FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • hobbyboy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is certainly one of the best FTP/SFTP clients around, and the best thing about it - it's free and open source. I have had no problems downloading/uploading files over plain FTP, or over SFTP, both to local and remote locations, and it certainly beats traditional command line FTP clients for downloading directories (except lftp with its mirror command). To those who complain about malware being bundled with FileZilla, I can ensure you that the real FileZilla installer and FileZilla itself do NOT contain any malware or crapware. When downloading make sure you either press the "Direct Download" button under the Download button on the main project page, or press the "Direct Download Link: Off" button in the Files section so you get the real installer and not the Installer Enabled version (after clicking, it should say "Direct Download Link: On". Certainly recommended for file transfer on Windows, and Linux if you own a VPS or dedicated server!

    Posted 07/22/2015
  • patacongo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My favorite FTP client by far.

    Posted 06/19/2015
  • laage65
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Totalmente contaminado de malware. Goggle Chrome ya no permite llegar a la pagina de este proyecto. Por eso sigo usando una version vieja del mismo. No he podido actualizarlo. Aunque la version vieja sigue siendo de utilidad para mi. Fully contaminated malware. Goggle Chrome no longer leads to the page of this project. So I'm using an old version of it. I could not update it. Although the old version is still useful to me.

    Posted 06/12/2015
  • littlebigbug
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This program is f**king sexy. Okay lets really get into this. Filezilla is very simple, free and easy to use. I haven't had a single annoyance with this You sexy program, you. <3 As a Garry'sMod server Owner, Website Designer and a former Minecraft Server owner This has been nothing but great.

    Posted 05/29/2015
  • j7nj7n
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla Server is an extremely flexible, stable file server for use on a LAN, over the Internet, or both, with the same or different user accounts. It can be installed as an invisible daemon, and managed with a separate Windows-native GUI from any computer. Management can be easily restricted with an access list, it happenns via a separate port 14147, which can be changed and secured with a firewall. Server works over NAT without a helper in the router, if you configure a port range for it. You should assign about 500-1000 ports because of how TCP sockets are recycled, and make sure they don't overlap with other services. This is the only serious shortcoming of FTP. /./ FileZilla runs on all versions of Microsoft Windows, and allows to easily connect any machines such as Win98 to WinSeven together without doing time consuming research on Windows security permissions. All it needs is a working TCP/IP. I use it on my LAN all the time. The program can max out Fast Ethernet and Gigabit connections with default settings, delivering 11 and 110 MB/s troughput respectively, which Windows Network Neighborhood /SMB/CIFS can't do. Because of that, FileZilla is a convenient, practical speed test. Most FTP clients output verbose error messages or show a log, which makes troubleshooting connectivity problems easy. /./ I use version 0.9.23 on most computers, and 0.9.12c on retro win9x systems. The author, is rather dismissive of old technology and has removed support for old systems. Nevertheless, these versions continue to work and are very stable. /./ The negative reviews here are not about the program itself, but about the sourceforge web-installer. Those should be avoided by default.

    Posted 05/27/2015
  • denniswier
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    version 3.10.3 extracts and runs like a charm, got the "updated" version, extracts and does nothing!! nice way of breaking something that worked before...

    Posted 05/24/2015
  • kaosengr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Make sure you get the real installer and not the malware that;s somehow downloading for a lot of people. This crazy installer/malware is 730kB in size and not the REAL file. However, if you go to sourceforge and browse the files or use "Direct download" under the Bigger green button you obtain the REAL file. This happened to me for both the client and the server installation files. The software obtained with the REAL non-malware installer works great.

    Posted 05/21/2015
  • kim015
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    must have for web developer :)

    Posted 05/19/2015
Show next 25 reviews