FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
858
16
9
5
163
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • oclaf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer brings malware! Use FireFTP or something else.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • easyw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    nice sw but BE AWARE OF THE INSTALLER ... it can install BLOAT ADWARE!!!

    Posted 08/19/2014
  • hfcs
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Become one with your inner Loser. If you dumb enough to use installer, maybe you deserve adware? Maybe you should not be using Filezilla or the Internet? The web site clearly offers a zip package where you can bypass the crumby installer with its viruses and trojans that will destroy your internet browser. So learn to, in the words of the esteemed Dr. Vustahn-B'alpharzt, "utilizar du braine."

    Posted 08/17/2014
  • therealwelldone
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    without host is awfull.:(

    Posted 08/16/2014
  • jsaurab
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very bad adware inside SF Installer filled my browsers with annoying popups and another intrusive ads!!.

    Posted 08/16/2014
  • vorlauf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Do not run the installer! Installer is bundled with malware that hijacks web browsers!

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • darkounet789
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla itself is a very good program, but seriously, what the f*** is this installer ? You can't avoid installing a crappy adware ! What a shame !! I don't know who I should blame, sourceforge or FileZilla but anyway DON'T EVER DOWNLOAD THE INSTALLER ! It would be a huge mistake !

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • jaykul
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to love FileZilla and trust SourceForge. This new cramware install wrapper is awful and wrong.

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • ghickley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A great product ruined by installed with parasiteware like Driver Support and Optimizer Pro. Such a shame. Avoid

    Posted 08/14/2014
  • jhondu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install with SourceForge it give you garbage software !!!

    Posted 08/12/2014
  • gigapouch
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is really no point in downloading this software. And you can easily decline to installing the malware.

    Posted 08/11/2014
  • xuanbinhbk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    a great app but occasionally errors when loading file

    Posted 08/09/2014
  • fd2014
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD THIS PROGRAM FROM THIS WEBSITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Installs a bunch of junk on your computer which then takes a good 20 minutes to uninstall. I downloaded it from cnet after and had zero programs. This is a SCAM.

    Posted 08/06/2014
  • chernobylprize
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Used to be the best FTP client, now sadly loaded with adware. Install at your own risk!

    Posted 08/06/2014
  • jh0st
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You guys should be ashamed of yourselves. Sure you are given a 'choice' not to install malware like Astromenda that's 'bundled' with FileZilla, but the difference here is that the installer was specifically designed with the intention for someone to miss this step and it does a great job at it. Just read all the negative comments Sourceforge and FileZilla. Your reputations have gone down the toilet. Never mind the sketchy installer, the fact that you'd even team with Astromenda is disgusting and ruins any trust you've built with potential clients. Sourceforge is a host?? I would never seek services from a firm that caters to internet sleaze. If you can't find a way to make money in a way that builds trust and community then just do us all a favor and give up now.

    Posted 08/05/2014
  • gemmamac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I need to apologize for my previous bad review saying that I was seeing malware or adware in my remote site after installing Filezilla. Some file called "trellix". I found out that after the last Filezilla upgrade, I was seeing a file on my remote site that was previously hidden. It turned out to be a site addon that I had checked out years ago and it left an empty folder in my files. A folder not visible when I use my host's site manager but visible in the archive area of my site. Make sure you always go to the official site to update Filezilla. There are many sites offering it that may add things to the install. The official Filezilla site does say there may be bundled offers but you can opt out and the clean install option is available. This is the official site: filezilla-project.org This is still a very good program.

    Posted 07/31/2014
  • veo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Install with SourceForge it give you garbage software with tricky agreement that will cheat you to accept.

    Posted 07/29/2014
  • flnic
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe my eyes, I just installed filezilla server from a Sourceforge download and my computer and browser are plagued with an adware. Whao! what a disappointment, sourceforge... I guess I'll be deleting my SF account now...

    Posted 07/28/2014
  • cvaras14
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I opened an account just to tell you that your installer sucks big time. I am a systems administrator and I used to rely on SourceForge for my software downloads. I guess I will have to go back to CNet. The installer ran OK, but I could not get the download. Please stop. You are not fooling anyone and you are aggravating loyal users.

    Posted 07/27/2014
  • kostasdaskalos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you for ruining one of my longest running trusted apps. I switched immedietly after this %$&^$%$# installer!

    Posted 07/26/2014
  • bhagenow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla itself is awesome. But I will never install it again because of the absolute garbage that now installs with it. It is totally unacceptable to bundle in the other pieces of garbage with the installer. I do not care how good the advertised product is, NEVER force the user to install additional software they may not want. FileZilla just went from my highly recommended list to my stay away from list. I even went into the advanced install and selected only FileZilla to install. It didn't matter as I still got "FastClean PRO".

    Posted 07/24/2014
  • photomarketing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a 71 year old nerd, a user of technology, I've learned over many years TO NEVER AUTOMATICALLY ALLOW ANY SOFTWARE TO AUTOMATICALLY INSTALL ANYTHING. Thus, for those who claim they weren't notified about additional software being loaded/installed, you were and have been for some time. What you did was accept the default which is set to AUTOMATICALLY install everything. Don't do that. Plus, if you had your antivirus software set correctly, none of that software would have been installed. I give FileZilla 5 stars. And, if I fail to take my time doing the installation, then it is MY FAULT not Source Forges. I know better and everyone else should know better. If they don't, well, they deserve to get all that junk on their system. That's how my son makes his living by removing junk from computers because people, in general, could care less. It costs about 200 dollars to have the junk removed. Cash cow computer repairs. I made a nice living that way as well.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • nuncio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What's with the installer hijack? I thought I was downloading FileZilla, but the installer tried installing a bunch of other programs before asking me if I wanted to download FileZilla. Will it just download another installer full of adware and spyware? No thanks Do yourself a favor - download the ZIP file, not the EXE file.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • mherzog100
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware Warning! I love the program but the Malware is unacceptable. 5 Stars for program. 1 star for Malware = 3 Stars.

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • ethanbmnz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ###ATTENTION EVERYONE### Regarding the complaints about the installer, see these screenshots on how to avoid the cr@pware: "tinyurl.com/fzdirect" (add the http prefix at the start of tinyurl, do not inlcude the speech marks) Two options with screenshots - A is for downloading from SF, B# Is for downloading from the FZ website. If doing B do B1 first then B2. No cr@pware! The installer as it should be

    Posted 07/16/2014
Show next 25 reviews