beta

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
36
1
0
0
2
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • andreas_e
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What an excellent little tool! While PhotoRec will only give you cryptic file names you have to rename later (provided you can even *remember* them still), this one will keep the ORIGINAL file names! extundelete was a true life-saver when I intended to rm -rf the temporary (!) directory, but accidentally specified the target directory instead!! Keep up the great work. This should be part of the base system, like e2fsck and others.

    Posted 08/04/2015
  • biljkus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you so much!!! I am using Ubuntu 12.04 and I have installed extundelete version 0.2.4 libext2fs version 1.42, and it worked perfectly for me. I was having issue: "extundelete: No such file or directory while creating directory" while I was trying to use "-o" output directory option, I guess some permission problem while running from Ubuntu Live CD. When I ran without that option it worked perfectly! Thank you!!!

    Posted 01/10/2015
  • ronhd
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome little tool! Trivial to build and install, and saved the day after an 'rm -rf' of the wrong directory. Did not have to unmount the partition (which would have been a problem, because it's LUKS-encrypted), just remounted it read-only and recovered my files with no hassles.

    Posted 08/20/2014
  • alexanderschaap
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quickly recovered many of the specified files. (Not all, maybe because it was a root partition that required Linux to shut down first before unmounting). Very grateful as this saved me a lot of time. Restore directory (even if you only want the contents) was immensely useful since there were too many names that were too long to remember. Even if you don't have the exact name, it will suggest some (presumably based on the partition's journal). Website provides enough detail to generate the date in the format required by --before and --after. If ./configure succeeded but compilation results in an error, rerun ./configure.

    Posted 04/05/2014
  • hunuu3
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I make it in Redhat-ex-4u4 It tell me make -s all-recursive Making all in src extundelete.cc:105: warning: unused parameter ‘ret_flags’ extundelete.cc:571: warning: unused parameter ‘flags’ block.c: In function ‘extundelete_block_iterate3’: block.c:840: warning: label ‘errout’ defined but not used block.c:620: warning: unused variable ‘r’ and i can not make it. I need your help

    Posted 01/19/2014
  • jaseeey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and works really well. I was able to recover all of the files I needed in the location they were stored. Overall, a really great tool to have handy for a storage system. Thanks for the awesome work!

    Posted 01/15/2014
  • tonysf
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I was able to recover all data! I had a lot of trouble getting it running. The "-o directory" options seems to be bugged. extundelete version 0.2.4 libext2fs version 1.42 I figured out that I had to go to the directory where i wanted to have the backup and just run "extundelete --restore-all /dev/sdb1".

    Posted 10/30/2013
  • anitahulsey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Extundelete, it's the best!

    Posted 05/30/2013
  • tschmelcher
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Successfully undeleted an irreplaceable photo!

    Posted 02/24/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    extundelete is fast and easy to use

    Posted 02/14/2013
  • gabrielcarlson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thanks extundelete

    Posted 01/19/2013
  • lukemorgan
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good project extundelete

    Posted 12/18/2012
  • dillancooper
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    works great.

    Posted 10/28/2012
  • oid-4017338
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Lifesaving!

    Posted 10/17/2012
  • brodyzimmerman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 09/13/2012
  • maks-k
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool! I restored important photos for me from ext4 (Ubuntu 10.04)

    Posted 08/16/2012
  • ivankon631
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    this project help lot of people.

    Posted 06/03/2012
  • oid-3850708
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Worked fantastic. Easy to use, good instructions. And most importantly, it successfully recovered the files I deleted!

    Posted 05/18/2012
  • hoposh2k
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It works! Successfully recovered data from ext3 partition.

    Posted 04/20/2012
  • hcnew
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    thanks for giving out

    Posted 04/17/2012
  • lgm
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I wish something like this existed 7 years ago. I found this while recovering some files from a fellow's laptop, which mysteriously got deleted during a crash. We've just been implementing an automated backup procedure, and that was the last laptop left to backup. Talk about Murphy in action! Thank you!

    Posted 03/28/2012
  • coleperkins
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 03/20/2012
  • oid-3759980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Just deleted a complete folder from an ext4 file system with a collection of video clips, stuff I recorded from TV, holiday videos and so on... of a rather sentimental value. Was quite frustrating. After I found the website of this tool, I immediately unmounted the partition and installed extundelete with the Kubuntu package manager, and then started the simple command to recover all files on the partition. The rest was just sitting there and see everything coming back, as easy as copying a folder! All files were restored with the complete folder structure, just empty folders were omitted, which is not really a problem I'd say... Thanks to the developer for an extremely useful and very easy to use tool!

    Posted 03/04/2012
  • oid-3746896
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Confirmed works on EXT3 and EXT4 Very nice, I like!

    Posted 02/23/2012
  • darkbasic4
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks, THANKS, *THANKS*! You saved me lots of very important data. By the way, I had to downgrade e2fslibs to 1.41.12 because 1.42 didn't work.

    Posted 02/04/2012
Show next 14 reviews