FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
880
23
14
8
281
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sambaguley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This download contains malware and should be removed from sourceforge. Even if you uncheck the realplayer crapware you still get the malware. Filezilla used to be a decent FTP program but now the makers are happy to screw up their users machines to get some cash.

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • franbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I reported the malware problem to SourceForge 2 weeks ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • krball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Holy cow. Completely unethical and deceptive installer. I will never use FileZilla again, and I am going to actively support and promote alternatives amongst my user-base. While included bloatware that can be opted out of may be a fuzzy area, this Optimizer Pro BS bait and switch crossed a clear line, because: (1) it is completely unclear that it is being installed, and (2) it is blatantly malware that uses classic malware tactics to prevent a clean uninstall.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • michalhantl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While I like FileZilla, I am really dissatisfied with them putting additional junk software on my mac.

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • steve793
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't like the malware bundled with Filezilla, but I love the program for the odd file transfer. Does anyone have any recommendation for a clean file transfer application similar to filezilla? I know I can just use ftp/psftp but I prefer to have something with a graphical user interface.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • chris4877
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Because the installer downloads and installs malware, Chrome and Internet Explorer are blocking it. After successfully downloading it through Firefox, I inadvertently "agreed" to install some extra bundled software, and there is no "back" button to enable the user to go back and correct the error. This is the first time I have ever seen this kind of behaviour from a SourceForge-based installer, and I think it must stop. What I object to the most is the installer's devious, deceptive and irreversible way of obtaining the user's "agreement." I'm giving this 1 star, because of the installer's behaviour. If I were to rate the actual FileZilla program itself, I would give it 5 stars, as I have done in the past.

    Posted 02/21/2015
  • drphrozen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filled with spam, used to be good.

    Posted 02/20/2015
  • wernercdw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "Custom Installer" adds malware/virus'. Be warned. Steer clear of Sourceforge and Filezilla for supporting SF.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • hopfen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs malware. Should be removed from SourceForge.

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • thx4210
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD You'll get no support on forums as they'll say it's your fault for not unchecking the option to download the malware bundled with the installer.

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • stevenaright
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Downloader contains malicious software. You can report this page at this link: www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_badware/

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • boo-sourceforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The malware that came with this now evil ftp client forced me to reformat my computer. Thank goodness it was fairly new with only a few personal files. HOWEVER...I can't get back the 24 hours it took get my IP accepted by the server that blocked me AS SOON AS I tried to use this new version of Filezilla to upload my new site. I am one that does donate to good software...and I don't mind paying up front (with a guarantee) either. I DO mind the deceptive tactics used in bundling crap like Taplika browser hijackers. Shame on sourceforge and filezilla for breaking trust.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • mranderson1969
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The past few updates have been nothing but trash. The program itself used to be the best FTP application around. Recent issues have been ranging from taking several minutes to actually start up and run the program (they blame our NAS machines for that) to recent "failed to retrieve directory" after letting it sit idle for even a few seconds. They need to go back and find out where they went wrong and correct it.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • cliffordex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge Web Installer contains malware, watch out if you intend to install!

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • buythiscomputer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGEROUS ADWARE BAIDU FAST COMPUTER ! INCREDIBLE THAT WE CANNOT TRSUT SOURCEFORGE ANYMORE !!!! BE CAREFUL !!!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • scottkag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware city - let the downloader beware. I declined all agreements except for GNU (which it required to proceed with install) and still received some extremely nasty malware. Do not use!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • fnoyanisi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is so sad that I have to rate this project with only one star. Sourceforge installer comes with bunch of malware (to be clear, software that you would normally stay away) and turns your Windows PC into a useless box. I would recommend anyone not installing this software and look for some other alternatives instead. It used to be a good project but not anymore, just stay away if you want peace of mind.

    Posted 02/05/2015
  • ne0gen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALEWARE INCLUDED!!! BE CAREFUL! Decline the first EULA's (Thirdparty-Software), then you can install FZ only!

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • jmst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla IS A VIRUS!!! It INFECTED my computer!

