FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
885
23
14
10
313
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • tortorrentsen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The recommended installer is riddled with malware. It's sad to see great software become comletely abandoned by loyal users due to a completely baffling attitude be the developer. Check out the official FileZilla forums for more. There are several threads about this right now.

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • mikotoiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge, this is ridiculous! You wrap legitimate software in your malware laced installer! This software can be downloaded without the installer though. Either hit the tiny direct download box below the big green button, or go to Browse All Files -> FileZilla_Client -> x.xx.x -> then click the Direct Download Link, and turn it to On. Then select your file, and away you go. Filezilla gets the 5 Star review, Sourceforge get a 0 star for wrapping legitimate software with its malware installer!

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • double-you
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer full of malware. Avoid. Pity that FileZilla lowered itself down to this very low level.

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • fuckfilezilla2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fuck this piece of shit program that infected my computer after a week of reinstalling everything. Fuck filezilla, I am never going to use this piece of shit ever again and i am going to build an account a day and give it the minimum review possible for as long as i can be bother. Don't whatever you do download this VIRUS INFECTED PIECE OF SHIT

    Posted 04/29/2015
  • rudyrockstar
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Reliable consistent performance across platforms (Linux, Windows, MacOS). SFTP and site management integrated nicely. Be careful with Window installs! Read before you click.

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • nguyenvanluan6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank so much

    Posted 04/27/2015
  • medvar72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Este archivo es peligroso. Contiene software malintencionado. Mi Avast logró detectarlo por suerte. This file is dangerous. It contain maliciosus code. My AV could detect it!

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • flinsy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wow, lleno de virus? En Virus Total acusa más de 10 virus!!! No puedo creerlo de SorceForge, vi que tardaba en instalar ahora y ahora mi sistema no se como estará, espero que mi AV haya detectado y parado la posible amenaza.

    Posted 04/26/2015
  • slowpace
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be very extremely careful when you download from Sourceforge. The 'Download Filezilla' seems to have a man in the middle attack. It looks exactly as a legitimately download, but when I check the MD5 of the file is not the same. I had to go to the Filezilla download page and select 'others' to properly download the file. I had to do it at least three times until I figured out how to download the correct file. Always check the MD5 against the site. Do not trust the download icon. If it does not download immediately don't trust it. You may be getting a trojan horse instead. In Windows you can find out the MD5 with fciv utility.

    Posted 04/24/2015
  • x-mad
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer contains "bundled software", you can decline to install it but it's being very sneaky about it. It's not something you would expect from a software you find on Sourceforge, and I'm very surprised Sourceforge is not actually banning the project altogether for pulling this kind of crap.

    Posted 04/21/2015
  • kamannn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Downloads updates without my permission and spams with update notifications even if I turn off update checking.

    Posted 04/20/2015
  • hosuronline
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Highly dangerous Filezilla has become now. Couple of years before, I used to use this bit of software for FTP usage and today, I installed it on my machine to find plenty of dangerous software getting installed in my system. Installation also does changes in default search engine of the browser. Sourceforge should take down this utility from their website.

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • arcegis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My goodness...Filezilla used to be good. Now it is a malware-ridden utter crap. Download only from XXX.SOURCEFORGE.NET, and NOT from 3rd-party websites ! The problem is, this trusted site only shows once in a seldom while...Fuck off, Tim Kosse.

    Posted 04/19/2015
  • khalid413
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    i have used this program for many years. but now that what i get !!! postimg.org/image/nn5kwtlwl/ postimg.org/image/46kvaaqsl/ idk what wrong with it but i hope they will fix this as soon as possible thanks

    Posted 04/16/2015
  • markpaulx
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stay away from the new version of Filezilla! I have used this program for years, but the new version installs all sorts of malware. All my browsers were hijacked. Now I have to spend hours getting rid of this junk. It is tragic, such a great FTP client, now ruined!

    Posted 04/14/2015
  • jplflyer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to love this product, but I am now telling everyone, "Do not use it". If he needs money to support the product, then charge for it. But installing malware on machines is entirely inappropriate. I should not have ot go to advanced options to realize it's going to install things on my machine. Furthermore, no way can I explain via email to far less computer illiterate people how to avoid it. Just say NO NO NO to FileZilla. And may the author roast in hell.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • bl0ckhead
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not download! This will install malware on your computer. Even if you think you are clever and you decline all the offers to have malware installed, you will still miss something and end up with annoying malware on your computer and be unhappy.

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • gadien
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program installs do-search without asking permissions.. I ran a number of scans and found one embedded deep in my system. THIS PROGRAM PROMOTES MALWARE!!!!

    Posted 04/10/2015
  • mrkaban
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Stupid morons who yell about malware, what place you think? You fucking do not distinguish advertising from Google button download programs? Yes, via Google advertising spread malware. I swear, like children, like adults, have been able to create here, but that's where the stick and do not know. The program is excellent, the best FTP client in the world! the most reliable! Updated regularly!

    Posted 04/06/2015
  • kohtra
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING! The installer includes malware that is installed even if you try to opt out! This was once a decent program and SF a decent site that one could trust. WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON??

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • cjrobe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware included in install, goes against the OSS spirit. Shame on you SF.

    Posted 03/26/2015
  • lclclclc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT download filezilla from sourceforge - it installs numerous malware programs without asking. Sourceforge is no longer trustworthy.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • g40252
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer is misleading and installed several scum applications, it resulted in windows reinstallation.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • virustestaccoun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ADWARE ALERT: The Sourceforge Installer delivers adware on your computer. Run AdwCleaner after installing this, or download FileZilla from PortableApps. And, I am including this in my antimalware's database.

    Posted 03/22/2015
  • postscription
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware including Trojan.Gen.2 FactFireSetup.exe

    Posted 03/20/2015
Show next 25 reviews