FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
876
23
13
7
257
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • h_eck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program, but the windows install package has multiple malware programs in it.

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • h_eck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program, but the windows install package has multiple malware programs in it.

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • hkeys
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is prepackaged with malware that betrays open source integrity.

    Posted 01/07/2015
  • gregorywilliam
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not install! I've spent the last 30 minutes trying to install Omiga-Plus from Firefox. Will find another FTP platform and abandon Sourceforge.

    Posted 01/06/2015
  • reginalduke
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!! DO NOT DOWNLOAD FROM SOURCEFORGE. Sourceforge has corrupted the download with malware! Filezilla is a FTP standard, I've been using it for over 10 years, but sourceforge will install malware when you download so look elsewhere! Sadly, Filezilla links to Sourceforge as their official download provider, but it is not safe.

    Posted 01/04/2015
  • dmck1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge ruined this apps integrity. Installer is riddled with malware - not just silly stuff like search changers, but things like constant popups etc. Sourceforge has basically became Cnet downloads, except even the adware riddled crap that comes bundled with cnet downloads is checked so that they are not totally malware / ransomware. I do recommend this software, but please visit the creators site and download from a non sourceforge source.

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • dmck1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge ruined this apps integrity. Installer is riddled with malware - not just silly stuff like search changers, but things like constant popups etc. Sourceforge has basically became Cnet downloads, except even the adware riddled crap that comes bundled with cnet downloads is checked so that they are not totally malware / ransomware. I do recommend this software, but please visit the creators site and download from a non sourceforge source.

    Posted 12/31/2014
  • witchbane
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Riddled with malware. Technically, you can "opt out," but some of the malware is disguised as legitimate steps in the installer (like the Filezilla EULA). Very shady. Disappointing to see Sourceforge engaging in this kind of dubious activity.

    Posted 12/30/2014
  • actioncheese
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Sourceforge download manager contains multiple malware, including isearch.omiga-plus.com browser hijacker. Easy to remove though, it just changes your default homepage settings and adds the home page address to your browser icons target address. I would expect that behavior from a dodgy download site, but not from Sourceforge. Filezilla is great however, I would highly recommend it :) But this review still gets a 1 star for the crap I now have to remove.

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • zyshennahd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: This file comes attached with multiple malware!! My security popped up with warnings before it was even done installing itself and it placed hijackers on my browsers to an extent it was extremely hard to remove them!!

    Posted 12/29/2014
  • keanabobo001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is unbelievable that the whole software's on SourgeForge i downloaded are all trash. They change my computer maintenance and my browser also change to plugged with mailware. Installing FILEZILLA with SourgeForge gives alot of garbage software like optimizer pro, PC utility clean-up which am not familiar with, and this will tricky agreement that will cheat you to accept when installing.

    Posted 12/27/2014
  • radmail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Contains isearch.omiga-plus.com Browser Hijacker

    Posted 12/19/2014
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    could not live without it!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent for managing FTP transfert!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • sourceforger0x
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this to mass download files from the net! Gmail Cracker > www.PASSWORDCRACKER.me <

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • maximvd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Caution when dowloading! choose the direct download instead of the installer enabled download, the installer will install malware and set your homepage to omiga search.

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • hagworm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Don't download! It includes a malware which sets all your browser homepages to isearch.omiga-plus.com I warned you...

    Posted 12/11/2014
  • apres-54342
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE INSTALLER VERSION (FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32-setup.exe). Windows users must download the portable version of FileZilla (FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32.zip). It does not contain an installer so malware will not be installed. The Portable version can be found here --> filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1. When the download page appears, look under the Windows section for a file ending in ".ZIP". Then download the Zip file and simply extract it to any folder on your drive. Another option is to use the free PortableApps suite featuring portable (and malware-free) versions of most major freeware (including FileZilla). I don't use installers for anything if there's portable versions available.

    Posted 12/08/2014
  • sf-lars
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BEWARE. This download installs junk you cannot remove.

    Posted 12/04/2014
  • cdqe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT USE THE WINDOWS INSTALLER "3.9.0.6"—It will do its malware best to install unwanted 3rd party crapware. BE AWARE THAT You can no longer assume that SourceForge will act in your best interest. See "Tedds blog" on "Sourceforge malware" for one [horror] story. Also, Filezilla no longer finds/follows symbolic links to websites on Linux. Rather than going to the directory of the site given in the "Quickconnect" field, it dumps you into the directory of the login account. It can no longer find or reference virtual websites by name.

    Posted 12/03/2014
  • rmtron
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT INSTALL FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32-setup.exe The installer FileZilla_3.9.0.6_win32-setup.exe installs unwanted software "PC Optimizer Pro", recommend to build from source. Not sure if the installer leaves even more garbage on the PC during the installation. The FileZilla application on the other hand is great, the Windows setup.exe needs to be replaced by a clean installer.

    Posted 12/02/2014
  • eantz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I create sourceforge account just to write review here..lol.. Sorry, but I have to blame filezilla for causing trouble on my windows. I didn't notice bad reviews here because a couple months ago I downloaded it for another PC and the installation just ran very smooth. As many wrote, the last installer I downloaded contains malware. I noticed it when I'm asked if I want to install Hao123 app or not. I'm very surprised about that option because I experienced that the app caused trouble on my friend's windows. So I cancelled installation that time. After restarting my Windows, everytime I got connected to the internet, my Windows is freezing and no way to get it back to normal. It took me hours to resolve the problem. Finally I remove Firefox profile and force it to create the new one and re-install Chrome. So, I recommend to not download it for now. Because the installer contains malware that may take you to serious trouble. I'm not sure filezilla is forced by sourceforge to use that bad installer because I download another program installer from sourceforge and everything went well. So, I think I need to stay away from filezilla for a while until I read good review here.

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • sunfish116688
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla may be virus free but the installer is not. It hijacks the browser homepage and search provider. Also installs other crap software to enrich the scumbags who plant this shit in this otherwise great piece of utility. To clean up this shit, boot into Windows installation disk, go to repair and then command prompt. Delete the shit folder (mind was \program files\system settings).

    Posted 11/30/2014
  • wertzscott
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Yes, this installer does carry malware EVEN IF YOU UNCHECK THE CHECKBOXES FOR ADDITIONAL SOFTWARE. That's exactly what I did, and I now have to figure out how to clean up "PC Optimizer Pro v3.2" that keeps popping up to tell me that I have thousands of problems with my computer. I have lost all respect for the maintainers of FIlezilla.

    Posted 11/26/2014
Show next 25 reviews