FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform (GPL- GNU) FTP client

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
856
15
9
5
147
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • bhagenow
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla itself is awesome. But I will never install it again because of the absolute garbage that now installs with it. It is totally unacceptable to bundle in the other pieces of garbage with the installer. I do not care how good the advertised product is, NEVER force the user to install additional software they may not want. FileZilla just went from my highly recommended list to my stay away from list. I even went into the advanced install and selected only FileZilla to install. It didn't matter as I still got "FastClean PRO".

    Posted 07/24/2014
  • photomarketing
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    As a 71 year old nerd, a user of technology, I've learned over many years TO NEVER AUTOMATICALLY ALLOW ANY SOFTWARE TO AUTOMATICALLY INSTALL ANYTHING. Thus, for those who claim they weren't notified about additional software being loaded/installed, you were and have been for some time. What you did was accept the default which is set to AUTOMATICALLY install everything. Don't do that. Plus, if you had your antivirus software set correctly, none of that software would have been installed. I give FileZilla 5 stars. And, if I fail to take my time doing the installation, then it is MY FAULT not Source Forges. I know better and everyone else should know better. If they don't, well, they deserve to get all that junk on their system. That's how my son makes his living by removing junk from computers because people, in general, could care less. It costs about 200 dollars to have the junk removed. Cash cow computer repairs. I made a nice living that way as well.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • nuncio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What's with the installer hijack? I thought I was downloading FileZilla, but the installer tried installing a bunch of other programs before asking me if I wanted to download FileZilla. Will it just download another installer full of adware and spyware? No thanks Do yourself a favor - download the ZIP file, not the EXE file.

    Posted 07/23/2014
  • mherzog100
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware Warning! I love the program but the Malware is unacceptable. 5 Stars for program. 1 star for Malware = 3 Stars.

    Posted 07/18/2014
  • ethanbmnz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    ###ATTENTION EVERYONE### Regarding the complaints about the installer, see these screenshots on how to avoid the cr@pware: "tinyurl.com/fzdirect" (add the http prefix at the start of tinyurl, do not inlcude the speech marks) Two options with screenshots - A is for downloading from SF, B# Is for downloading from the FZ website. If doing B do B1 first then B2. No cr@pware! The installer as it should be

    Posted 07/16/2014
  • laruelled
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Would have been 5 stars without this crapy installer!!! Please, repackage it without this malware!!! For those who still want to install Filezilla, go to Files > Filezilla Client > last version > download the ZIP file. No need to install, justt unzip and run without installing :-)

    Posted 07/15/2014
  • doabarrelroll
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The below viewers who think it's filled with malware don't know what they're talking about; they're clicking Aceept Offer for the "malware programs". Filezilla is a great program; I use it every day!

    Posted 07/12/2014
  • gox74
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How dare Sourceforge and Filezilla provide this malware infected installer ? This trap is realy dangerous ! Using open source reputation to betray users, what a shame...

    Posted 07/11/2014
  • christianbro1
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Y yo que pensaba que Sourceforge era una de las pocas páginas que ofrecía programas sin mierda de instaladores, y desde luego que nunca caigo, pero como confiaba en esta página hice una común instalación rápida, y ponéis el spam en la peor parte, en los términos y condiciones, y al final son términos de mierda de scam. Desde luego más bajo no podéis haber caído, nivel Softonic, esa mierda que alguien con un mínimo de conocimiento no utiliza. Y para el colmo, NO SE PUEDE QUITAR. El antivirus(Avast) y su sistema de eliminar complementos no funciona. He mirado todas las opciones de los navegadores, he eliminado los programas que me se han instalado. He intentado restaurar el sistema 2 veces, ambas no funcionaba o pantallazo azul, y tengo una instalación nueva de Windows de un par de días y ya me la habéis jodido. Voy a tener que reinstalar Windows solo por vuestra gran mierda de instalador.

    Posted 07/10/2014
  • wilber27
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I can't believe SourceForge is allowing this type of infested app to be housed. Stick with the old versions; the new ones are full of crap and will mess you up; READ THE REVIEWS if you don't believe me.

    Posted 07/09/2014
  • mudongliangabcd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    跨平台,很好用!

    Posted 07/07/2014
  • gemmamac
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There was a warning about other offerings with the download but I didn't see any choices and didn't click any other download. Now I see .trellix in my htdocs only in the Filezilla window. I don't see it when I login to my site directly. What the heck is it and how did it get there? Such a sad thing for a once respected and much recommended utility.

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • muroko
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Beware! Adware inside.

    Posted 07/04/2014
  • wbjb
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Brilliant software, but now they've started packing it with rubbish like Speedial I can no longer recommend it - use an old version instead.

