Eric Integrated Development Environment Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
21
2
1
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 1 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • eschmitdz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is the fourth time and 4 different versions I have tried to get to install. Never ever works. Troubleshooting gets me to the install.py as being at fault every time! I am learning Python and should not have to troubleshoot your install script. It has never been able to find the PyQT install location even when it is in my "Path" statement. This version is looking for "PyQT5.Core" when the actual PyQT5 install is labeled "QT5Core.dll"! So I ask "How can anyone possibly get this to install?!!" I am having trouble getting PyQT to do what I want so thought this IDE would add to the features enough to help me out. The PyQT5 "Designer" and "Assistant" work perfectly so why is this such a pain? For general info, I am on Win 7 x64. I have been using PyCharm but it does not have a GUI Builder so thought I would try this way. At this point I'm thinking of just going the route of "Build Your Own" and sticking with PyCharm since it is just the best! Thanks and maybe I'll try again next year!

    Posted 01/12/2016
  • harpfy
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    just commenting complaints about installation on Windows OS: which I'd like to address here: Actually it was a piece of cake to install it with the following installation steps: 1 --> Python3.4 (still need to check, whether it works with Python3.5 as well) 2 --> Qt package (in my case qt-opensource-windows-x86-mingw492-5.5.1.exe) 3 --> PyQt package (PyQt5-5.5.1-gpl-Py3.4-Qt5.5.1-x32.exe) with QScintilla 4 --> eric6-6.0.11 (important: in a shell with admin rights!) I was close to be lost as well with installing eric on Win OS, which in my view mainly stems from an outdated / imprecise description at the eric homepage. Hope, this does the trick for others as well ...

    Posted 12/04/2015
  • ugurlu2001
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    There is no way install and run this project! I am using Windows7 x64 OS .. I tried again and again to install Eric6; Too much complicated installation process. I lost 3 days for try to use that project! But no way! Is someone install and run Eric IDE on Windows x64 system?! There dozen source code; But there is not a 1 click installation progress! I installed Qt5; PyQt; QScintilla2; sip but not running!

    Posted 05/14/2015
  • neobondhu2
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Hello Eric 6 doesnot work at all with Python 3.4.2 & PyQt5, I've made installation in the sequence: Python-->PyQt-->Eric 6, but the console tells me it cannot find PyQt5, why? how to solve?

    Posted 04/01/2015
  • cod0122
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Un IDE completo di debug complimenti ai programmatori!

    Posted 01/23/2015
  • tximikel
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great python open-source project: easy to debug other python and django projects!!

    Posted 01/16/2015
  • mm1123
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Does not compile on Mint17 ('module' object has no attribute '__all__'). I was looking for an IDE to study Python, but you have to know python to install an IDE. It is a Monty Python suggestion, i presume.

    Posted 11/03/2014
  • misterechoes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    quite good and multiplatform

    Posted 08/15/2014
  • jamasi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice IDE especially for Python/PyQT projects.

    Posted 01/21/2014
  • rsdavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent IDE. Just wish it would install on Mac OS X 10.8.4. QScintilla seems to be my problem. At least as far as an easy install of PyQt so that I can get Eric4 running.

    Posted 06/17/2013
  • tfileme
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Thanks for Eric-ide, it's excellent!

    Posted 05/18/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • jonahbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good work

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • kalebhartman
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    terrific program

    Posted 01/20/2013
  • kalebwhite
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the easiest apps to use

    Posted 12/19/2012
  • nolanellis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great software, thank you.

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • jacksonchase
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    excellent app

    Posted 09/11/2012
  • oid-3902989
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    How to change cursor color?

    Posted 07/04/2012
  • wkunes
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool and getting better!

    Posted 05/07/2012
  • isaiahmcdonald
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Nice and simple.

    Posted 03/20/2012
  • juzzlin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I think this is the best Python IDE for Linux. I use it for PyQt/PySide development and it rocks! :)

    Posted 06/09/2011
  • xaverxn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best. Surely the best python IDE for Linux.

    Posted 10/16/2010
  • delta12
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It's very useful!!!!!!!

    Posted 03/10/2010
  • mattoufoutu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    one of the best python ide i've ever used. it's support for PyQt and Django projects (including templates syntax highlight) is just awesome!

    Posted 02/09/2010
Show next 2 reviews