FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
883
23
14
9
309
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • cliffordex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge Web Installer contains malware, watch out if you intend to install!

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • gregnk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, easy to use FTP client.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • buythiscomputer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGEROUS ADWARE BAIDU FAST COMPUTER ! INCREDIBLE THAT WE CANNOT TRSUT SOURCEFORGE ANYMORE !!!! BE CAREFUL !!!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • scottkag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware city - let the downloader beware. I declined all agreements except for GNU (which it required to proceed with install) and still received some extremely nasty malware. Do not use!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • fnoyanisi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is so sad that I have to rate this project with only one star. Sourceforge installer comes with bunch of malware (to be clear, software that you would normally stay away) and turns your Windows PC into a useless box. I would recommend anyone not installing this software and look for some other alternatives instead. It used to be a good project but not anymore, just stay away if you want peace of mind.

    Posted 02/05/2015
  • moremalware
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a scam. This used to be good when I used it in the early 2000's .. now its just a wrapper for adware/spyware and shit software that will infect your computer with its garbage. The authors claim its virus free, but I guess we don't view 'virus' the same. My view is pretty broad and general. Any software that fucks up my computer. Installing FileZilla_3.10.1.1_win32-setup directly installed shit on my computer that now I'm having to spend what limited free time I have removing. Thanks Filezilla, keep up the fantastic shitholeness. (PS fix your forums, i hate having to come here to leave you a note like this when we could have handled it all private like. I'm sorry I've used my hotmail address since 1995. I'm sorry that you don't like it. but, honestly, get over yourselves.)

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • ne0gen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALEWARE INCLUDED!!! BE CAREFUL! Decline the first EULA's (Thirdparty-Software), then you can install FZ only!

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • jmst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla IS A VIRUS!!! It INFECTED my computer!

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • arizonajoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! FileZilla bundles MULTIPLE MALWARE. It sort of warns you about one of the malware apps. It does not warn you at all about the second. "PC Optimizer Pro" will take over your PC within a few minutes of installing FileZilla. It will present you with a list of alleged problems with your computer. The program window takes over and cannot be dismissed, preventing you from returning to any of your other programs. It completely disrupted a chat session I was having with my hosting provider's tech support. You have to open Task Manager to kill the process. (For more on this malware and how to uninstall it, just Google it. Tom's Hardware has a good article on it.) FileZilla does not give you an option to not have malware take over your computer. During the install, FileZilla also tries to bundle another malware app called Vosteran, make it your default browser, and reset your homepage. If you click on Advanced in the Sourceforge web installer, you can uncheck all the boxes to opt out of all the Vosteran malware. However, AT NO POINT DOES IT DISCLOSE THAT IT IS **ALSO** INSTALLING "PC OPTIMIZER PRO". At no point does it give you the ability to opt out. This program is much worse than the crapware that unscrupulous software distributors might bundle. This program takes over your computer. It lies to you about "problems" you have, and will make you pay to fix those "problems". It will not close, cannot be dismissed. This is essentially ransomware, and it crosses the line. FileZilla should be reclassified as a malware source. For info on how to uninstall Vosteran, see the Malwaretips website. If you google PC Optimizer Pro and FileZilla, you'll find an official FileZilla forum thread where the revenue recipient behind FileZilla skirts the fact that there are multiple malware apps included, that you have no choice about one of them, and that it **takes over your computer**: Better, more ethical alternatives: For Windows 7 - 8.x: - WinSCP - Bitvise - Notepad++ includes an FTP and SFTP client For Mac, check out: - Fetch - Cyberduck And a couple of highly-rated (and free) code editors built as Google Chrome apps, which have FTP and SFTP built in: Codeanywhere Shiftedit

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • littlerbit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla_3.10.1.1_win32-setup.exe has trojan via AVG ~ virustotal shows 7 / 57 trojans, etc ~ The FileZilla_3.10.1_win32-setup.exe file (last version) was CLEAN!!! ~ How/WHY do you go from CLEAN to CRAP??? ~

    Posted 02/01/2015
  • line5
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    (offline) installation seems not to be possible. some weird software is installed along with the application.

    Posted 02/01/2015
  • lycidiae
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware. Do not download. I went through the installation multiple times, carefully reading through, and unchecking EVERY optional piece of bloatware, and yet SourceForge's sketchy-ass installer decided that I still needed 'Optimizer Pro'. This is the last time I use SourceForge for anything. This has been extremely dissappointing. The people who are claiming that 'you don't download anything without explicit consent' are liars.