    Posted 07/02/2014
  • mihondo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The server installer comes with crapware - Symantec detects Trojan.Gen.SMH in a file called rocketsilent.exe

    Posted 06/30/2014
  • emailfinder
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good and efficient software !

    Posted 06/29/2014
  • gvbsource
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great project, If and only if they decide to remove Adware from installer!! Really dangerous!!

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • juzaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Shipped with shit. And as long it is so, I hope this software dies. What a shame. Bad reputation to Filezilla and SF.

    Posted 06/27/2014
  • podxyz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this software for a few years with no issues. But trying to download it today my anti virus checker stopped it. 3 stars because I am not sure of the cause.

    Posted 06/26/2014
  • qbe007
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Zero stars. Stay away from this garbage: the horrible installer will infect you with undesired and undesirable malware, whether you choose it or not. I carefully followed the instructions for NOT allowing the installer to install its crapware. Even before the installer finished downloading FileZilla, the crapware (Speedial) was requesting permission to hijack my browser's search. I immediately canceled the download/installation and deleted the FileZilla installer...and found that the installer had hijacked all my browsers with Speedial anyway. Absolutely unacceptable. Ironically, while the software was downloading I was thinking that it'd be nice to be able to contribute to developers and avoid their "need" to infect users with adware. Now I fully intend to warn as many as possible away from FileZilla. I'll happily stick with WinSCP.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • wm009
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Adware infested crap. It's true the software is good. But the owner doesn't care about the people that download it. It's true that you can technically opt out of it, but they have the installation set up in such a deceptive way. And the sad part is that the owner has the audacity to say that you can decline it (assuming you can get past the trickery) that suddenly this changes the fact that you think it's okay to bundle your software with adware. The site does have a link adwareless download. But it doesn't say that. It has the "recommended" version that is bundled with other "software". For some reason it doesn't say "Adware" that you can't uninstall without some sort of malware tools or wiping your computer (which is what I have to do because I can't trust the computer anymore). I'd be more willing to pay for a pro version than see you infest your software with Adware. Not that I expect this review to change anything. The owner botg seems to be pretty content with doing moral gymnastics to justify infecting your computer with adware. Boycott it.

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • toss
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    we download an MALWARE !!!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • bss172017
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    My web host sent me an email and told me to download this file because I need to make changes to my Wordpress site and make my wordpress files writeable. I have tried more than several times to down load the file and my virus protector keeps picking up a bug and asking me to allow, remove or cancel. I've just cancelled each time and deleted the file as I can't even "run" it. What do I do now? God this is so unbelievably frustrating!

    Posted 06/23/2014
  • macruzq
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    After several years of satisfaction of an excellent product, I found the following issue in the last version: It makes Windows explorer crash (Win 7 32 bit) , with the following result (from event log): --- Nombre de la aplicación con errores: Explorer.EXE, versión: 6.1.7601.17567, marca de tiempo: 0x4d6727a7 Nombre del módulo con errores: ntdll.dll, versión: 6.1.7601.18247, marca de tiempo: 0x521ea91c Código de excepción: 0xc0000005 Desplazamiento de errores: 0x0001f9e2 Id. del proceso con errores: 0xbdc Hora de inicio de la aplicación con errores: 0x01cf8cac208c6a5f Ruta de acceso de la aplicación con errores: C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE Ruta de acceso del módulo con errores: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll Id. del informe: 79185d62-f89f-11e3-a81c-eca86b715b7e --- It makes crash with right click is used on any file. And I found that only when uninstalling AND deleting the following files BY HAND, the issue disappears: --- fzshellext.dll libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll libstdc++-6.dll libwinpthread-1.dll --- In fact, I selected "Uninstall " and after process finished, it asked to reboot. On restart, the file where the program is installed is full with all the files, and the issue persisted. I manually deleted all the files, but the previously mentioned were not deleted, indicating that they were used by Windows. I had to reboot to the option "Safe mode with command prompt" in order to be able to delete the files and directory. Then, after a check with CCleaner, one key remained in registry: --- ActiveX/COM Issue InProcServer32\C:\Program Files\FileZilla FTP Client\fzshellext.dll HKCR\CLSID\{DB70412E-EEC9-479C-BBA9-BE36BFDDA41B} --- And it was deleted manually too. All the above procedure was made TWICE, because after the first time, I reinstalled the new version, hoping that it has been only a defective installation but it has not. I hope that it is corrected for the next version because it is a very useful tool. Thank you in advance.

    Posted 06/20/2014
  • fanqi1234
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project has been compromised by ad ware.

    Posted 06/20/2014
Show next 25 reviews