FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
888
24
17
10
327
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server is an extremely flexible, stable file server for use on a LAN, over the Internet, or both, with the same or different user accounts. It can be installed as an invisible daemon, and managed with a separate Windows-native GUI from any computer. Management can be easily restricted with an access list, it happenns via a separate port 14147, which can be changed and secured with a firewall. Server works over NAT without a helper in the router, if you configure a port range for it. You should assign about 500-1000 ports because of how TCP sockets are recycled, and make sure they don't overlap with other services. This is the only serious shortcoming of FTP. /./ FileZilla runs on all versions of Microsoft Windows, and allows to easily connect any machines such as Win98 to WinSeven together without doing time consuming research on Windows security permissions. All it needs is a working TCP/IP. I use it on my LAN all the time. The program can max out Fast Ethernet and Gigabit connections with default settings, delivering 11 and 110 MB/s troughput respectively, which Windows Network Neighborhood /SMB/CIFS can't do. Because of that, FileZilla is a convenient, practical speed test. Most FTP clients output verbose error messages or show a log, which makes troubleshooting connectivity problems easy. /./ I use version 0.9.23 on most computers, and 0.9.12c on retro win9x systems. The author, is rather dismissive of old technology and has removed support for old systems. Nevertheless, these versions continue to work and are very stable. /./ The negative reviews here are not about the program itself, but about the sourceforge web-installer. Those should be avoided by default.

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • mikotoiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge, this is ridiculous! You wrap legitimate software in your malware laced installer! This software can be downloaded without the installer though. Either hit the tiny direct download box below the big green button, or go to Browse All Files -> FileZilla_Client -> x.xx.x -> then click the Direct Download Link, and turn it to On. Then select your file, and away you go. Filezilla gets the 5 Star review, Sourceforge get a 0 star for wrapping legitimate software with its malware installer!

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • rudyrockstar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable consistent performance across platforms (Linux, Windows, MacOS). SFTP and site management integrated nicely. Be careful with Window installs! Read before you click.

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • slowpace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be very extremely careful when you download from Sourceforge. The 'Download Filezilla' seems to have a man in the middle attack. It looks exactly as a legitimately download, but when I check the MD5 of the file is not the same. I had to go to the Filezilla download page and select 'others' to properly download the file. I had to do it at least three times until I figured out how to download the correct file. Always check the MD5 against the site. Do not trust the download icon. If it does not download immediately don't trust it. You may be getting a trojan horse instead. In Windows you can find out the MD5 with fciv utility.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • mrkaban
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupid morons who yell about malware, what place you think? You fucking do not distinguish advertising from Google button download programs? Yes, via Google advertising spread malware. I swear, like children, like adults, have been able to create here, but that's where the stick and do not know. The program is excellent, the best FTP client in the world! the most reliable! Updated regularly!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • nikkiblare
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful project

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • whatdafick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla was, and will continue to be an excellent ftp client. WITH A WARNING.. DON'T DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL THE "INSTALLER ENABLED" Version. Download from the Direct Download link only. The Installer Enabled version is packed with malware that required several scans to get rid of. MalwareBytes identified them as Binkiland and FactFire, but tomorrow it could be different malware......... It is easy to identify the Installer Enabled Version. It is the big Green button (should be Red with a CAUTION attached) and it's a small file, under 1kb......... The "Direct Download" link is immediately below the green button and when it starts, you will see it is about 6mb. INSTALL THIS "DIRECT DOWNLOAD" only. It is 100% safe, however if you still have concerns, have VirusTotal scan it for you......... I'm giving it 5 stars because the core program continues to be excellent. Just heed these warnings and exercise caution when selecting your download and install.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • wilderland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent piece of software

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • flittermouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WTF, sf? FileZilla is excellent software. Like nearly everyone that wasn't born yesterday, I skip/decline crapware offered during installation and go about my business. I don't fault developers. After all, folks like Tim Kosse invest countless and too often thankless (and likely un[der]paid) hours on the software they produce. If they get a return from the crapware makers, I'm delighted. But when installer wrappers foist crapware on users at the expense of actually doing their job (installing software), I get pissed. I had an infrequently-used older version of FileZilla on a Mac and wanted to update it to the latest available. I didn't trash the installed, dormant FileZilla application before running the sf installer. After skipping through the crapware screens, the installer downloaded FileZilla proper and supposedly installed it (it said installation succeeded). But it was nowhere to be found in Applications (the old FileZilla was gone, however). I thought maybe it failed because I hadn't first removed the old one, so ran the installer again and let it do its thing. Again it falsely claimed success. I gave up and headed over to MajorGeeks. Downloaded the FileZilla application (as a bz2 archive), expanded the application and copied to the Applications directory. The rating I'm leaving here indicates my degrees of pleasure with FileZilla and displeasure with the sf installer. So where you see 5 stars, that indicates perfection for FileZilla and perfection of stupidity for the sf installer.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • gregnk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, easy to use FTP client.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • mrmatherstone67
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the only FTP software I will use! Ignore the comments complaining that is is full of adware and such, it is NOT! The FileZilla installation file and the program are adware, malware and virus free. What the majority of other reviewers don't realise is to download FileZilla (or any other programs off this site) you have to use their "Download Manager" which is bundled with other rubbish to help pay for the service. This is NOT forced on you and you can easily click on the "Decline" buttons to stop it installing stuff. Once you've done this the Download Manager will then download the actual program you requested. Can people only review the program and not the actual installer that SourceForge force you to use in the future. It gives brilliant programs a bad name!

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • kpnqwest
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wonderful program.

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • guillaumecombot
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    could not live without it!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • enoranedelec
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent for managing FTP transfert!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • liditu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    awesome work, thank you guys!

    Posted 12/14/2014
  • sourceforger0x
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use this to mass download files from the net! Gmail Cracker > www.PASSWORDCRACKER.me <

    Posted 12/12/2014
  • trisped
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you want to download it from SourceForge, make sure the URL ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the bundled adware. You can get this ad free version by going to filezilla-project.org, clicking on the Download link for the version you want (client or server), clicking "Show additional download options", and selecting the version you want. You can also browse the files in the SourceForge project, but make sure you have "Direct Download Link: On". If it is off then click it to toggle. Then click on the link for the file you want (checking that it ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the adware.

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • fabri56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a very good software for FTP function. It is absolutely reliable and clean. Only it is necessary to download it from a "safe website" and to download directly the software (about 6 Mbybyes) and NOT to download a 'downloader' which install filezilla but installa also many bad adware & C. In my website you will download pure filezilla setup: fabrizioviscardi.it/fabrizio_viscardi_utilita_windows_mac_linux_rete_filezilla.php?vers=3.9.0.5 (last version - virus checked). In this website, remember, in every case, to search the link "Direct download" and not the green button "Download" !!

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • mousetail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the new installer is annoying

    Posted 10/06/2014
  • d4v30h
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Provides everything I've ever needed from an FTP application.

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • bighits4u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is really very good Application and it's very easy to use and they even provide excellent support. bighits4u.com

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • davidpierson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be sure to use the "Direct Download" link which provides the full Filezilla installation files, and no adware. Avoid the "Download, installer enabled" link - which uses a download manager which gives two Adware options you need to "Decline" and are easy to miss if not paying a lot of attention.

    Posted 09/17/2014
Show next 25 reviews