FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
860
17
9
6
170
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jaminscript
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: INSTALLER CONTAINS CRAPWARE! Think that accept button during installation was for Filezilla? Nope, it was actually for bloatware and other junk that's now infested in your computer.

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • lisw001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T DOWNLOAD IT!! CRAPWARE comes together with it. SO disappointed with Sourceforge. We can no longer trust this website.

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • fdwaner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING, recently FileZilla has changed from a nice useful software to be bundled with adware and unwanted installs. Some offers can be declined, others not. I got the infamous PC Optimizer... On the forum you can read more on the authors clear interest in making money this way: forum.filezilla-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31967&start=75 (see last comment). Get an old version or find something else...

    Posted 08/29/2014
  • robindecroon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla --> Great. However, I will not use it anymore since the installers installs crap no mather what you select during installation.

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • bartek-jaworski
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a great software, no doubt about it. However this installer will INSTALL CRAPWARE on your machine, regardless of what settings you choose during the installation.

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • colsima
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is great, I've used it for many years. However, the installer contains adware that despite me checking almost all pages through the installation, managed to elude me. Seriously Sourceforge? Before today I considered sourceforge a trusted place to get software, and would recommend it to friends. No longer. Torn what to give this as a review, because the core product is very good - but my shattering disappointment with the installer is what brought me here. I suggest the Filezilla team should find another distribution platform.

    Posted 08/27/2014
  • b_lindeijer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Uses installer than installs "Optimizer Pro" crapware in the background even if unchecked!

    Posted 08/21/2014
  • oclaf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer brings malware! Use FireFTP or something else.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • easyw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice sw but BE AWARE OF THE INSTALLER ... it can install BLOAT ADWARE!!!

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • therealwelldone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    without host is awfull.:(

    Posted 08/16/2014
  • jsaurab
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very bad adware inside SF Installer filled my browsers with annoying popups and another intrusive ads!!.

    Posted 08/16/2014
  • vorlauf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not run the installer! Installer is bundled with malware that hijacks web browsers!

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • darkounet789
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla itself is a very good program, but seriously, what the f*** is this installer ? You can't avoid installing a crappy adware ! What a shame !! I don't know who I should blame, sourceforge or FileZilla but anyway DON'T EVER DOWNLOAD THE INSTALLER ! It would be a huge mistake !

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • jaykul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to love FileZilla and trust SourceForge. This new cramware install wrapper is awful and wrong.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • ghickley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great product ruined by installed with parasiteware like Driver Support and Optimizer Pro. Such a shame. Avoid

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • jhondu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install with SourceForge it give you garbage software !!!

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • gigapouch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is really no point in downloading this software. And you can easily decline to installing the malware.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • fd2014
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PROGRAM FROM THIS WEBSITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Installs a bunch of junk on your computer which then takes a good 20 minutes to uninstall. I downloaded it from cnet after and had zero programs. This is a SCAM.

    Posted 08/06/2014
  • chernobylprize
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used to be the best FTP client, now sadly loaded with adware. Install at your own risk!

    Posted 08/06/2014
  • jh0st
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You guys should be ashamed of yourselves. Sure you are given a 'choice' not to install malware like Astromenda that's 'bundled' with FileZilla, but the difference here is that the installer was specifically designed with the intention for someone to miss this step and it does a great job at it. Just read all the negative comments Sourceforge and FileZilla. Your reputations have gone down the toilet. Never mind the sketchy installer, the fact that you'd even team with Astromenda is disgusting and ruins any trust you've built with potential clients. Sourceforge is a host?? I would never seek services from a firm that caters to internet sleaze. If you can't find a way to make money in a way that builds trust and community then just do us all a favor and give up now.

    Posted 08/05/2014
  • veo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install with SourceForge it give you garbage software with tricky agreement that will cheat you to accept.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • flnic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe my eyes, I just installed filezilla server from a Sourceforge download and my computer and browser are plagued with an adware. Whao! what a disappointment, sourceforge... I guess I'll be deleting my SF account now...

    Posted 07/28/2014
  • cvaras14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I opened an account just to tell you that your installer sucks big time. I am a systems administrator and I used to rely on SourceForge for my software downloads. I guess I will have to go back to CNet. The installer ran OK, but I could not get the download. Please stop. You are not fooling anyone and you are aggravating loyal users.

    Posted 07/27/2014
  • kostasdaskalos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for ruining one of my longest running trusted apps. I switched immedietly after this %$&^$%$# installer!

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • bhagenow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla itself is awesome. But I will never install it again because of the absolute garbage that now installs with it. It is totally unacceptable to bundle in the other pieces of garbage with the installer. I do not care how good the advertised product is, NEVER force the user to install additional software they may not want. FileZilla just went from my highly recommended list to my stay away from list. I even went into the advanced install and selected only FileZilla to install. It didn't matter as I still got "FastClean PRO".

    Posted 07/24/2014
Show next 25 reviews