FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
870
19
11
7
217
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • virsus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T INSTALL REALLY BAD MALWARE!!!!!!!!!! SOURCE FORGE SHOULD BE ASHAMED!

    Posted 11/21/2014
  • crz210
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool can't wait to get started

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • crz210
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Cool can't wait to get started

    Posted 11/16/2014
  • doug8429
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is great, but this installer includes the trojan Mackeeper, DON'T INSTALL.

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • orforon
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DON'T USE! INSTALLER IS LOADED WITH MALWARE! DON'T USE!

    Posted 11/10/2014
  • mkalisz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Skip the adware installer! A perfect example on how to turn functioning software to a piece of $$hit... It's time to look for alternatives folks...

    Posted 11/09/2014
  • bartificer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE WINDOWS VERSION FROM HERE - IT BUNDLES ADWARE. Get this lovely piece of software from the developers site, not from here!

    Posted 11/05/2014
  • xc8
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Bonus malware/adware into the installer!

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • jenkster
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I just downloaded an old version for Windows, 3.6.0.2, but still got a 773 kb malware installer. Good thing Symantec warned me as I didn't notice the endless warnings in the reviews. Adding ?nowrap to the end of the download link gave a proper 4.48 mb installer that is identical to one downloaded in Feb 2013.

    Posted 10/31/2014
  • ulvy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I downloaded this and it installed 3 other programs besides filezilla. It is misleading because I was purposely not trying to install any other software besides filezilla.

    Posted 10/30/2014
  • bjornarg
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Installer will try to infect your computer with troublesome malware that can be a pain to get rid of!

    Posted 10/28/2014
  • zainak75
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The sw may be good, but the filezilla team sucks. When an app puts rubbish on your computer, the only rating the sw deserves are negative. Pop ups with fake critical messages are annoying and only tells me that the developers of this sw has no respect to others. If they wants money for this shit, ask for it rather than stealing my time. I was given the option to not install some browser-addon, cudos for that, such addons are nothing but waste of time and money, but there where no warnings that there would be other trojans installed regardless of your choice.

    Posted 10/27/2014
  • trisped
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If you want to download it from SourceForge, make sure the URL ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the bundled adware. You can get this ad free version by going to filezilla-project.org, clicking on the Download link for the version you want (client or server), clicking "Show additional download options", and selecting the version you want. You can also browse the files in the SourceForge project, but make sure you have "Direct Download Link: On". If it is off then click it to toggle. Then click on the link for the file you want (checking that it ends with "/download?nowrap" so you do not get the adware.

    Posted 10/25/2014
  • andyux
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Wasted hours removing PUP.optional with Filezilla install 10/20/14. Done with Sourceforge and filezilla.

    Posted 10/24/2014
  • beegee72
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is all good. But this site now pushes crapware onto your computer, through an installer that conceals this in a very clever way. I used to have a clean computer and I used to trust Sourceforge.net as a download site. Not anymore. Shame on you guys!

    Posted 10/23/2014
  • nyuako
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -About Adware- Read this section in order to prevent additional programs that comes with installation. When first-installing File-Zilla be sure to select "custom" first, unclick the pre-selected the boxes, then click decline on the extra "offers" that pop up. These are search bar type infection installations that data-mining and not needed. Avoid them. *IMPORTANT* make sure to read what is being installed as it has become a practice for companies to slip in "extra programs" into software nowadays under a cruddy TOS. The easiest way to get infected is to click "accept" without reading exactly what's installed both by TOS and by screen. Don't let industries trick you into installing ad-ridden programs. I am an IT student who is currently using this FTP as a requirement for a course. I have gone through many software and had the experience of removing a sneaky-type of brower-ad wares that require more than uninstalling the file. File-Zilla comes with six sections: File, Edit, View, Transfer, Server, Bookmark, Help. In order to transfer files the following is a must(excluding port): Host: Username: Password: Port(Optional): Files can be selected from the local site section. Files within the local site will be listed underneath. Once a file(s) is selected It can be transferred to the host server. Sucessful, Failed, and Queued transfers will show below. Rating: Ease= 3 stars. While the file-transfer is pretty straight-forward it might prove confusing at first to new-users. Features= 2 stars. The extra web-browser extensions were not needed. Those new to computers may accidentally install these ad wares. Design= 3 stars. Pretty straight-forward. Support= 2. Does such a thing exist?

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • marschmc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Watch out, do your research, google this: filezilla malware site:forum.filezilla-project.org The installer will infect you. Find the alternate zip download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • pstati
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed MacKeeper (barf) as malware and changed my search engines and home pages in my browsers to Yahoo.com from my defaults (barf). Absolutely unacceptable. Do NOT download or install this software until someone forks into a proper open source format free of adware. God only knows what other malware it likely installed I haven't discovered yet.

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • fabri56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a very good software for FTP function. It is absolutely reliable and clean. Only it is necessary to download it from a "safe website" and to download directly the software (about 6 Mbybyes) and NOT to download a 'downloader' which install filezilla but installa also many bad adware & C. In my website you will download pure filezilla setup: fabrizioviscardi.it/fabrizio_viscardi_utilita_windows_mac_linux_rete_filezilla.php?vers=3.9.0.5 (last version - virus checked). In this website, remember, in every case, to search the link "Direct download" and not the green button "Download" !!

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • pclass323
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!! Your computer will be infected by malware/spyware/trojan/other unlawful piggy-backed program that can't be uninstalled. EVEN if you select "I DO NOT ACCEPT" crappy program. It installs it anyway. If you download make sure you have a system restore backup or image backup. Filezilla is knowingly pushing people to this install because they obviously get a financial kick back from these malicious programs.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • wille_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer is crap

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • nsidhaye
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Today I downloaded FileZilla. It shows me agrrement for some 3rd party software. Obviously I decilined that and agree only for FileZilla. Still I surprized to see Optimizer PC Utilities installed on my laptop. This is purely bad play. If some one don't want install these free trials then there should be way. I will say this is CUT PRACTICE. Please stop this. I know you are participating in DEV SHARE Program. But End User Should have rights to decline and install only FileZilla. Setup program is not good not transparant.

    Posted 10/14/2014
  • ffzell69
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the software its great!!!! BUT what you get when you download it.. the extra spyware/hijacker..ect aint worth the trouble.. I hope I have remove it all out my system! even if u uncheck to install IT WILL install that an more!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • brusser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be careful this project is part of the DevShare program and bundled with crapware/malware/bloatware/spyware. Bad stuff. Use the direct link to download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • sietemonos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy mal que venga con software que se instale sin autorización. Siempre lo he usado, pero llegó la hora de buscarse otro.

    Posted 10/08/2014
Show next 25 reviews