FileZilla Icon

The free FTP solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
843
11
6
4
111
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • thexfile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Careful sourceforge is trying to push adware on people by using a downloader.

    Posted 03/24/2014
  • nicolasnotcage
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had zero problems. Sure, it comes with OPTIONAL software that you can choose to install, but overall, works great. I didn't know if my install for FZ would complete if I chose not to install the sponsor stuff, so I chose to take the cleaning software, but I uninstalled it manually afterwards.

    Posted 03/22/2014
  • kidmaple
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Add SSH if it is possible.

    Posted 03/18/2014
  • hernewyldwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Full of Malware, thanks for providing the option to not install the crud that comes with it, but it still tries to install anyway. A shame really, Filezilla used to be brilliant.

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • insignia921
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The software is good but sometimes it just freezes specially opening multple FTP connections but great it's a great tool, using the exact version for your Operating System.

    Posted 03/15/2014
  • undervan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just terrible. The FZ (when opened) asked me to install an updated version. I agreed. It downloaded and installed automatically. Reboot the PC. I tried to open the FZ again. The PC, restarted again. I uninstalled everything and started to scan the entire PC with two antivirus at the same time. The program is great, but with this kind of thing, users began to think that is not the best choice. I repeat: FZ automatically downloaded the infected file (it was not by propaganda or something).

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • trancemaniac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unable to install ONLY the FileZilla cause of the PUP/Malware in the installer of SF. Noboby want the pc optimizer and other shit!

    Posted 03/13/2014
  • nicifer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very annoying adware installer. look out!

    Posted 03/08/2014
  • heezer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Unfortunanely, Sourceforge included a Hijacked installer with ads and shit. There is a VERY tiny link saying "Problems with the download? Try this [direct link]" which gives you the original FileZilla and not the shitty installer. Anyway, if you can't find the link, here is the direct link to the download (on Sourceforge servers without hijacked installer): cznic.dl.sourceforge.net/project/filezilla/FileZilla_Client/3.7.3/FileZilla_3.7.3_win32-setup.exe

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • seantobin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Includes sourceforge hijacked installer. Will install ads/browser hijacks. Even when cancelling installation, will add desktop links to the ad/browser hijack installer.

    Posted 03/07/2014
  • giles314
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You no longer download Filezilla but an adware. We need someone elseof trust to rebuild the software elsewhere.

    Posted 03/04/2014
  • homer2288
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bloatware ALERT!!! Do not download it, use an older version if you can find it. It installs Optimizer Pro and Paltalk Messenger at the same time. It's been compromised as someone mentioned. Beware!

    Posted 02/24/2014
  • rpdesign2013
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    S@&tty installer!! DO NOT TRUST SOURCE FORGE'S INSTALLER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Choose to download the main setup from the filezilla site by going to More download options and selecting your ver here filezilla-project.org/download.php?show_all=1 This review is for the POS installer from sourceforge. The Filezilla program is in my opinion one of the best ftp programs out there and i give it a 5 out of 5. The POS installer from source forge gets a nice warm place in hell for all i'm concerned. a nice fat -10 stars!!! [that is negative by the way!]

    Posted 02/23/2014
  • k3ssl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!! DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!! DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!! I downloaded the software from here and some bullshit named "Advanced System Protector" got installed and told me my download of Filezilla would be ready now. Now my PC is compromised and I need to spend all afternoon reinstalling my windows because I have no idea what sort of software got installed along the way. FUCK YOU for making me a ton of extra work! DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!! DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!! DONT USE THIS SOFTWARE!!!! IT IS COMPROMISED!!!

    Posted 02/23/2014
  • adam-p-s
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I quite like the software, but unfortunately the installer has become a highly deceptive adware trap - unless you are very careful you will end up installing some software you don't want that potentially invades your privacy. I'm not just talking an opt-in box here. It's vicious. On the first page, untick the recommended default install box and untick a second box. The second page is worse. There is a box innocently unticked, so you feel you are OK. However unless you press the greyed out "I disagree" box rather than the obvious "I agree" box, you get the junk ware. Sorry guys, but this is not acceptable.

