. DO NOT INSTALL, unless you want rubbish like SpeedDial integrated into all of your browsers without any opportunity to say NO!

    Posted 06/03/2014
  • sleepy-stu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    **MALWARE** Beware this now comes bundled with malware. Do not install even if you click no it still installs silently behind the scenes. Avoid plenty of none malware FTP clients out there!

    Posted 06/02/2014
  • joao3000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very good this new version 3.8.1. About the Adware, yes, it's true! Download from their web page: filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1 where you can get the «none adware» version of it. In the (i) - Information about file is included the SHA512 hash that you can and MUST in this case verify, I've done this in the past and prevented the adware version because the SHA512 didn't match! To verify the SHA512 their are lots of tools... I may suggest, for Windows/ Mac if the user doesn't have already something: implbits.com/HashTab.aspx but their are others!

    Posted 06/01/2014
  • mafutrct
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware installer. I'll use WinSCP instead. Also, developers did not change default settings to not corrupt binary files despite MANY users complaining about it for years.

    Posted 05/31/2014
  • freddiesfather
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware! Malaware bundled with this installation and installs silently. I have had a very stable machine until I installed this, had to to remove speed dial, optimizer pro etc. My machine now crashes frequently and various services refuse to run. This has caused me a lot of wasted time and money. You would probably be safer installing a torrent download.

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • kenmunro
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favourite FTP client.

    Posted 05/22/2014
  • nktakumi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's good software but the sourceforge installer will try to install adware if you use Windows. Use the tiny "Direct Download" button below the big green button.

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • awijasa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There are malwares bundled with the installer. Use WinSCP instead

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • cybergange
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The program itself would be good, but the installation process is a trap that will install you tons of crap. I will delete it immediately and will no more use.

    Posted 05/20/2014
  • mhanor
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server: it's simple to use, it's stable, and it has the features I'm looking for. TIP: When downloading, cancel the auto-starting download, that the browser pops up, and click the "direct link". You'll get the original setup file, not the Sourceforge adware.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • gaurav8955
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software Website :www.watajoke.com You can see hilarious jokes here and laugh like anything after reading them.So, have fun and enjoy if you have some jokes to share you can share them on our facebook page and we will publish them here with your name.

    Posted 05/15/2014
  • tromzinck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: This software will install unwanted software on your computer

    Posted 05/14/2014
  • bigtreyclark
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My review is less about the software and more about the people who wrote the reviews below me. If you can download without all the added things that it tells you are there....i guess you can read either. i just downloaded on a new machine and no issues with spy/mal/under-ware... Maybe instead of just pointing and clicking you should try to read and not to bash someone trying to make a dime. The software is great and you dont have to just download everything you see...take your time and read the options. MORONS....

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • fredgibbs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla has been my favorite FTP program for years. Easy to use and simple. Does what it is supposed to do, which is uploading my websites.

    Posted 05/13/2014
  • dhinged
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to be able to download Filezilla without a downloader and crapware packaged, now I have jump through their hoops and disable things and now I get notifications in sourceforge that there's an update for it even though Filezilla updates on its own and there's no place to unsubscribe... wtf?

    Posted 05/11/2014
Show next 25 reviews