FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
891
24
17
10
336
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • shaznay
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SPYWARE/MALWARE Author Tim Kosse has become a mere pathetic shill who is being paid (along with other top posters) by Nice, new oeners of SourceSCOURGE....Installer now implants malware even if you untick everything. Completly contradtictory to the pathetic shill response by Tim Kosse here: forum.filezilla-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33979&sid=92621d9131fda1299abd7560f7a6f6da Author can no longer be trusted, time to dump not only FileZilla, but Sourceforge itself

    Posted 07/05/2015
  • joaoarq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full of crap, malware, virus, don´t even try to download it.

    Posted 07/05/2015
  • patacongo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favorite FTP client by far.

    Posted 06/19/2015
  • vonkruel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It doesn't matter how good your software is, if it comes with malware.

    Posted 06/19/2015
  • bhsfbarryn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Contains malware, adware. www.virustotal.com/en/file/a9cc2d9f130ee2b4fa807b32199ef81edc1c6a53ce44fe0856363858674b77a1/analysis/1434483544/ Antivirus Result Update GData Win32.Application.InstallCore.DI 20150616 Malwarebytes PUP.Optional.InstallCore.SID.C 20150616 AVware InstallCore (fs) 20150616 VIPRE InstallCore (fs) 20150616 Comodo Application.Win32.InstallCore.KG 20150616 ESET-NOD32 a variant of Win32/InstallCore.OM potentially unwanted 20150616 sdtimes.com/sd-times-blog-sourceforge-now-a-source-of-malware/

    Posted 06/16/2015
  • laage65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totalmente contaminado de malware. Goggle Chrome ya no permite llegar a la pagina de este proyecto. Por eso sigo usando una version vieja del mismo. No he podido actualizarlo. Aunque la version vieja sigue siendo de utilidad para mi. Fully contaminated malware. Goggle Chrome no longer leads to the page of this project. So I'm using an old version of it. I could not update it. Although the old version is still useful to me.

    Posted 06/12/2015
  • stmart-remi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cette version installe un Malware: PremierOpinion. Ce malware fait crash mon Safari, affiche des pubs et une icone dans la barre supérieure droite. Très difficile à supprimer. Ne pas télécharger cette version de FileZilla.

    Posted 06/09/2015
  • crazymarf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Why adding adware aka the word programs ever written to your best ftp progam to the world?! WHY?!

    Posted 06/06/2015
  • dkmuir
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love Filezilla, but did not like the SourceForge installer installing malware.

    Posted 06/04/2015
  • tolwyn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Find a different source to download software. Find a different FTP solution. This program contains PUP... a barely "cut above" malware (google it).

    Posted 06/01/2015
  • sjurgen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used to be good, now installs Trojans and viruses weather you opt out or not. Do not download. It hijacks your browser, replaces links in search results with its own, and logs key presses. I had to format my PC to get rid of this rubbish.

    Posted 06/01/2015
  • littlebigbug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is f**king sexy. Okay lets really get into this. Filezilla is very simple, free and easy to use. I haven't had a single annoyance with this You sexy program, you. <3 As a Garry'sMod server Owner, Website Designer and a former Minecraft Server owner This has been nothing but great.

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • titi3000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware, don't install it. They attached 2 to 2 malwares in there. I had spent hours to remove it and malwares.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server is an extremely flexible, stable file server for use on a LAN, over the Internet, or both, with the same or different user accounts. It can be installed as an invisible daemon, and managed with a separate Windows-native GUI from any computer. Management can be easily restricted with an access list, it happenns via a separate port 14147, which can be changed and secured with a firewall. Server works over NAT without a helper in the router, if you configure a port range for it. You should assign about 500-1000 ports because of how TCP sockets are recycled, and make sure they don't overlap with other services. This is the only serious shortcoming of FTP. /./ FileZilla runs on all versions of Microsoft Windows, and allows to easily connect any machines such as Win98 to WinSeven together without doing time consuming research on Windows security permissions. All it needs is a working TCP/IP. I use it on my LAN all the time. The program can max out Fast Ethernet and Gigabit connections with default settings, delivering 11 and 110 MB/s troughput respectively, which Windows Network Neighborhood /SMB/CIFS can't do. Because of that, FileZilla is a convenient, practical speed test. Most FTP clients output verbose error messages or show a log, which makes troubleshooting connectivity problems easy. /./ I use version 0.9.23 on most computers, and 0.9.12c on retro win9x systems. The author, is rather dismissive of old technology and has removed support for old systems. Nevertheless, these versions continue to work and are very stable. /./ The negative reviews here are not about the program itself, but about the sourceforge web-installer. Those should be avoided by default.

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • mw1945
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla for OSX package installs MacKeeper and ZipCloud without notice. Avoid this package.

    Posted 05/26/2015
  • rdholder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Webroot flagged the windows download as a virus, and I had to stop what I was doing and go through the removal process. Think twice before running this download, and check it with your AV software, and on virustotal.com etc.

    Posted 05/25/2015
  • denniswier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    version 3.10.3 extracts and runs like a charm, got the "updated" version 3.11.0.1, extracts and does nothing!! nice way of breaking something that worked before...

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • f4ecw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla est un outil fantastique, malheureusement il vient desormais avec un Trojan/Malware/Virus, appele PremierOpinion de la compagnie VoiceFive : C est tres decevant, une trahison envers les utilisateurs. Donc a eviter absolument tant que durera la presence de ce malware..

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • cvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should definitely be avoided. I have just tried out the installer on a windows machine, and it is definitely deceptive - it is very easy to misunderstand what is being installed. I have three projects on sourceforge and I am now going to take steps where I can move them to. I think sourceforge's behavior is unacceptable.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • suckrpnch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs spyware. Not what it used to be. Installs PremierOpinion along with trying to install yahoo searchbar crap.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • qaisjp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla.

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla. I also scanned the file from Liquid Telecom (I am using AVG Antivirus for Mac) and it said its clean. It should come in a standard tar.bz2 file if its the safe version (for Mac anyway).

    Posted 05/16/2015
Show next 25 reviews