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • arizonajoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! FileZilla bundles MULTIPLE MALWARE. It sort of warns you about one of the malware apps. It does not warn you at all about the second. "PC Optimizer Pro" will take over your PC within a few minutes of installing FileZilla. It will present you with a list of alleged problems with your computer. The program window takes over and cannot be dismissed, preventing you from returning to any of your other programs. It completely disrupted a chat session I was having with my hosting provider's tech support. You have to open Task Manager to kill the process. (For more on this malware and how to uninstall it, just Google it. Tom's Hardware has a good article on it.) FileZilla does not give you an option to not have malware take over your computer. During the install, FileZilla also tries to bundle another malware app called Vosteran, make it your default browser, and reset your homepage. If you click on Advanced in the Sourceforge web installer, you can uncheck all the boxes to opt out of all the Vosteran malware. However, AT NO POINT DOES IT DISCLOSE THAT IT IS **ALSO** INSTALLING "PC OPTIMIZER PRO". At no point does it give you the ability to opt out. This program is much worse than the crapware that unscrupulous software distributors might bundle. This program takes over your computer. It lies to you about "problems" you have, and will make you pay to fix those "problems". It will not close, cannot be dismissed. This is essentially ransomware, and it crosses the line. FileZilla should be reclassified as a malware source. For info on how to uninstall Vosteran, see the Malwaretips website. If you google PC Optimizer Pro and FileZilla, you'll find an official FileZilla forum thread where the revenue recipient behind FileZilla skirts the fact that there are multiple malware apps included, that you have no choice about one of them, and that it **takes over your computer**: Better, more ethical alternatives: For Windows 7 - 8.x: - WinSCP - Bitvise - Notepad++ includes an FTP and SFTP client For Mac, check out: - Fetch - Cyberduck And a couple of highly-rated (and free) code editors built as Google Chrome apps, which have FTP and SFTP built in: Codeanywhere Shiftedit

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • littlerbit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla_3.10.1.1_win32-setup.exe has trojan via AVG ~ virustotal shows 7 / 57 trojans, etc ~ The FileZilla_3.10.1_win32-setup.exe file (last version) was CLEAN!!! ~ How/WHY do you go from CLEAN to CRAP??? ~

    Posted 02/01/2015
  • line5
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (offline) installation seems not to be possible. some weird software is installed along with the application.

    Posted 02/01/2015
  • lycidiae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware. Do not download. I went through the installation multiple times, carefully reading through, and unchecking EVERY optional piece of bloatware, and yet SourceForge's sketchy-ass installer decided that I still needed 'Optimizer Pro'. This is the last time I use SourceForge for anything. This has been extremely dissappointing. The people who are claiming that 'you don't download anything without explicit consent' are liars.

    Posted 01/31/2015
  • eces70
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like Filezilla FTP client. I think it's a great software and FREE! However, with the latest release of 3.10.0.2, I find it a bit disappointing; 1. Used to be able to upgrade straight from Filezilla. Usually if there's new release when Filezilla starts up it can download and upgrade automatically. With 3.10.0.2 nope. It failed to get the new release. 2. Upon manually visiting filezilla-project.org and clicking the "Download Filezilla Client" it redirects to sourceforge.net and automatically starts a download of an online/web installer which does not download the "actual" installer. 3. When installing using the web installer it actually appears to download the actual file, but in the background it forces to install Opera browser (not that it's a bad browser - just not my pref!) and the actual file itself was never downloaded. It just says download 100% but never continue any further. 4. The web installer also modifies my browsers to open up isearch.omiga-plus.com and set it as my default search engine. This is unacceptable. This adware. If Opera and/or Omiga-plus is supporting sourceforge financially, still, users have the right to choose whether they want to install the product or not instead of just forcing the installation. I had to manually go to sourceforge Filezilla project page, go to "Files" and manually drill down to the actual file itself! I would have given 5 stars, but the above reasons just blew it. Please, don't spoil a project this good.

    Posted 01/30/2015
  • domxh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately also I felt in the trap of its disguised malware. AVG told me there was something suspicious, but coming from sourceforge I was sure this could not be correct. I even first found a post which assured that the anti-virus warning was normal and could be ignore. What a shame, this used to be such a great piece of software. I for sure won't be using it anymore.

    Posted 01/28/2015
Show next 25 reviews