    Posted 02/22/2014
  • jcnelson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I strongly agree with oldkat. FileZilla is a fine program on its own. Whatever you do, do NOT allow mySearchDial to be installed on your computer. It is spyware and will hijack your browser, causing you no end of problems. No reputable software developer would allow this software to be bundled with their product. Now that either this site has been hijacked or the FileZilla developers have sold out to the poisonous peddlers of mySearchDial, I will never use FileZilla again.

    Posted 02/22/2014
  • jcnelson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I strongly agree with oldkat. FileZilla is a fine program on its own. Whatever you do, do NOT allow mySearchDial to be installed on your computer. It is spyware and will hijack your browser, causing you no end of problems. No reputable software developer would allow this software to be bundled with their product. Now that either this site has been hijacked or the FileZilla developers have sold out to the poisonous peddlers of mySearchDial, I will never use FileZilla again.

    Posted 02/22/2014
  • kamigomi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Daily using! Very good. But it's perfect if allow to config external command compare remote and local file to avoid override others people changes.

    Posted 02/21/2014
  • xtremehit
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you want multiple type of adware, spyware, and other crap then download FileZilla! They also install optimizer pro which is a virus! Not to mention you also get Start.MySearchDial.com virus which hijacks your computer. After downloading and install FIleZilla it took me another hour to clean my computer! This is destruction of someone's property and a law suit should be filed. There is no mention of this software being added to my computer when downloading.

    Posted 02/20/2014
  • unstable_geek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Calm down everyone. Avoid the malware by downloading the latest zip from the file area. You don't get the installer, and you have to unzip and create shortcuts yourself. Big deal. The internet is full of monitizing schemes like this. Get over it and move on. FileZilla is still awesome software.

    Posted 02/18/2014
  • gmachine24
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    only a bonehead installs software without reading the latest information and the terms you're agreeing to when installing software. caveat emptor. having said that, the crapware present on many repackaged open-source projects is disturbing. DL The 7-zip dl from filehippo, e.g., is impossible to install without agreeing to some kind of crapware. This was not done by 7-zip developers, however.

    Posted 02/17/2014
  • jonny66
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Everyone BEWARE the new owners of sourceforge, Dice, are lowlife fuktards that include shitware with other peoples projects. Dice - you f-in lowlife scummy m-f-in dickeahds. I went to install FileZilla, and now my pc is full of shitware, spyware, adware, and F-You-Ware. And i cancelled the installation halfway through as i didnt want to polute my clean installation.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • edg2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've used FileZilla for years with no problem. However, the latest update installed vampire software on my computer. The "Weather Channel app". I can no longer recommend FileZilla and advise potential users to stay away from it before it hijacks your computer, too.

    Posted 02/16/2014
  • cfz5yvfewe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I had complete confidence in SourceForge UNTIL NOW! This POS installed MALWARE (OPTIMIZER PRO LAUNCHER) on my PC before I knew what was going on (exactly as SOURCEFORGE intended). I'm a loyal FileZilla fan and have been using it for years. I didn't know I had to be wary of installing it through SourceForge - UNTIL NOW! I'm not convinced this update is about anything but pushing MALWARE at you. After the MALWARE is installed, it will try to scare you into buying the upgrade to unlock all the features they rave about. YOU DON'T NEED IT! I won't rate the Ease, Features, Design or Support because my comments have nothing to do with FileZilla. If you update FileZilla through FileZilla, you can avoid the possibility of MALWARE installation all together. BE VERY CAREFUL ACCEPTING THE UPDATE FROM SOURCEFORGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted 02/13/2014
  • lalalalaurah
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I should have read the other reviews, downloaded malware along with it :(

    Posted 02/13/2014
Show next 25 reviews