FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
889
24
17
10
327
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • littlebigbug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is f**king sexy. Okay lets really get into this. Filezilla is very simple, free and easy to use. I haven't had a single annoyance with this You sexy program, you. <3 As a Garry'sMod server Owner, Website Designer and a former Minecraft Server owner This has been nothing but great.

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • titi3000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware, don't install it. They attached 2 to 2 malwares in there. I had spent hours to remove it and malwares.

    Posted 05/28/2015
  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server is an extremely flexible, stable file server for use on a LAN, over the Internet, or both, with the same or different user accounts. It can be installed as an invisible daemon, and managed with a separate Windows-native GUI from any computer. Management can be easily restricted with an access list, it happenns via a separate port 14147, which can be changed and secured with a firewall. Server works over NAT without a helper in the router, if you configure a port range for it. You should assign about 500-1000 ports because of how TCP sockets are recycled, and make sure they don't overlap with other services. This is the only serious shortcoming of FTP. /./ FileZilla runs on all versions of Microsoft Windows, and allows to easily connect any machines such as Win98 to WinSeven together without doing time consuming research on Windows security permissions. All it needs is a working TCP/IP. I use it on my LAN all the time. The program can max out Fast Ethernet and Gigabit connections with default settings, delivering 11 and 110 MB/s troughput respectively, which Windows Network Neighborhood /SMB/CIFS can't do. Because of that, FileZilla is a convenient, practical speed test. Most FTP clients output verbose error messages or show a log, which makes troubleshooting connectivity problems easy. /./ I use version 0.9.23 on most computers, and 0.9.12c on retro win9x systems. The author, is rather dismissive of old technology and has removed support for old systems. Nevertheless, these versions continue to work and are very stable. /./ The negative reviews here are not about the program itself, but about the sourceforge web-installer. Those should be avoided by default.

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • mw1945
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla for OSX package installs MacKeeper and ZipCloud without notice. Avoid this package.

    Posted 05/26/2015
  • rdholder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Webroot flagged the windows download as a virus, and I had to stop what I was doing and go through the removal process. Think twice before running this download, and check it with your AV software, and on virustotal.com etc.

    Posted 05/25/2015
  • denniswier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    version 3.10.3 extracts and runs like a charm, got the "updated" version 3.11.0.1, extracts and does nothing!! nice way of breaking something that worked before...

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • f4ecw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla est un outil fantastique, malheureusement il vient desormais avec un Trojan/Malware/Virus, appele PremierOpinion de la compagnie VoiceFive : C est tres decevant, une trahison envers les utilisateurs. Donc a eviter absolument tant que durera la presence de ce malware..

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • cvine
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program should definitely be avoided. I have just tried out the installer on a windows machine, and it is definitely deceptive - it is very easy to misunderstand what is being installed. I have three projects on sourceforge and I am now going to take steps where I can move them to. I think sourceforge's behavior is unacceptable.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • suckrpnch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs spyware. Not what it used to be. Installs PremierOpinion along with trying to install yahoo searchbar crap.

    Posted 05/19/2015
  • qaisjp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    malware

    Posted 05/17/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla.

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • surferconor425
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I noticed the installer, my Antivirus started screaming malware at me. I randomly clicked on of the other mirrors, which ended up being Liquid Telecom and surprise surprise. No installer and no malware. Just standard FileZilla. I also scanned the file from Liquid Telecom (I am using AVG Antivirus for Mac) and it said its clean. It should come in a standard tar.bz2 file if its the safe version (for Mac anyway).

    Posted 05/16/2015
  • thedward
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to recommend FileZilla to all my customers, but I no longer do so because the default download is bundled with malware/adware.

    Posted 05/14/2015
  • m3matters
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can confirm that this contains nasty spyware ("PremierOpinion"). I'm struggling to remove it. Do not download FileZilla. Find an alternative not offered through sourceforge. Such a shame, this used to be great software. The authors should be ashamed.

    Posted 05/14/2015
  • glaux-osdev
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I powered on Windows and I downloaded filezilla *only* to learn if these rumors are correct. Yes, they are! The sourceforge installer has PUA/InstallCore virus. I know I can download it without the installer, but this installer is a bad movement. I quit sourceforge!

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • miknik85
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I use FIlezilla on my website, and i like it so much, great work my website: mobiletoday.it

    Posted 05/13/2015
  • mmwohxov
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This product does WONDERS for IT employment rates. In our corporation we are very busy reinstalling machines that have been hopeless infected by malware after installing Filezilla from sourceforge.net. We reinstall at least one machine every day. I not only strongly advise everyone to stay way clear of filezilla, but also of anything related to sourceforge at this time. Sad really, it used to be pretty cool.....

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • john8888a
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Shame that a reliable ftp client like Filezilla contains malware! What we developers try to aviod, Filezilla gives it to us secretly! Avoid.

    Posted 05/11/2015
  • kobberholm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sadly I can no longer recommend this application as they have chosen to bundle it with malware. For a free open source FTP client on Windows I now recommend WinSCP.

    Posted 05/10/2015
  • jamesm91
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant piece of software, shame that the down loader is laced with malware, avoid!

    Posted 05/06/2015
  • tortorrentsen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The recommended installer is riddled with malware. It's sad to see great software become comletely abandoned by loyal users due to a completely baffling attitude be the developer. Check out the official FileZilla forums for more. There are several threads about this right now.

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • mikotoiii
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge, this is ridiculous! You wrap legitimate software in your malware laced installer! This software can be downloaded without the installer though. Either hit the tiny direct download box below the big green button, or go to Browse All Files -> FileZilla_Client -> x.xx.x -> then click the Direct Download Link, and turn it to On. Then select your file, and away you go. Filezilla gets the 5 Star review, Sourceforge get a 0 star for wrapping legitimate software with its malware installer!

    Posted 04/30/2015
  • double-you
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer full of malware. Avoid. Pity that FileZilla lowered itself down to this very low level.

    Posted 04/30/2015
Show next 25 reviews