FileZilla Icon

The free FTP solution

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
843
11
6
4
111
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • jcesarsh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    No se puede instalar sin instalar toda la mierda nueva y spyware que han puesto, una lastima que despues de tantos años se lo hayan cargado

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • myhoster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer loaded crapware onto my computer, some "system scanner" rubbish, with no option to avoid it. To top it off, drag-and-drop uploading doesn't work. Filezilla, you used to make a really awesome product, but now... eeeech! friv games my-friv.com

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • widgetpls
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I'll still personally use this, but I've never seen an installer so dishonest on what you were installing. Completely spyware- and malware-filled now

    Posted 04/19/2014
  • dice4000
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very disappointed in sourceforge for allowing software to contain malware. Searchdial, pc optimizer? Really? Not cool.... gonna start using another site. Bad sourceforge....

    Posted 04/17/2014
  • jamy8050
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just registered to leave a review on this. FileZilla is great, but this installer is a serious fail for it. DO NOT INSTALL THIS SOFTWARE - unless you know what you are doing it will install SPYWARE/VIRUSES. sourceforge has become a SELLOUT, trying to make money from virus installers. AVOID!! I am disgusted, we will now find something else and would never ever use sourceforge or suggest it to anyone.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • primerseq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer installs a bunch of junk on your computer. The unwanted additional software is selected by default and intentionally made so people won't notice the checked boxes. I have recommended filezilla in the past, but honestly now I will actively suggest people to use other FTP options. As for sourceforge in general, this bad experience will likely mean I will never host a project on sourceforge again and move all my projects to github.

    Posted 04/16/2014
  • rocjoe
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installer loaded crapware onto my computer, some "system scanner" rubbish, with no option to avoid it. To top it off, drag-and-drop uploading doesn't work. Filezilla, you used to make a really awesome product, but now... eeeech!

    Posted 04/15/2014
  • grannygamer1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I need FileZilla to open files & folders for my MineCraft server that are online. But I encountered a potential virus threat in the process. Here's what I did. youtu.be/PooWgmVgJAM

    Posted 04/14/2014
  • harlekein
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SF is now peddling malware.

    Posted 04/12/2014
  • mott88
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla used to be a good product, but now it's full of malware. You should you use some other FTP software.

    Posted 04/11/2014
  • ptim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Betrayed.You fed me Optimizer Pro on the sly. Filezilla: get yourself a github account. Can't believe I said to my client "Sourceforge is an institution, I'd trust that over your free virus scanner". BTW: Cyberduck is free, and also handles S3, available for Mac and Windows.

    Posted 04/10/2014
  • hairem
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works great! I don't understand what all the fuss is about other programs. They clearly disclose that "The installer may provide you with offers from our advertisers." I read each screen, selected NO for each additional program or toolbar, and FileZilla installed with no extra crap. They've got to make money somehow so that we can keep benefiting from their labor.

    Posted 04/08/2014
  • user43234823402
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    SF, you have betrayed my trust. I used to love FileZilla, and I have been using it for many years now, but now it --- or the SF download manager --- is full of MALWARE. I tried to download the latest version directly from SF and it forced me to install the SourceForge "download manager", which I begrudgingly and hesitantly did. After I installed FileZilla, I now have this lovely thing called FAST CLEAN PRO on my PC. An yes, I declined all of the optional installers. Again, I'm not sure where the issue lies, in the download manager, or in the FileZilla installer, but I can no longer trust either.

    Posted 04/07/2014
  • skinale
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer try to install adware; antivirus like Bit Defender, AVG, ESET-NOD32, F-Secure ecc reports malware, trojans ecc UNACCEPTABLE

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • bearmatt
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed junkware - really !!

    Posted 04/06/2014
  • jl-sf-2014
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice product but I confirm that installers contain/recover malicious softwares. The direct links are ok, but several sources via "Installer enabled" buttons download versions 3.7.3 and 3.8.0 with virus that collect your ftp passwords and tranfer them to hackers/robots servers. ---- The infected servers : [ ids.sourceforgecdn.com ] with IP [54.247.191.246 and 46.137.170.100], [ os.sourceforgecdn.com ] with IP [54.245.224.246 and 54.203.246.77 and 54.212.249.225] ---- Public french report: [ www.clubic.com/antivirus-securite-informatique/virus-hacker-piratage/malware-logiciel-malveillant/actualite-615478-client-ftp-filezilla-touchee-malware-circule.html ].

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • throwawayaccoun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to use Filezilla. But no more. Not since I went to install it from SourceForge and even after unticking the option to add malware toolbar (searchdial) it still attempted to load some kind of garbage on my PC.(C:\Users\<Removed>\AppData\Local\Temp\IS1751~1\215913511_stp\OptimizerPro.exe a variant of Win32/SpeedingUpMyPC.H application cleaned by deleting - quarantined)

    Posted 04/03/2014
  • ivessm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't believe this was an infected install file. I believe it is a false positive on AVG's part but better to play it safe and wait for it to be cleaned or AVG updates their signatures. Filezilla is really a super FTP engine. Many thanks to the developers.

    Posted 04/01/2014
  • superhuman3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I also had a problem with this infected archive. But fortunately AVG informed me immediately after download that it contains spyware. I deleted it. Maybe I can find FileZilla on a more responsible site, which I was surprised that Sourceforge isn't.

    Posted 04/01/2014
  • fbanty
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very easy to use and fast. I like it.

    Posted 03/30/2014
  • unjourrajas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    File zilla is one of the best software that is mostly used by developers from all over the world. www.urgentfiles.com/2013/10/free-download-filezilla-37-client-server.html

    Posted 03/29/2014
  • unjourrajas
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    File zilla is one of the best software that ismostly used by developers from all over the world. www.urgentfiles.com/2013/10/free-download-filezilla-37-client-server.html

    Posted 03/29/2014
  • pritesh137
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Life Saver

    Posted 03/27/2014
  • samshiv
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I am new to website developing. Web host suggested using FileZilla for FTP. Downloaded from Sourceforge and had instant "mysearchdial" malware infection. Didn't believe and realize that it was bundled and dl'ed from SourceForge. 1 week later (today) setting up new computer with windows 8.1. Brand new. Decide to install FileZilla, again from Sourceforge. Infected my new computer. Check FileZilla's .org page. They mention Avast blog noticing this and aren't appreciative. I don't just trust anything from SourceForge now, like I have before. This is some f'ed up sh--! Oh yeah, scanning now with Avast and FileZilla came up as infected with malware, it wasn't just the Mysearchdial. Download FileZilla at your own risk!

    Posted 03/26/2014
  • mshmovie
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    BEWARE: FileZilla 3.7.3 (which I downloaded on March 10th, 2014) came bundled with MySearchDial malware. This was not detected by Windows Defender on Windows 8 and was a pain to eliminate. It also disabled the standard system backups. It's a shame such a nice FTP tool got a nasty surprise bundled in it. I'm forced to rate this one star where it would have easily earned five. Can someone elaborate on how the installer became compromised and what will be done to prevent that from happening in the future? Has anyone experienced this issue when accepting an upgrade:?

    Posted 03/26/2014
Show next 25 reviews