Ext2 File System Driver for Windows Icon

A Linux ext2/ext3 file system driver for Windows

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
69
1
1
0
6
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • niittymaa
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great savior tool!

    Posted 11/21/2014
  • mengzy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Good

    Posted 09/24/2014
  • biorap
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent

    Posted 09/13/2014
  • saettaz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software!!! It works perfectlty!!!

    Posted 09/02/2014
  • paulstelian97
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love the humor: Mounted an OEM partition (backup partition) which was formatted as EXT2 (quite an old PC, late 2006, but only recently I've actually made a system backup using the OEM backup software), mounted it as readonly, then attempted to create a folder. The error message was a funny one: 0x8000FFFF (user mode error 65535): Catastrophic failure OK, leaving that aside, it is an useful program (being the only one of its kind that doesn't BSOD my Windows 8.1 and forces me to get to safe mode and forcibly remove it, since the ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS one doesn't worn in safe mode :) Does it support EXT4? (even read-only, 'cuz I know how hard it is support EXT4 in Windows, just like NTFS in Linux or OSX :) ) I think it does, though I didn't actually try it. I made sure I mounted it as read-only, to avoid crippling my now-only backup of Windows -- if I break it, I'm practically screwed! 4 points for ease, since it's not very complicated but it's still not a granny-program -- but is it supposed to be? 4 points for features, due to lacking support for journaling (which makes some ext3 file systems unwritable -- nasty) 3 points for design: It couldn't blend into all versions of Windows anyway, the interface looks a bit "classic" to me but this is just user preference. 3 points for support -- default score. And a reply for electricprism's lowest rated review: Ext4 recognized as ext3 is actually a common thing in the Linux world itself, plus you might have had an older version that didn't (directly) support ext4 (ext4 without extents and journaling is simply ext3 with a new name, really, so read-only support was available before actual direct support) The BSOD might be a real issue back then (has it been fixed? hint: that large partition is more than 2^32 sectors, so don't mount filesystems that only work with 32-bit sector pointers and also do checkings -- doing some things in user space is a perfect way to avoid BSODs from ever occuring -- if the service crashes, then restart it and redo the mounting; you can also do separate daemons for each mount and unmount any filesystem that crashed -- that's a suggestion for special cases; in my case I've got none of these problems :) )

    Posted 08/03/2014
  • public-profile
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I too had a defect WD NAS and was able to extract my data using your program. Thanks a MILLION !!!! Would like to donate through PayPal but my donation is rejected since PayPal accounts in China can only be used for paying and not receiving. You should register a PayPal account in another country so that donations can be send to you !!! Please let me know when this is done and I'll be happy to send you 50 USD. Thanks for a great tool !!

    Posted 07/06/2014
  • mikhaelfiraz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    You are simply a life saver. Great work dude <thumbs up>

    Posted 05/28/2014
  • handystl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thank you so much! I had a WD mybookworld die on me -- RAID is pretty useless when the main board craps out :) Under Windows 7, I was able to recover everything over to my new NAS. Please send me a message -- I want to make a donation to you.

    Posted 07/20/2013
  • danny83
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks a lot for this! But does it work with windows 8? I tried new free Paragon extfs driver for windows and that driver support ext2/3/4 as well as works with windows 8. Great!

    Posted 07/16/2013
  • ash0815
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Is it possible that this project is dead? Last version of file is 2011.

    Posted 07/03/2013
  • mbrenner04
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent effort. One caveat. Probably in the docs somewhere but I must have missed it. The USB flash drive must have a *single* partition. I had a FAT32 as the first partition and Linux as the second partition. I tried all sorts of things to get it to work. Since I saw all these positive reviews, I knew it must be something on my side. Anyhow, as soon as I made it a single partition, all-Linux, it mounted right up on my Windows 7 laptop. Again, an excellent and very useful utility. Many thanks.

    Posted 06/30/2013
  • fashionbelts
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    +1 thanks!

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • ra3dw6
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    re:hasufell check the Ext2Fsd service/driver has already been started.

    Posted 06/16/2013
  • hibiz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks, it's a long time i was waiting for something like this!

    Posted 04/07/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • alladin-123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks! Very good projects.

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    gracias

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • jedimark
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Win7, x86, 2TB ext3 partitions, works wonderfully :) I had to reboot after installing it to get it to work. Can't believe I can access my Linux files on my crappy windows notebook :) Performance is great too!

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • caydenharris
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works, very small, no complaints.

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • electricprism
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Incorrectly recognized my EXT4 filesystems as EXT3, one of thee filesystems mounted and was available for read access. My 3rd GPT EXT4 2.5tb partition caused Windows 7 to BSOD twice, for a OS bridge this important it's remarkable that the GUI and open filesystem sucks this bad. /sigh Also - no updates in more than a year to the #1 used linux filesystem running on the #1 OS in the world? What an apocalyptic age we're coming to!

    Posted 01/11/2013
  • claytonser
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a great tool!Great software, makes comparing and merging al lot easier!

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • kalebwood
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Simple to use.

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • tommiee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very interesting idea, useful project and good implementation

    Posted 11/23/2012
  • dominiccook
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    fast download and works, recommended.

    Posted 11/10/2012
  • shubinaann
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ext2 is awesome!

    Posted 11/04/2012
Show next 25 reviews