FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
869
17
11
7
205
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • nyuako
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    -About Adware- Read this section in order to prevent additional programs that comes with installation. When first-installing File-Zilla be sure to select "custom" first, unclick the pre-selected the boxes, then click decline on the extra "offers" that pop up. These are search bar type infection installations that data-mining and not needed. Avoid them. *IMPORTANT* make sure to read what is being installed as it has become a practice for companies to slip in "extra programs" into software nowadays under a cruddy TOS. The easiest way to get infected is to click "accept" without reading exactly what's installed both by TOS and by screen. Don't let industries trick you into installing ad-ridden programs. I am an IT student who is currently using this FTP as a requirement for a course. I have gone through many software and had the experience of removing a sneaky-type of brower-ad wares that require more than uninstalling the file. File-Zilla comes with six sections: File, Edit, View, Transfer, Server, Bookmark, Help. In order to transfer files the following is a must(excluding port): Host: Username: Password: Port(Optional): Files can be selected from the local site section. Files within the local site will be listed underneath. Once a file(s) is selected It can be transferred to the host server. Sucessful, Failed, and Queued transfers will show below. Rating: Ease= 3 stars. While the file-transfer is pretty straight-forward it might prove confusing at first to new-users. Features= 2 stars. The extra web-browser extensions were not needed. Those new to computers may accidentally install these ad wares. Design= 3 stars. Pretty straight-forward. Support= 2. Does such a thing exist?

    Posted 10/20/2014
  • marschmc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Watch out, do your research, google this: filezilla malware site:forum.filezilla-project.org The installer will infect you. Find the alternate zip download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/18/2014
  • pstati
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installed MacKeeper (barf) as malware and changed my search engines and home pages in my browsers to Yahoo.com from my defaults (barf). Absolutely unacceptable. Do NOT download or install this software until someone forks into a proper open source format free of adware. God only knows what other malware it likely installed I haven't discovered yet.

    Posted 10/17/2014
  • fabri56
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filezilla is a very good software for FTP function. It is absolutely reliable and clean. Only it is necessary to download it from a "safe website" and to download directly the software (about 6 Mbybyes) and NOT to download a 'downloader' which install filezilla but installa also many bad adware & C. In my website you will download pure filezilla setup: fabrizioviscardi.it/fabrizio_viscardi_utilita_windows_mac_linux_rete_filezilla.php?vers=3.9.0.5 (last version - virus checked). In this website, remember, in every case, to search the link "Direct download" and not the green button "Download" !!

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • pclass323
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING!!! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DOWNLOAD!!! Your computer will be infected by malware/spyware/trojan/other unlawful piggy-backed program that can't be uninstalled. EVEN if you select "I DO NOT ACCEPT" crappy program. It installs it anyway. If you download make sure you have a system restore backup or image backup. Filezilla is knowingly pushing people to this install because they obviously get a financial kick back from these malicious programs.

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • wille_c
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The installer is crap

    Posted 10/16/2014
  • nsidhaye
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Today I downloaded FileZilla. It shows me agrrement for some 3rd party software. Obviously I decilined that and agree only for FileZilla. Still I surprized to see Optimizer PC Utilities installed on my laptop. This is purely bad play. If some one don't want install these free trials then there should be way. I will say this is CUT PRACTICE. Please stop this. I know you are participating in DEV SHARE Program. But End User Should have rights to decline and install only FileZilla. Setup program is not good not transparant.

    Posted 10/14/2014
  • ffzell69
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the software its great!!!! BUT what you get when you download it.. the extra spyware/hijacker..ect aint worth the trouble.. I hope I have remove it all out my system! even if u uncheck to install IT WILL install that an more!

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • brusser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be careful this project is part of the DevShare program and bundled with crapware/malware/bloatware/spyware. Bad stuff. Use the direct link to download or use another FTP client.

    Posted 10/09/2014
  • sietemonos
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Muy mal que venga con software que se instale sin autorización. Siempre lo he usado, pero llegó la hora de buscarse otro.

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • alexlimbeck
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FULL OF MALWARE !!!!!

    Posted 10/08/2014
  • beatngu13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great and easy-to-use FTP client. Unfortunately I have to rate this project with only one star due to its annoying and inappropriate installer, which is full of adware.

    Posted 10/07/2014
  • mousetail
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    the new installer is annoying

    Posted 10/06/2014
  • bjblackmore
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Really disappointed that the developers have now decided to bundle a whole bunch of crapware in with the installer. McAfee Site Scanner? No thanks! Astromenda browser? No thanks! I'll be looking for another FTP application. I'm dropping FileZilla from now on! Such a shame!

    Posted 10/03/2014
  • antondelatour
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WARNING ! ! ! FileZilla used to be a good, clean utility, not anymore! Is full of ADWARE / MALWARE which install itself along with the main program; regardless you want it or not. Only the worse can be expected from its developers / maintainers. What guarantee do we have they do not mess/steal/hack our precious FTP information ?? Not recommended. Avoid all costs

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • calabash
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool, but it's really stupid to have a sourseforge intaller. I would recommend everyone to download zip file instead of exe file.

    Posted 10/02/2014
  • gisgeek
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Too much SPAMWARE/bloatware in the installer. I even used the advanced option and elected not to install the toolbar, but the installer installed a computer cleanup app behind the scenes without permission. Filezilla has lost a longtime user. I have switched to WinSCP.

    Posted 10/01/2014
  • d4v30h
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Provides everything I've ever needed from an FTP application.

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • vince989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, but has had malware bundled since around 2013-07 , use either the real installer (around 4-5mb, not ~800kb) or ZIP file if you really want want to use it!

    Posted 09/30/2014
  • cacodaemon666
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What used to be a great product is now ruined by installing malware and crap on your PC after installing FileZilla. All of my browsers were hijacked and multiple applications were installed in addition to FileZilla. I won't be using you again.

    Posted 09/26/2014
  • z-not
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is scam! Do not download installer version because if you be not too attentive this piece of garbage installs malware on to your PC. Go to the link "Browse All Files" under green button and take there version which you want.

    Posted 09/25/2014
  • wokeba
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have used this excellent piece of software for many years. The program seems still pretty good. BUT, and this is a big BUT, Why do you add a big link to install the adware wrapped download? Don't you value the reputations and respect you built up over the years? I'm disappointed and waste an hour to clean up the mess the Adware caused. For those who still want to download, click the "Direct Download" UNDER the big Download button.. Don't click the big Download button as that will install quite some Adware to your system.

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • pjdemers
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hijacks your PC and fills it with crapware.

    Posted 09/21/2014
  • bighits4u
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla is really very good Application and it's very easy to use and they even provide excellent support. bighits4u.com

    Posted 09/20/2014
  • davidpierson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Be sure to use the "Direct Download" link which provides the full Filezilla installation files, and no adware. Avoid the "Download, installer enabled" link - which uses a download manager which gives two Adware options you need to "Decline" and are easy to miss if not paying a lot of attention.

    Posted 09/17/2014
Show next 25 reviews