FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
887
24
17
10
323
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • f4ecw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla est un outil fantastique, malheureusement il vient desormais avec un Trojan/Malware/Virus, appele PremierOpinion de la compagnie VoiceFive : C est tres decevant, une trahison envers les utilisateurs. Donc a eviter absolument tant que durera la presence de ce malware..

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • cvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should definitely be avoided. I have just tried out the installer on a windows machine, and it is definitely deceptive - it is very easy to misunderstand what is being installed. I have three projects on sourceforge and I am now going to take steps where I can move them to. I think sourceforge's behavior is unacceptable.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • suckrpnch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs spyware. Not what it used to be. Installs PremierOpinion along with trying to install yahoo searchbar crap.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • qaisjp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla.

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla. I also scanned the file from Liquid Telecom (I am using AVG Antivirus for Mac) and it said its clean. It should come in a standard tar.bz2 file if its the safe version (for Mac anyway).

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • thedward
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to recommend FileZilla to all my customers, but I no longer do so because the default download is bundled with malware/adware.

    Posted 05/14/2015
  • m3matters
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can confirm that this contains nasty spyware ("PremierOpinion"). I'm struggling to remove it. Do not download FileZilla. Find an alternative not offered through sourceforge. Such a shame, this used to be great software. The authors should be ashamed.

    Posted 05/14/2015
  • glaux-osdev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I powered on Windows and I downloaded filezilla *only* to learn if these rumors are correct. Yes, they are! The sourceforge installer has PUA/InstallCore virus. I know I can download it without the installer, but this installer is a bad movement. I quit sourceforge!

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • miknik85
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use FIlezilla on my website, and i like it so much, great work my website: mobiletoday.it

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • mmwohxov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This product does WONDERS for IT employment rates. In our corporation we are very busy reinstalling machines that have been hopeless infected by malware after installing Filezilla from sourceforge.net. We reinstall at least one machine every day. I not only strongly advise everyone to stay way clear of filezilla, but also of anything related to sourceforge at this time. Sad really, it used to be pretty cool.....

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • john8888a
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Shame that a reliable ftp client like Filezilla contains malware! What we developers try to aviod, Filezilla gives it to us secretly! Avoid.

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • kobberholm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sadly I can no longer recommend this application as they have chosen to bundle it with malware. For a free open source FTP client on Windows I now recommend WinSCP.

    Posted 05/10/2015
  • jamesm91
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software, shame that the down loader is laced with malware, avoid!

    Posted 05/06/2015
  • tortorrentsen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The recommended installer is riddled with malware. It's sad to see great software become comletely abandoned by loyal users due to a completely baffling attitude be the developer. Check out the official FileZilla forums for more. There are several threads about this right now.

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • mikotoiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge, this is ridiculous! You wrap legitimate software in your malware laced installer! This software can be downloaded without the installer though. Either hit the tiny direct download box below the big green button, or go to Browse All Files -> FileZilla_Client -> x.xx.x -> then click the Direct Download Link, and turn it to On. Then select your file, and away you go. Filezilla gets the 5 Star review, Sourceforge get a 0 star for wrapping legitimate software with its malware installer!

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • double-you
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer full of malware. Avoid. Pity that FileZilla lowered itself down to this very low level.

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • fuckfilezilla2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fuck this piece of shit program that infected my computer after a week of reinstalling everything. Fuck filezilla, I am never going to use this piece of shit ever again and i am going to build an account a day and give it the minimum review possible for as long as i can be bother. Don't whatever you do download this VIRUS INFECTED PIECE OF SHIT

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • rudyrockstar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable consistent performance across platforms (Linux, Windows, MacOS). SFTP and site management integrated nicely. Be careful with Window installs! Read before you click.

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • nguyenvanluan6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank so much

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • medvar72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Este archivo es peligroso. Contiene software malintencionado. Mi Avast logró detectarlo por suerte. This file is dangerous. It contain maliciosus code. My AV could detect it!

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • flinsy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, lleno de virus? En Virus Total acusa más de 10 virus!!! No puedo creerlo de SorceForge, vi que tardaba en instalar ahora y ahora mi sistema no se como estará, espero que mi AV haya detectado y parado la posible amenaza.

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • slowpace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be very extremely careful when you download from Sourceforge. The 'Download Filezilla' seems to have a man in the middle attack. It looks exactly as a legitimately download, but when I check the MD5 of the file is not the same. I had to go to the Filezilla download page and select 'others' to properly download the file. I had to do it at least three times until I figured out how to download the correct file. Always check the MD5 against the site. Do not trust the download icon. If it does not download immediately don't trust it. You may be getting a trojan horse instead. In Windows you can find out the MD5 with fciv utility.

    Posted 04/24/2015
Show next 25 reviews