FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
884
23
14
10
310
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • medvar72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Este archivo es peligroso. Contiene software malintencionado. Mi Avast logró detectarlo por suerte. This file is dangerous. It contain maliciosus code. My AV could detect it!

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • flinsy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, lleno de virus? En Virus Total acusa más de 10 virus!!! No puedo creerlo de SorceForge, vi que tardaba en instalar ahora y ahora mi sistema no se como estará, espero que mi AV haya detectado y parado la posible amenaza.

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • x-mad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer contains "bundled software", you can decline to install it but it's being very sneaky about it. It's not something you would expect from a software you find on Sourceforge, and I'm very surprised Sourceforge is not actually banning the project altogether for pulling this kind of crap.

    Posted 04/21/2015
  • kamannn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloads updates without my permission and spams with update notifications even if I turn off update checking.

    Posted 04/20/2015
  • hosuronline
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Highly dangerous Filezilla has become now. Couple of years before, I used to use this bit of software for FTP usage and today, I installed it on my machine to find plenty of dangerous software getting installed in my system. Installation also does changes in default search engine of the browser. Sourceforge should take down this utility from their website.

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • arcegis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My goodness...Filezilla used to be good. Now it is a malware-ridden utter crap. Download only from XXX.SOURCEFORGE.NET, and NOT from 3rd-party websites ! The problem is, this trusted site only shows once in a seldom while...Fuck off, Tim Kosse.

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • khalid413
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i have used this program for many years. but now that what i get !!! postimg.org/image/nn5kwtlwl/ postimg.org/image/46kvaaqsl/ idk what wrong with it but i hope they will fix this as soon as possible thanks

    Posted 04/16/2015
  • markpaulx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stay away from the new version of Filezilla! I have used this program for years, but the new version installs all sorts of malware. All my browsers were hijacked. Now I have to spend hours getting rid of this junk. It is tragic, such a great FTP client, now ruined!

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • jplflyer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to love this product, but I am now telling everyone, "Do not use it". If he needs money to support the product, then charge for it. But installing malware on machines is entirely inappropriate. I should not have ot go to advanced options to realize it's going to install things on my machine. Furthermore, no way can I explain via email to far less computer illiterate people how to avoid it. Just say NO NO NO to FileZilla. And may the author roast in hell.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • bl0ckhead
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download! This will install malware on your computer. Even if you think you are clever and you decline all the offers to have malware installed, you will still miss something and end up with annoying malware on your computer and be unhappy.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • gadien
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program installs do-search without asking permissions.. I ran a number of scans and found one embedded deep in my system. THIS PROGRAM PROMOTES MALWARE!!!!

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • kohtra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! The installer includes malware that is installed even if you try to opt out! This was once a decent program and SF a decent site that one could trust. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON??

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • cjrobe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware included in install, goes against the OSS spirit. Shame on you SF.

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • lclclclc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT download filezilla from sourceforge - it installs numerous malware programs without asking. Sourceforge is no longer trustworthy.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • g40252
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer is misleading and installed several scum applications, it resulted in windows reinstallation.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • postscription
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware including Trojan.Gen.2 FactFireSetup.exe

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • blenta
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes malware!!!

    Posted 03/20/2015
  • cbj4074
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: To echo others' sentiments, DO NOT download the "SF" installer, as it will riddle your computer with malware that is difficult, if not impossible, to remove. INSTEAD, go directly to the FileZilla project homepage, click the Download link (at left), and then click "Show additional download options". This path -- and only this path -- leads to the malware-free installer. It's a shame that users are giving FileZilla itself 1 star (myself included), because the application is much more deserving. The problem is that the FileZilla author, Tim Kosse, has agreed to bundle malware with his product in exchange for monetary compensation from SourceForge and/or its "partners". While this is his option, as the author, it is in this reviewer's humble opinion the wrong way to approach compensation, and will ultimately alienate the user-base and destroy the product's reputation. I have switched to WinSCP and will no longer recommend FileZilla to friends, family, clients, or colleagues.

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • dchart
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes malware!!!! Do not download!!!! Uses something that says it is the SourceForge.net download installer. I've never seen this before. It uses deceptive wording to get you to install other programs other than FileZilla. I had my default home pages changed on me even though I thought I had declined this other software. BEWARE!!

    Posted 03/16/2015
  • blitzd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is now virus ridden, as may be everything else on sourceforge. Find an alternative.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • agvulpine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great program, but the installer is infected with malware, courtesy of SourceForge. :( Google flags this download as 'harmful'. i.imgur.com/SiEKje3.png Should probably use something else until Tim Kosse fixes this problem.

    Posted 03/15/2015
  • madgoat
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Now that it includes malware, I have to say that this app gets one star.

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • donomi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The scum running this program have infected the download with a Trojan that takes over your computer and steals your passwords. Beware!

    Posted 03/13/2015
  • factsphere
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project was fine until a month ago, now it's infected. Please check filezilla forums for uninfected version. The 730 kB installer is infected. The 5.9 MB installer was ok.

    Posted 03/12/2015
  • hubmar00
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer of the actual FileZilla installer (they use the same file name) installed the sweet-page package in all of my browsers. This is malware, thank you FileZilla people for tainting your great program to make an extra buck.

    Posted 03/12/2015
Show next 25 reviews