FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
870
20
11
7
217
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • gacheng
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using FileZilla for a while. It used to be safe and trustful. I have a new computer and download it today. I was force to use Sourceforge Download Manager to download and install FileZilla. and Now my computer was automatically installed with so many garbage: Astromenda was forced on as an extension in my Chrome browser. A window named something like Speedy PCPro Utility popped up. Unbelievable! I am not sure it is Sourceforge Download Manager or FileZilla

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • fleckingerre
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used FileZilla since years and although the UI shows its age it is still a good software on itself. The included AdWare is a real problem though and until this is removed I can't recommend downloading it anymore.

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • groovylocks
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Disgusted! I have been using this software for years. In fact, several lower-security companies i have worked for use this and historically considered it a reliable FTP client for their purposes. On my recommendation, my client installed FileZilla the other day and long story short, I just spent a lovely sojourn in safe mode cleaning out his registry and trying to explain MYSELF because a product I trusted suddenly became untrustworthy. He was riddled with that stalker Astromenda and it would seem filezilla was the wingman. It's time to find another reliable FTP client that I enjoy working with as much as I did this one. It's a real shame.

    Posted 09/09/2014
  • sunnithan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    For those who have had issues with downloading the Filezilla Fileserver without the download manager (adware). I just noticed that if you traverse to the files, you can find a link "Direct Download Link : Off" just click the link and it will change to "Direct Download Link: On" and on subsequently selecting the .exe you wish to download you should be able to get the file without the download manager. Unfortunately, even though the product is good due to such issues people may not be able to get to the download directly and quit.

    Posted 09/08/2014
  • markxengels
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nasty peace of work both filezilla and source forge , under GNU licence and it has packaged adware u cant easily remove . Be very carefull download the zip file instead if you really must , i've un installed it straight away and im using an alternative ,Unforgivable nasty i can see R.Stallman having a fit ,the very thing he detests is being masked as GNU : ( i m off now this source is spiked

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • xylographe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent program! Just avoid downloading the SourceForge installer.

    Posted 09/07/2014
  • gaizkag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVOID. It installs crapware. Although you can avoid Astromenda installing, it installs RegistryPro anyway. There are many more free FTP clients out there, Winscp, for example.

    Posted 09/06/2014
  • wilsonrx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    AVOID! There is loads of crap that gets installed with this which you have no option over. Unacceptable! Find another FTP client.

    Posted 09/05/2014
  • jimmyw288
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download. Software is bundled with Astromenda malware which will infect your machine and hijack your browser. Very disappointed with Filezilla.

    Posted 09/04/2014
  • dlitem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla and Sourceforge are trying to infect your machine with malware / adware. I recommend searching for alternative software.

    Posted 09/04/2014
  • qualkhek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    installer doesn't work for me "Product configuration is missing !"

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • venediktov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I will still give FileZilla 5 starts because I love this project. Now the problem started with 3.9.* version where OSX version would not allow you to chose a file and second click on it to edit etc. it would just start downloading the file. Using 3.8.1 and waiting for a more stable 3.9.* version.

    Posted 09/03/2014
  • razorwings18
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Been using FileZilla for years, and it has always been an AWESOME FTP client. Unfortunately, now I see what used to be one of my most trusted sites, SourceForge, has decided to start feeding us a bloatware-ridden installer, and the application developers have to suffer for it. Shame on you, SourceForge!

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • jaminscript
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING: INSTALLER CONTAINS CRAPWARE! Think that accept button during installation was for Filezilla? Nope, it was actually for bloatware and other junk that's now infested in your computer.

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • lisw001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T DOWNLOAD IT!! CRAPWARE comes together with it. SO disappointed with Sourceforge. We can no longer trust this website.

    Posted 08/31/2014
  • fdwaner
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING, recently FileZilla has changed from a nice useful software to be bundled with adware and unwanted installs. Some offers can be declined, others not. I got the infamous PC Optimizer... On the forum you can read more on the authors clear interest in making money this way: forum.filezilla-project.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31967&start=75 (see last comment). Get an old version or find something else...

    Posted 08/29/2014
  • robindecroon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla --> Great. However, I will not use it anymore since the installers installs crap no mather what you select during installation.

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • bartek-jaworski
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a great software, no doubt about it. However this installer will INSTALL CRAPWARE on your machine, regardless of what settings you choose during the installation.

    Posted 08/28/2014
  • colsima
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is great, I've used it for many years. However, the installer contains adware that despite me checking almost all pages through the installation, managed to elude me. Seriously Sourceforge? Before today I considered sourceforge a trusted place to get software, and would recommend it to friends. No longer. Torn what to give this as a review, because the core product is very good - but my shattering disappointment with the installer is what brought me here. I suggest the Filezilla team should find another distribution platform.

    Posted 08/27/2014
  • darkninja500
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent Software. @download-ardamax-keylogger-withcrack.blogspot.com Download Ardamax Keylogger 4.1 with crack free and hack today facebook,twitter etc but don't mis-use it.

    Posted 08/26/2014
  • tcll5850
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    *sigh* another software I loved that stopped supporting WinXP and went toward the RAT-ware (unsafe) OS's (Vista/7/8)... not to mention Ad-ware... WTF the app itself is great, but I can't use it anymore... time to find an alternative... -.-* PS: don't tell me to upgrade my OS... I prefer my privacy. if you guys want me to continue using your software, don't do stupid stuff like: - drop support for WinXP

    Posted 08/24/2014
  • gamerxdaniel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good app!

    Posted 08/24/2014
  • b_lindeijer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Uses installer than installs "Optimizer Pro" crapware in the background even if unchecked!

    Posted 08/21/2014
  • mandaksk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Software does not have adware, but the SourceForge installer has. Be careful before the SF installer actually downloads the main software. Notice the screens having Accept/Decline button.

    Posted 08/21/2014
  • oclaf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer brings malware! Use FireFTP or something else.

    Posted 08/20/2014
Show next 25 reviews