FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
881
23
14
9
299
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • kohtra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! The installer includes malware that is installed even if you try to opt out! This was once a decent program and SF a decent site that one could trust. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON??

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • cjrobe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware included in install, goes against the OSS spirit. Shame on you SF.

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • lclclclc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT download filezilla from sourceforge - it installs numerous malware programs without asking. Sourceforge is no longer trustworthy.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • g40252
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer is misleading and installed several scum applications, it resulted in windows reinstallation.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • virustestaccoun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ADWARE ALERT: The Sourceforge Installer delivers adware on your computer. Run AdwCleaner after installing this, or download FileZilla from PortableApps. And, I am including this in my antimalware's database.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • postscription
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware including Trojan.Gen.2 FactFireSetup.exe

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • blenta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes malware!!!

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • cbj4074
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: To echo others' sentiments, DO NOT download the "SF" installer, as it will riddle your computer with malware that is difficult, if not impossible, to remove. INSTEAD, go directly to the FileZilla project homepage, click the Download link (at left), and then click "Show additional download options". This path -- and only this path -- leads to the malware-free installer. It's a shame that users are giving FileZilla itself 1 star (myself included), because the application is much more deserving. The problem is that the FileZilla author, Tim Kosse, has agreed to bundle malware with his product in exchange for monetary compensation from SourceForge and/or its "partners". While this is his option, as the author, it is in this reviewer's humble opinion the wrong way to approach compensation, and will ultimately alienate the user-base and destroy the product's reputation. I have switched to WinSCP and will no longer recommend FileZilla to friends, family, clients, or colleagues.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • dchart
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes malware!!!! Do not download!!!! Uses something that says it is the SourceForge.net download installer. I've never seen this before. It uses deceptive wording to get you to install other programs other than FileZilla. I had my default home pages changed on me even though I thought I had declined this other software. BEWARE!!

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • nikkiblare
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very useful project

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • whatdafick
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla was, and will continue to be an excellent ftp client. WITH A WARNING.. DON'T DOWNLOAD AND INSTALL THE "INSTALLER ENABLED" Version. Download from the Direct Download link only. The Installer Enabled version is packed with malware that required several scans to get rid of. MalwareBytes identified them as Binkiland and FactFire, but tomorrow it could be different malware......... It is easy to identify the Installer Enabled Version. It is the big Green button (should be Red with a CAUTION attached) and it's a small file, under 1kb......... The "Direct Download" link is immediately below the green button and when it starts, you will see it is about 6mb. INSTALL THIS "DIRECT DOWNLOAD" only. It is 100% safe, however if you still have concerns, have VirusTotal scan it for you......... I'm giving it 5 stars because the core program continues to be excellent. Just heed these warnings and exercise caution when selecting your download and install.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • blitzd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is now virus ridden, as may be everything else on sourceforge. Find an alternative.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • agvulpine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, but the installer is infected with malware, courtesy of SourceForge. :( Google flags this download as 'harmful'. i.imgur.com/SiEKje3.png Should probably use something else until Tim Kosse fixes this problem.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • madgoat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Now that it includes malware, I have to say that this app gets one star.

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • donomi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The scum running this program have infected the download with a Trojan that takes over your computer and steals your passwords. Beware!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • factsphere
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project was fine until a month ago, now it's infected. Please check filezilla forums for uninfected version. The 730 kB installer is infected. The 5.9 MB installer was ok.

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • hubmar00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer of the actual FileZilla installer (they use the same file name) installed the sweet-page package in all of my browsers. This is malware, thank you FileZilla people for tainting your great program to make an extra buck.

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • sylviawaterston
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    UPDATE: I just went to FileZilla-project.org to download, selected Show Additional Download Options, selected FileZilla_3.10.2_win32-setup.exe Show file details (recommended). I think it downloaded without malware. Seems stable at this point, and Binkiland is not listed in my programs on the Control Panel Software screen. I will Update again if Binkiland rears it's ugly head. I have used FileZilla for years and loved it. Recently downloaded update and WHAT A NIGHTMARE! "Binkiland" came bundled with the package, and virtually messed up my computer. Had to go to a prior date and restore the computer to get rid of it. Tried everything else first including - removing the file, telling Chrome to disable/delete extension, actually reset all Chrome settings, deleted all the other nasty little program files that came with it, Still there. Restoring to a prior date was the only way.. Very Disappointed!!

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • mlrhodes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I came here to download this software, but after reading all the bad reviews and not one word from Sourceforge, no way jose.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • simplegifts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Recent download came bundled with malware "Binkiland"; really nasty browser hijacker, difficult to remove. I'm very disappointed that filezilla, once a bedrock of the open source community, would sink this low.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • garushka
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be wary of bundled malware. I created an account on SourceForge just to write this review. Absolutely unethical software practice.

    Posted 03/09/2015
  • sambaguley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This download contains malware and should be removed from sourceforge. Even if you uncheck the realplayer crapware you still get the malware. Filezilla used to be a decent FTP program but now the makers are happy to screw up their users machines to get some cash.

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • wilderland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent piece of software

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • franbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I reported the malware problem to SourceForge 2 weeks ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
Show next 25 reviews