    Posted 01/31/2015
  • eces70
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like Filezilla FTP client. I think it's a great software and FREE! However, with the latest release of 3.10.0.2, I find it a bit disappointing; 1. Used to be able to upgrade straight from Filezilla. Usually if there's new release when Filezilla starts up it can download and upgrade automatically. With 3.10.0.2 nope. It failed to get the new release. 2. Upon manually visiting filezilla-project.org and clicking the "Download Filezilla Client" it redirects to sourceforge.net and automatically starts a download of an online/web installer which does not download the "actual" installer. 3. When installing using the web installer it actually appears to download the actual file, but in the background it forces to install Opera browser (not that it's a bad browser - just not my pref!) and the actual file itself was never downloaded. It just says download 100% but never continue any further. 4. The web installer also modifies my browsers to open up isearch.omiga-plus.com and set it as my default search engine. This is unacceptable. This adware. If Opera and/or Omiga-plus is supporting sourceforge financially, still, users have the right to choose whether they want to install the product or not instead of just forcing the installation. I had to manually go to sourceforge Filezilla project page, go to "Files" and manually drill down to the actual file itself! I would have given 5 stars, but the above reasons just blew it. Please, don't spoil a project this good.

    Posted 01/30/2015
  • domxh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunately also I felt in the trap of its disguised malware. AVG told me there was something suspicious, but coming from sourceforge I was sure this could not be correct. I even first found a post which assured that the anti-virus warning was normal and could be ignore. What a shame, this used to be such a great piece of software. I for sure won't be using it anymore.

    Posted 01/28/2015
  • mrmatherstone67
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the only FTP software I will use! Ignore the comments complaining that is is full of adware and such, it is NOT! The FileZilla installation file and the program are adware, malware and virus free. What the majority of other reviewers don't realise is to download FileZilla (or any other programs off this site) you have to use their "Download Manager" which is bundled with other rubbish to help pay for the service. This is NOT forced on you and you can easily click on the "Decline" buttons to stop it installing stuff. Once you've done this the Download Manager will then download the actual program you requested. Can people only review the program and not the actual installer that SourceForge force you to use in the future. It gives brilliant programs a bad name!

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • jsgeorge88
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just made an account to write this review for this piece of crap. This download is bundled with spam , ad-ware and what not. Download at your own risk and screw up your computer.

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • slothysloth
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WHAT THE HELL! HIDDEN IN THE INSTALL IS OPTIMIZER PRO SOFTWARE. WHAT A JOKE, ++++++++++++ DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS OR ANYTHING FROM THIS SITE>

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • scut_crapmaster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Once a great project and software. Now a total disaster with an installer loaded with crapware so awful that the only way to get the crap installed is to hide it in installers. Took me quite some time to get the crap uninstalled again and the computer acting properly again. Nice going ruining a great software.

    Posted 01/26/2015
  • jonw1990
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    if I had the option to give it no star I would... Loaded with extra unwanted shitty software DO NOT INSTALL it

    Posted 01/25/2015
  • humble92
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It has trojan virus. version : 3.10.0.2 (FileZilla_3.10.0.2_win32-setup.exe)

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • shikhar1985
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This Software is definitely a virus for your PC,Please do not download from sourceforge,try from somewhere else.This website making fools the visitor.

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • sezzer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What the f* is this sh*t? you kidding me? what is omiga plus ? what is xtab? filezilla contains virus???

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • teaman123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Are you kidding me? Bloatware and some crap browser that is hart to opt out of? The installer crashed but som "PC Enhancer" software was installed anyway. I thought SourceForge was a legit place to download tools from but after this I will go somewhere else.

    Posted 01/21/2015
  • gladman911
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Latest version doesn't work for me. Downgraded to 3.9

    Posted 01/19/2015
  • joehowski
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge's install is malware installer for Filezilla!!!! This file is 100% infected!!!!! You cannot avoid installing the browser hijack even if you decline in the latest version. Also the latest version for 3.9 is a downgrade from 3.10?????? Virustotal stongely indicates malware SHA256: 58fade9f67d54fe32de13d5ce8919bb24a33c98072aef8e673ccf8946eeaec41 File name: FileZilla_3.10.0.2_win32-setup.exe Detection ratio: 11 / 57 Analysis date: 2015-01-17 04:36:45 UTC ( 0 minutes ago ) www DOT virustotal DOT com/en/file/58fade9f67d54fe32de13d5ce8919bb24a33c98072aef8e673ccf8946eeaec41/analysis/1421469405/ Replace DOT with .

    Posted 01/17/2015
Show next 25 reviews